It is currently Sat Oct 21, 2017 4:02 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 49 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Question about QfG1 hero import
PostPosted: Thu May 04, 2006 1:05 am 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 12:47 am
Posts: 32
I was wondering if by using the stat point glitch in QfG1 VGA will negitive stats or stats over 100 carry over to the QfG2 remake?

If you do not know the glitch go to GameFAQs
http://www.gamefaqs.com/computer/doswin ... 83233.html


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 07, 2006 6:38 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 12:47 am
Posts: 32
I figured something out about the import system.  My .sav had a -715 for parry and imported as 53.  In signed binary -715 is

11111111111111111111110100110101

However, the import only viewed the last byte (last 8 digits)

00110101

That is 53 in signed binary

So if only the last byte is read in the remake it should still work.

I guess I answered my own question   :lol

_________________
The Way of the Paladin:
To seek. To learn. To do. -- QFG2


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 18, 2006 4:34 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 12:12 am
Posts: 12
How the heck do you get negative stats?

_________________
If Music be the food of love- play on!

Candace Grace: Bard's Blood- To Be Released Eventually


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri May 19, 2006 9:34 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 12:47 am
Posts: 32
1.  Choose a stat at 0 that you will NOT use (lockpicking as fighter)
2.  Add 5 points to stat by spending 15 points
3.  Use the "page up" key (9 on numerical key pad) to add 1 point to stat.
4.  Now you can keep taking 5 points away causing the useless stat to be negitive and giving as many points you want for all other stats.

Try this ...
Start points: 50
Lockpicking 0 to 5 (15 points spent)

points: 35
Lockpicking 5 to 6 using PgUp (1 point spent)

points: 34
lockpicking 6 to 1 (5 points returned)

points: 39
lockpicking 1 to -4 (5 points returned)

points: 44
lockpicking -4 to -infinity (return as many points as you want)

points: infinite  :eek

plus a bonus of having lockpicking in next game

_________________
The Way of the Paladin:
To seek. To learn. To do. -- QFG2


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Importing the character from QG1 had a problem....
PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 8:54 am 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Fri Jul 07, 2006 3:01 am
Posts: 17
Importing the character from QG1 had a problem....

With all the stats at 100 at the start of QG2 the game became to easy. The character is too strong.

Is there a way for the remake to address this problem?

One solution would be to start again, but that defeats the advantages and coolness of importing your character from the first game.

Maybe if you import, the game can be much more challenging?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 9:29 am 
Offline
Forum Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2001 8:28 pm
Posts: 11434
Location: The Netherlands
Not really. Part of the reason people bother exporting a souped-up character and importing him is to have an advantage. In fact, imported characters get 25 points to distribute at the start. (instead of the 50 new characters get) But you don't HAVE to distribute those if you don't want to. If you want challenge (at least in combat), raise the combat difficulty. Even an imported character from QFG1 isn't strong enough to face a terrorsaurus at the beginning and expect to actually win.

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Imported Characters' Point Pools
PostPosted: Sun Jul 09, 2006 4:21 pm 
Offline
Royal Servant Status
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2005 4:01 pm
Posts: 124
Location: Florida
Erpy wrote:
In fact, imported characters get 25 points to distribute at the start. (instead of the 50 new characters get)

Really? That's a nice bonus! As I recall, in the original QG2 imported characters got no points to spend at all. Are the AGDs adding this feature based on its usefulness in the last three games?

Whatever the reason, that makes me really happy.   :)

_________________
Visit my site about LucasArts and Sierra adventures


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 09, 2006 4:24 pm 
Offline
Forum Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2001 8:28 pm
Posts: 11434
Location: The Netherlands
Not sure why it was added...I guess some people liked customising their characters further after importing. Since it takes 15 points to add a new skill your character didn't know before, 25 points is just enough to add one new skill. Or give a boost to an existing skill.

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 10, 2006 6:20 am 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2005 7:21 am
Posts: 282
Location: Mexico
Well, since some time passes between the end of a game and the beginning of the next one, I guess it makes sense that the hero improves a little bit in that time. I suppose that's the reason for adding a points pool, even if the original didn't have it. As Erpy said, if you don't like it, you could just skip it, so I guess it's a good idea.

_________________
Signature? No thank you.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 12, 2006 1:34 am 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Thu May 04, 2006 12:47 am
Posts: 32
Will the 1 point increments spent like in QfG1 be in the remake (without the cheat of course) or is it the same as the original QfG2 with only 5 point increments?

_________________
The Way of the Paladin:
To seek. To learn. To do. -- QFG2


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 12, 2006 8:22 am 
Offline
Forum Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2001 8:28 pm
Posts: 11434
Location: The Netherlands
Only five point increments.

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Reasoning
PostPosted: Thu Jul 13, 2006 2:24 am 
Offline
Royal Vizier Status
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2004 6:20 am
Posts: 2047
Location: Somewhere in Ohio...
Erpy wrote:
Not sure why it was added...I guess some people liked customising their characters further after importing.


As I recall, a few of us on the forums asked if import increases would be permissible or not, as QfG3 - QfG5 all allowed full point distribution whether a character was created or imported.  Getting only 25 instead of 50 to distribute strikes me as a good balance between the original of 0 and the equivalent system in QfG3 giving 50 (QfG4 and QfG5 had different point requirements for learning a new skill).  However, I don't know if that was part of the reason the import points were integrated into the game or not.

One thing that occured to me in all this point talk though...you should check that the game can handle point values up to 250, not just 200.  After all, the djinni of the ring can still boost fully leveled stats other than Honor (and they should also properly carry over into the import file for QfG3).

_________________
There is balance in all things. Live in symmetry with the world around you. If you must blow things up and steal from those around you, THAT'S WHAT RPGS ARE FOR!

Official Member of the VGL Street Team
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Reasoning
PostPosted: Fri Jul 14, 2006 6:05 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 12:58 pm
Posts: 49
Brainiac wrote:
Erpy wrote:
Not sure why it was added...I guess some people liked customising their characters further after importing.


As I recall, a few of us on the forums asked if import increases would be permissible or not, as QfG3 - QfG5 all allowed full point distribution whether a character was created or imported.  Getting only 25 instead of 50 to distribute strikes me as a good balance between the original of 0 and the equivalent system in QfG3 giving 50 (QfG4 and QfG5 had different point requirements for learning a new skill).  However, I don't know if that was part of the reason the import points were integrated into the game or not.

One thing that occured to me in all this point talk though...you should check that the game can handle point values up to 250, not just 200.  After all, the djinni of the ring can still boost fully leveled stats other than Honor (and they should also properly carry over into the import file for QfG3).



I know from messing with the Cheat code for Quest For Glory II:EGA, that you can raise all skills to 253 before the end of game and have them import correctly into QfG III. It was a bad idea to have honor or Comm. beyong 200.

So in the old QfG II game, yes, skills could go up to 250 and import correctly.


Thyme in Lost

_________________
My favorite computer game, is the Quest for Glory Series. I see it as one whole game and the whole game is my favorite computer of all time.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: re: +1 increment to skills
PostPosted: Tue Dec 05, 2006 6:24 am 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 4:56 am
Posts: 19
Actually, the ability to increase a skill by a single point during creation is present in all of the QFG games.

In the EGA version, you just press "+" instead of PageUp.

However, I highly doubt that most people increase their skills by 1 point unless they're cheating (in QFG1EGA you could exploit to get some extra points, and in QFG1VGA you could get infinite extra points.)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Point cheats
PostPosted: Wed Dec 06, 2006 5:22 pm 
Offline
Royal Servant Status
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 5:26 pm
Posts: 121
Location: San Diego - California
What are "things I wish I knew as a kid" Alex?

_________________
Yes this is he.


Last edited by Jontas on Tue Apr 10, 2007 5:16 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 3:35 am 
Offline
Royal Servant Status
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 8:34 am
Posts: 106
Location: New Hampshire
Actually one thing I'm curious about is will the two 50-point bonus you can wish for at the end of the game stay with the character? One thing that used to drive me nuts on the EGA version was giving that bonus (lets say strength) and after fighting Khaveen, it goes back down to 200 and I don't notice until after I've beaten the game.

Will/has that error been addressed?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 10:09 am 
Offline
Forum Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2001 8:28 pm
Posts: 11434
Location: The Netherlands
Did it reset after having beaten Khaveen or didn't you notice until after importing it into QFG3?

I believe the QFG2 stat system originally had safety net code that prevented any stat from raising past the 200 limit. If you used that skill until it would normally increase (meaning if it was really high, it wouldn't increase for a loooong time) and it was over 200, it'd get set back to 200. That would mean if you wished strength to 250 and you did battle until the point where strength would normally increase, it'd get reset to the game's official maximum. QFG2VGA doesn't have this problem...any stat wished to above 200 stays at that point, no matter how often you use it. (although if it was 180 before and was raised to 230, it's not going to improve to 250)

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 09, 2007 8:41 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Tue Jun 06, 2006 12:58 pm
Posts: 49
Erpy wrote:
Did it reset after having beaten Khaveen or didn't you notice until after importing it into QFG3?

I believe the QFG2 stat system originally had safety net code that prevented any stat from raising past the 200 limit. If you used that skill until it would normally increase (meaning if it was really high, it wouldn't increase for a loooong time) and it was over 200, it'd get set back to 200. That would mean if you wished strength to 250 and you did battle until the point where strength would normally increase, it'd get reset to the game's official maximum. QFG2VGA doesn't have this problem...any stat wished to above 200 stays at that point, no matter how often you use it. (although if it was 180 before and was raised to 230, it's not going to improve to 250)

Image


Cool. I always hate when my stats got reset in QFG2 EGA

_________________
My favorite computer game, is the Quest for Glory Series. I see it as one whole game and the whole game is my favorite computer of all time.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 10, 2007 9:14 am 
Offline
Royal Servant Status
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 8:34 am
Posts: 106
Location: New Hampshire
Erpy wrote:
Did it reset after having beaten Khaveen or didn't you notice until after importing it into QFG3?


It occurred in game, I made a couple of quick attempts while fighting Ad Avis to check.  It never bothered me too much, it wasn't as if raising skill levels on QG3 was a hard task... except for "stealth," ehhh...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Stat boosting between 2 & 3
PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2007 1:19 pm 
Offline
Royal Vizier Status
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2004 6:20 am
Posts: 2047
Location: Somewhere in Ohio...
DonQuixote wrote:
It never bothered me too much, it wasn't as if raising skill levels on QG3 was a hard task... except for "stealth," ehhh...


Which is why I always boosted difficult stats with the djinni's power - usually two out of Intelligence, Stealth, Pick Locks, and Luck.  Then the additional fifty points at the start of QfG3 could max one of the two boosted stats out (usually Pick Locks for the Thief and Luck for everyone else).

Frankly though, maxing Stealth was nowhere near as hard as maxing Pick Locks...as in you couldn't without the djinni and the fifty.

_________________
There is balance in all things. Live in symmetry with the world around you. If you must blow things up and steal from those around you, THAT'S WHAT RPGS ARE FOR!

Official Member of the VGL Street Team
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stat boosting between 2 & 3
PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2007 2:37 pm 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 11:54 pm
Posts: 405
Location: Illinois, USA
Brainiac wrote:
Frankly though, maxing Stealth was nowhere near as hard as maxing Pick Locks...as in you couldn't without the djinni and the fifty.


All QFG games should have included the "pick nose" option for training the pick locks skill.  The first two did, but I don't think that command made the transition to the point and click sequels.  ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stat boosting between 2 & 3
PostPosted: Wed Apr 18, 2007 3:20 pm 
Offline
Royal Vizier Status
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2004 6:20 am
Posts: 2047
Location: Somewhere in Ohio...
Lambonius wrote:
All QFG games should have included the "pick nose" option for training the pick locks skill.  The first two did, but I don't think that command made the transition to the point and click sequels.  ;)


The PnC-only games, no.  The QfG1 remake, yes.  Frankly though, not having it past QfG2 was a good idea, at least without increasing the basic requirement to not self-lobotomize.

_________________
There is balance in all things. Live in symmetry with the world around you. If you must blow things up and steal from those around you, THAT'S WHAT RPGS ARE FOR!

Official Member of the VGL Street Team
Image


Last edited by Brainiac on Sun Apr 22, 2007 9:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 19, 2007 5:57 pm 
Offline
Slacker of Shapeir
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2004 9:11 am
Posts: 2416
Location: Canada
Maxing Stealth was always my first move. It was just plain easy.

_________________
Calik Status: Hero of Speilburg Has become the Prince of Shapier and a Hero among Tarnans, after freeing the Mordavians from eternal fear he was zapped to the land of Silmaria where an import bug has him trapped between worlds.
4/5


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Stat boosting between 2 & 3
PostPosted: Sun Apr 22, 2007 1:01 am 
Offline
Royal Servant Status
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 8:34 am
Posts: 106
Location: New Hampshire
Brainiac wrote:
Frankly though, maxing Stealth was nowhere near as hard as maxing Pick Locks...as in you couldn't without the djinni and the fifty.


Pick locks was easy in QG3, just continuously pick the lock on the Laibon's chest when you break into his hut.

One thing I always did was buy a bunch of mana and/or healing pills in Shapier because you export with those items.  You can max out all your spells, magic, and intelligence the first day (except for detect).  With 50 healing pills fighters and paladins can max out each of the relevant skills and the thief could pick that lock on the Laibon's chest from dusk until dawn--maxing out vitality, agility, luck, lock picking, etc.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 22, 2007 1:04 am 
Offline
Royal Servant Status
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 8:34 am
Posts: 106
Location: New Hampshire
Quest For Glory Fan wrote:
Maxing Stealth was always my first move. It was just plain easy.


In QG1, 2, & 5, sure.  If was suborn enough, I had to walk around for a few days longer than the game would have lasted in QG4 and I always needed those extra points there in QG3 to get the skill up in a reasonable amount of time.  Too bad there wasn't a way to practice climbing in QG3.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 49 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group