It is currently Tue Nov 21, 2017 5:24 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 39 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Kings Quest 4
PostPosted: Thu Mar 08, 2007 4:27 am 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2007 6:48 am
Posts: 14
:D
Had so much fun playing the remakes of KQ123 that I downloaded KQ4 (original) on to my hard drive then onto a CD and then onto 3 floppies and installed them onto my old computer which has Windows 3.1 on it. Had to try to remember back to DOS days. I am now playing KQ4 and it is great. A bit of a challenge going back to typing commands. Hope to do the same with KQ567.. I have "Betrayal at Krondor" on this computer as well..This plays excellently......Sal


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 08, 2007 4:06 pm 
Offline
Infamous Sheik of Australia
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2003 3:43 pm
Posts: 1722
Location: Rockhampton Australia
So many thoughts in a single paragraph there!  :lol

It's awesome you're enjoying these games again. Now with only one game in the series that requires typing.

Betrayal at Krondor is the greatest RPG ever made. I am biased as a Raymond Feist fan though.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 08, 2007 6:55 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 3:15 am
Posts: 18
I only got into king's quest after I was drawn here by the remake of qfg2. I played the remakes 1 and 2 and 3 from IA and loved it. I found a king's quest collection series that like, just recently came out or something, made for windows xp users (just a little side note for other people there). So I loved up through 6, but I started to play 7 and was scared away by its incredibly child-like gameplay. I tried twice, but just couldn't do it. Has anyone played it and, like, thinks it's worth playing even though it's so baby-catered? I felt like I was playing math blaster or something.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 08, 2007 10:16 pm 
Offline
Slacker of Shapeir
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2004 9:11 am
Posts: 2416
Location: Canada
ya but math blaster OWNS!

_________________
Calik Status: Hero of Speilburg Has become the Prince of Shapier and a Hero among Tarnans, after freeing the Mordavians from eternal fear he was zapped to the land of Silmaria where an import bug has him trapped between worlds.
4/5


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 08, 2007 10:19 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2006 5:12 pm
Posts: 29
kq7 is an interesting game, you'll certainly want to play if you want to experience the last of the King's Quest series. (I dont include MOE because i dont think it fits in with series).

The game is childish and the interface is a big letdown but it's still a good game to play.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 08, 2007 11:32 pm 
Offline
Slacker of Shapeir
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2004 9:11 am
Posts: 2416
Location: Canada
5 is the highlight. 7 is more the denouement.

_________________
Calik Status: Hero of Speilburg Has become the Prince of Shapier and a Hero among Tarnans, after freeing the Mordavians from eternal fear he was zapped to the land of Silmaria where an import bug has him trapped between worlds.
4/5


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 09, 2007 9:10 am 
Offline
Infamous Sheik of Australia
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2003 3:43 pm
Posts: 1722
Location: Rockhampton Australia
7 is a great game. I think the Disney style suits a series based around fairy tales. Others will disagree though.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 09, 2007 10:00 am 
Offline
Royal Servant Status
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 8:34 am
Posts: 106
Location: New Hampshire
I personally always enjoyed KQ6 the most, but KQ5 really was a milestone and is a classic.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 09, 2007 4:52 pm 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2006 9:54 pm
Posts: 351
This is a good thing.  I have a hard time picking between KQ5 and KQ6.  Cedric aside, there was little wrong with each.  Nowadays I prefer more serious/darker games but I have fond memories of both.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 10, 2007 12:18 am 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2007 6:48 am
Posts: 14
:D

Klytyos I agree with you that B.A.K is the greatest. I had my old computer especially set up so that I could play it again and again and again and again and again ..............................................I never get tired of it and seem to discover something new each time I play. Pity the follow ups were not up to the same standard. The XP version KQ's would not play properly on my computer which is why I went back to basics..Sal


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 10, 2007 1:28 am 
Offline
Hero For Hire
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2002 5:58 am
Posts: 1081
Location: Texas
I DEMAND a sequal to Betrayal in Antara. That game was equally brilliant. Y'know, I think I'm just going to go play that game again...

_________________
This is not how the world ends.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 10, 2007 4:27 am 
Offline
Infamous Sheik of Australia
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2003 3:43 pm
Posts: 1722
Location: Rockhampton Australia
Dude, if you can get Antara to work on a modern system let me know how! You know where to find me.  :lol

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 10, 2007 7:11 am 
Offline
Hero For Hire
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2002 5:58 am
Posts: 1081
Location: Texas
I'll keep you posted. I'm not sure if I've tried it on this computer yet as I haven't played Antara at least since high school, but I do remember it working when I had WindowsME I think (which who the hell cares about that as a great deal that worked in weirdo ME doesn't do @#$% in XP).

_________________
This is not how the world ends.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Mar 10, 2007 7:35 am 
Offline
Vampiric Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2003 6:54 am
Posts: 3963
Location: Newcastle, UK
Klytos, any old game will work when you use VMWare to install Win 3.1 and install the game in its native DOS enviroment.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 11, 2007 6:30 am 
Offline
Infamous Sheik of Australia
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2003 3:43 pm
Posts: 1722
Location: Rockhampton Australia
Sure, Virtual Machine's are awesome but a shitload of work for simply getting an old game to work. I was looking for a slightly easier solution than setting up a new operating system.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 11, 2007 10:07 am 
Offline
Royal Servant Status
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 8:34 am
Posts: 106
Location: New Hampshire
Betrayal at Antara works with VDMSoun, at least that works on my system (XP).  BAK was the best, there were so many different ways to play it, the world map was huge for it's time, the replay value is great, and the story-line was great.  I don't know why people like Antara though, I always try giving it another go every so often but I get bored with it and put it away for awhile each time.  Return to Krondor was pretty good though, I think it made a good attempt at trying to go back to what made the first game so great.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 11, 2007 11:29 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2007 6:48 am
Posts: 14
:p
    Ahhh, don't know anything about VM ware etc.. At one time we had windows 3.1 on a set of floppies but stupidly gave them away. What I did about 18 months ago was to go to my friendly computer freak in Launceston Tas (Eagle Technologies) and they installed it for me just so I could revisit the old game scene...Didn't cost a lot and its worth it for the pleasure I get out of playing stuff like BAK.  Sal


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2007 7:46 pm 
Offline
Vampiric Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2003 6:54 am
Posts: 3963
Location: Newcastle, UK
True, but at least when you have the VM set up its there for any and all old games you may wish to play.

And its as easy as installing Win 3.1 ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2007 6:47 am 
Offline
Saurus Salesman
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2002 3:18 pm
Posts: 3880
Location: South Africa (Bloemfontein)
Sal, do you still have a floppy drive??

I threw away about 1500 floppies a few months ago when I suddenly realized I haven't had a floppy-drive for almost 10 years! So why keep them around?  :p

Obviously I lost quite a few games, but that's life.  ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2007 12:21 am 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2007 6:48 am
Posts: 14
:)
Hi Gronagor, We do have floppy drive on the main computer "Beyond intel inside pentium 4) XP We have DVD drive plus burner etc etc etc. The older model computer has a floppy drive and a DVD but the DVD will not operate because we have windows 3.1 installed (56xMTRP)

Yes we got rid of a huge number of floppies too. Some I was glad to see go but others...too late now to moan about it.

Being somewhat of a hoarder and collector, however I still have some which I will never part with....Sal


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2007 7:06 am 
Offline
Saurus Salesman
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2002 3:18 pm
Posts: 3880
Location: South Africa (Bloemfontein)
I've had most of my floppy-games backed-up on a few CDs, but they've mysteriously dissapeared.  Ahh... those were the days. Floppies were just 10 times more reliable than Stiffies. But even those are fading away.

Hey... no jokes about 'floppies and stiffies'. I think we've heard them all.  :p


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2007 7:35 am 
Offline
Defense Minister Status

Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2004 3:55 am
Posts: 717
Location: South Australia
We used to gave a huge draw full of floppies so we backed up everthing into zip files on a cd, including all my old games and a few older programs so we ditched all the disks out. Unfortunatly I leant the cd to a mate and never saw it again. Ever since i've been trying to track down all the games and programs and such i lost. Thank god for the internet.

Our comp still has a floppy drive, tho we had to buy it seperatly when we bought the comp. Only got rid of the discs for the free up the space in the draw.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 18, 2007 11:42 pm 
Offline
Royal Servant Status
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 5:26 pm
Posts: 121
Location: San Diego - California
Gronagor wrote:
... Ahh... those were the days. Floppies were just 10 times more reliable than Stiffies...  :p


I discovered that in America they don't make the distinction between floppies and stiffies like we did in South Africa, both size disks are called floppy disks. You can imagine my embarresment when I first used these terms around Americans when I moved here 9 years ago. LOL. I don't know how it goes in other countries, should be interesting though.

_________________
Yes this is he.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2007 2:19 am 
Offline
Hero For Hire
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2002 5:58 am
Posts: 1081
Location: Texas
Heh, when I was younger I called the 3.5's hard disks. My friend's dad (who worked for HP) would always try and correct me and tell me it was a floppy, but I just kept saying, "but it's not floppy, it's hard! The floppy ones are big!"

...

Man, there's just no way to get around sounding homo-erotic with this topic.

_________________
This is not how the world ends.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 19, 2007 7:37 am 
Offline
Saurus Salesman
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2002 3:18 pm
Posts: 3880
Location: South Africa (Bloemfontein)
Jontas, you may be right. Ok... clarify: bigger ones, more 'floppy' ones we call floppies and the smaller 3.5'' ones we call stiffies.  :lol


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 39 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group