It is currently Wed Dec 13, 2017 3:51 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: QfGII VGA – any new content?
PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2007 2:09 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2005 11:32 am
Posts: 20
I know that the game is good enough not to need any major changes, but I remember reading that during they meeting with the Coles, the AGDs were shown some stuff that the Coles wanted to be in the original game, but because of time and space constraints it didn't happen.

So, er... I was kinda wondering, will any of the unused content be seen in the remake?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 29, 2007 5:06 pm 
Offline
Forum Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2001 8:28 pm
Posts: 11434
Location: The Netherlands
A teensy little bit, but not much. Most of the stuff from the design documents wasn't scrapped, it was deemed not suitable/viable for implementation before it was even implemented.

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 4:36 pm 
Offline
The Icelandic Guest
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2001 7:49 pm
Posts: 1697
How large will the game be after all this works on the game? Is it larger than 50mb or 100mb? :rolleyes


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 4:51 pm 
Offline
Forum Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2001 8:28 pm
Posts: 11434
Location: The Netherlands
Uncompressed, 152 MB right now. Compressed, it seems something like 66 MB.

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 5:49 pm 
Offline
The Master of All Things Musical
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 8:57 pm
Posts: 4025
Location: Manitoba, Canada
That's not too bad.

_________________
01010100 01101000 01100101 00100000 01100011 01100001 01101011 01100101 00100000 01101001 01110011 00100000 01100001 00100000 01101100 01101001 01100101 00101110


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jan 30, 2007 8:20 pm 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2006 9:54 pm
Posts: 351
Only 152MB?!  Sounds like it needs more secret/expanded content.   ;)

And this question may have already been asked but does typing "suck blue frog" do anything?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 31, 2007 5:56 am 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 3:15 am
Posts: 18
It won't be a typing game, so I assume not.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 31, 2007 8:10 am 
Offline
Peasant Status
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2005 12:00 am
Posts: 50
They should make cheat mode enterable by pushing the ~ key and typing suck blue frog lol.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2007 9:07 am 
Offline
The Icelandic Guest
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2001 7:49 pm
Posts: 1697
Wow 152 mb that would be pretty large and very hard for 56baud modem downloaders to download. :eek   I still remember how boring it was when I was downloading the King Quest 1 VGA game.  |I But it toke about 4 hour to download that game. But that is just old bad memory I want to forget now thank you very much hehe. :lol  I thank God I have have Wireless Hive Max 8mb ADSL now. So it will be no problem for me now sirs.  :D

PS. I have never heard about this "Suck blue frog" thing before. What happens when I try that? Unfortunatly for me I can't play any of those old Sierra game wish I bougth because my hard disk was not sold with
diskette drive only disk drive. But that is because diskettes are getting very rare on salemarket. No pc games or software are sold on diskettes now. That is just of another bad memories hehe. I feel so old when I say that to you all.

I even feel old when I play all of those new games wich is always getting better and better in each days.

Imagine when I have a kids in the future and they will ask me "What is a classic Disney cartoon and how did it look like? Is it different than the 3D cartoon? What is diskette drive? What is EGA game?

And I will answer ...for a long long time ago in the past when I was a young teenage boy and had no internet connections ....bla bla bla. :rollin


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2007 10:07 am 
Offline
Peasant Status
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 01, 2007 10:02 am
Posts: 3
Suck Blue frog allowed you to access the cheat options.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2007 5:36 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 3:15 am
Posts: 18
Am I the only one that did suck blue frogs? plural, etc. Since so many people are saying it singular I'm assuming it accepted both. So just to further the explanation... It let you change your stats, give you inventory items, teleport you places... etc.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2007 5:38 pm 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2006 9:54 pm
Posts: 351
Ekinatial wrote:
It won't be a typing game, so I assume not.

Well, yeah, I know.  But if it was me making it, even if it was a mouse only game, I'd still let you type it in (without it showing anything on the screen) and do something for it.  It's the perfect secret to respond to.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2007 6:47 pm 
Offline
The Master of All Things Musical
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 8:57 pm
Posts: 4025
Location: Manitoba, Canada
I don't think AGS supports that without implementing some kind of parser interface. I could be wrong, though.

_________________
01010100 01101000 01100101 00100000 01100011 01100001 01101011 01100101 00100000 01101001 01110011 00100000 01100001 00100000 01101100 01101001 01100101 00101110


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Feb 01, 2007 10:04 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2005 12:00 am
Posts: 50
Suggestion! addd the qfg1 costume as a secret! I love that costume.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 3:04 am 
Offline
The Master of All Things Musical
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 8:57 pm
Posts: 4025
Location: Manitoba, Canada
That'd be too much work. It isn't as simple as changing the skin on a 3D model. Since this game is sprite based every single sprite animation of the hero in the game would have to be completely re-done. A little too much work just for some nifty little feature that people may or may not discover.

_________________
01010100 01101000 01100101 00100000 01100011 01100001 01101011 01100101 00100000 01101001 01110011 00100000 01100001 00100000 01101100 01101001 01100101 00101110


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 5:02 am 
Offline
The Prince of Shapeir

Joined: Tue May 08, 2001 4:12 am
Posts: 8872
Location: Phobos
The hero does wear his QFG1 EGA costume, just without the cape, and with different shoes.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 8:03 am 
Offline
The Master of All Things Musical
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 8:57 pm
Posts: 4025
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Not really. Same colours, but different style. In QFG1 he has a blue shirt. In QFG2 he has a white shirt with a blue vest over it.

(Gotta love technicality debates :evil )

_________________
01010100 01101000 01100101 00100000 01100011 01100001 01101011 01100101 00100000 01101001 01110011 00100000 01100001 00100000 01101100 01101001 01100101 00101110


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 12:40 pm 
Offline
Royal Servant Status
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2006 1:14 am
Posts: 120
What cheats were available in qfg2?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 1:32 pm 
Offline
Forum Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2001 8:28 pm
Posts: 11434
Location: The Netherlands
Mostly giving yourself certain items and alter your money, warping to other rooms and to different days/time blocks and most importantly altering skills, either maxing out existent skills or adding new ones.

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Feb 02, 2007 5:09 pm 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2006 9:54 pm
Posts: 351
And editing collision areas, I believe.  So, in short, pretty much anything and everything you could want.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2007 7:00 pm 
Offline
Royal Servant Status
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2002 12:42 am
Posts: 114
Getting back to the topic, three words: saurus repair lot.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: quest for glory 2 remake
PostPosted: Wed May 23, 2007 1:55 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Wed May 23, 2007 1:52 pm
Posts: 4
how is the progress going on the game?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 26, 2007 11:22 pm 
Offline
Knight Status

Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2002 1:24 pm
Posts: 296
It'll all be great when it finally comes out! In regards to cheating, I think I'll just use Game Wizard for that task.

Speaking of which, I do have a question: In the original QFG 2 EGA, when you imported a character, you were not given any additional points to allocate to attributes and skills... even though it was available to all other imported characters in the remainder of the series. Will you people give points for the player to allocate in QFG 2 VGA for imports?

Till next time stay cool  :smokin


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 26, 2007 11:29 pm 
Offline
Forum Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2001 8:28 pm
Posts: 11434
Location: The Netherlands
Yes, imported characters get 25 points (as opposed to the 50 a new character gets) to assign to skills. Just enough for one additional skill or a moderate boost to your existing stats.

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat May 26, 2007 11:40 pm 
Offline
Knight Status

Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2002 1:24 pm
Posts: 296
Oh that's good to hear. Game Wizard should be able to up that to whatever I want it to be and start out with a maxed out character (or a super character with every possible skill or whatever).

Till next time stay cool  :smokin


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group