It is currently Mon Oct 23, 2017 8:59 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Keyboard Combat (Probably been asked)
PostPosted: Tue Jul 03, 2007 7:20 am 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 5:14 am
Posts: 152
I think this has been asked before, but.

Are the original keyboard combat commands utilized in your version?
I hope so. The keypad made combat fun in Trial.

If not, I ask you please consider it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 03, 2007 7:33 am 
Offline
Forum Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2001 8:28 pm
Posts: 11434
Location: The Netherlands
Combat is keyboard-exclusive, in point of fact. Battle keys can be redefined at will.

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 03, 2007 7:49 am 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 5:14 am
Posts: 152
Thank the freakin gods!

Thank YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I was afraid it would be point and click based.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2007 3:52 am 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Sat Jun 09, 2007 9:06 pm
Posts: 48
no little battle window like 1 and 3? hrm....

_________________
Aaaaaannnnnnnd this rant's done.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2007 6:54 am 
Offline
Forum Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2001 8:28 pm
Posts: 11434
Location: The Netherlands
MagusRogue wrote:
no little battle window like 1 and 3? hrm....


Nope. Such a little battle window is suitable for a combat system that's fairly slow paced and the amount of options available to the player is limited. There's a total of 16 hotkeys used in combat in QFG2VGA (including the shortcut for running away) and things go slightly faster too, so such a window would be "window dressing" (if you'll excuse the bad pun), but other than that, it'd have as much practical use as joystick support for a word processor.

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2007 6:11 pm 
Offline
Royal Servant Status

Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2006 8:21 pm
Posts: 143
Hey, joystick support for Word. I'm pitching that.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2007 10:37 pm 
Offline
Slacker of Shapeir
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2004 9:11 am
Posts: 2416
Location: Canada
it'd be really cool if I could route the game to my 360 controller. That would make QFG simply bad ass using the Dpad to move but I suppose you would hit a snagg with only 12 buttons... Then again if I didn't use every key (such as spells) and could change them easily... Definetly a neat idea.

_________________
Calik Status: Hero of Speilburg Has become the Prince of Shapier and a Hero among Tarnans, after freeing the Mordavians from eternal fear he was zapped to the land of Silmaria where an import bug has him trapped between worlds.
4/5


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2007 11:20 pm 
Offline
Royal Servant Status

Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2006 5:00 pm
Posts: 54
Location: Spain
Quote:
it'd be really cool if I could route the game to my 360 controller. That would make QFG simply bad ass using the Dpad to move but I suppose you would hit a snagg with only 12 buttons... Then again if I didn't use every key (such as spells) and could change them easily... Definetly a neat idea.


Hmm... that reminds me... do AGS games work with the Windows emulator for Dreamcast? That way I can use the SCI Dreamcast Emulator for 1, 3 and 4 and use the Windows one for 2 VGA...

_________________
Swords will bleed.
Shields will shatter
But as the light fades...
Will the hero rise again?
Or will darkness reign?
(The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 06, 2007 11:21 pm 
Offline
Slacker of Shapeir
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2004 9:11 am
Posts: 2416
Location: Canada
I doubt it but I can't be sure.

_________________
Calik Status: Hero of Speilburg Has become the Prince of Shapier and a Hero among Tarnans, after freeing the Mordavians from eternal fear he was zapped to the land of Silmaria where an import bug has him trapped between worlds.
4/5


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 09, 2007 9:24 am 
Offline
Royal Servant Status

Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2007 7:40 pm
Posts: 78
Location: MN
Erpy wrote:
There's a total of 16 hotkeys used in combat in QFG2VGA (including the shortcut for running away)


Lets see..

9 basic keys (3 attack, 3 defense, 3 dodge like in the last)

1  running away

1 spell screen (I assume the spell windows work like in QFG1/QFG3)

that leaves five "extra" keys.  At l;east one might be that kick attack you  mentioned for against Jackalmen..... hmmm maybe osmething for thieves?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 09, 2007 10:18 am 
Offline
Forum Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2001 8:28 pm
Posts: 11434
Location: The Netherlands
We got rid of the redundant "multiple attacks/blocks/dodges"-thing, since there was little practical difference between them in the original. Now, every key has its unique function.

The way my keyboard is currently set up is:

7:swing
8: walk forward
9: stab
4: shield block
5: sidekick
6: parry
1: sidestep left
2: walk back
3: sidestep right

q: dagger toss
w: zap
e: misc
a: force bolt
s: dazzle
d: flame dart

esc: run away (this one can't be remapped)

That makes 16.

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2007 4:48 am 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 5:14 am
Posts: 152
Whoah. This is really gonna take some getting use to.

I like what you are doing though, the block patterns only seemed useful it fighting with Uhura at the guild.
Altough, I am still a bit confused here.
It seems the dodge keys are all there.
Why would hero need to step forward?
Sidekick? What for?
Are you adding a Dragonfire influence to the combat?
Is combat based on screen like Dragonfire, or in a combat sequence window?
Hotkeys for spells is good.

I guess I will just have to play it to know what is truly changed.
All in all, sounds cool still.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2007 10:26 am 
Offline
Forum Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2001 8:28 pm
Posts: 11434
Location: The Netherlands
Ibanezrg82 wrote:
Whoah. This is really gonna take some getting use to.
It seems the dodge keys are all there.
Why would hero need to step forward?


As an opposite for the step back action, of course. Once you step back, you'll no longer be in melee range and melee attacks won't connect. If you don't want to wait for your opponent to approach you, you'll want to step forward. Yeah, the dodge keys are all there because there was enough practical difference between them.

Quote:
Sidekick? What for?


When facing multiple opponents, you'll use your sidekick to get rid of the other guy's sidekicks. ;)

Quote:
Are you adding a Dragonfire influence to the combat?
Is combat based on screen like Dragonfire, or in a combat sequence window?


You still fight in a separate battle screen. Though you're no longer surrounded by a dark haze like in QFG1EGA/QFG3, nor is there a generic background visible for the place you're battling like in QFG1VGA/QFG4.

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2007 5:59 pm 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2004 5:36 am
Posts: 168
Location: USA
So you'll be allowed to back up, interesting... useful for the magic user, I would imagine. Thief as well I guess, since dagger throwing is in. :D

I guess if you keep backing up and waiting for your enemy to follow, you'll eventually get trapped and forced to fight?

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2007 6:18 pm 
Offline
The Prince of Shapeir

Joined: Tue May 08, 2001 4:12 am
Posts: 8872
Location: Phobos
Honestly, if we say too much more about the combat system, you'll know everything there is to know about it before the game's even released!

From this point on, you'll have to let the remainder of your queries be satisfied (to the best of your ability) by your vivid imaginations.  :evil


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2007 7:28 pm 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2006 9:54 pm
Posts: 351
No.  It's better if our vivid imaginations don't create unrealistic expectations, so you'd better tell us everything.   ;)    :p


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2007 8:50 pm 
Offline
The Prince of Shapeir

Joined: Tue May 08, 2001 4:12 am
Posts: 8872
Location: Phobos
Well, in that case, just let your unvivid imaginations cater to the task then. ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2007 5:13 am 
Offline
Slacker of Shapeir
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2004 9:11 am
Posts: 2416
Location: Canada
all I wanted to know was whether it had to be mapped to the keyboard or you could use other input devices... and no one answered me  :cry

_________________
Calik Status: Hero of Speilburg Has become the Prince of Shapier and a Hero among Tarnans, after freeing the Mordavians from eternal fear he was zapped to the land of Silmaria where an import bug has him trapped between worlds.
4/5


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2007 6:03 am 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 5:14 am
Posts: 152
Other devices such as?

Your 360 controller? It would be cool to port controls to games such as these, I wished that with the original Nintendo controller when I was 10.
I think it wont happen.

We have keyboard so far, I am guessing.... Mouse?

Maybe some mouse would be good for casting spells and such.

QFGfan has a point. Altough if the 360 controller option is in the game I would ask for the super nintendo controller, I think it has enough buttons for the game combat.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2007 6:24 am 
Offline
Forum Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2001 8:28 pm
Posts: 11434
Location: The Netherlands
I don't think AGS supports joystick input. So that would be a no. As for mouse support, no, there's none and I don't think it'll be implemented either.

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2007 2:36 pm 
Offline
Defense Minister Status
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2002 2:54 pm
Posts: 736
Location: Kolding, Denmark
You should, however, be able to use Joy2Key or a similar program to map your joystick to keyboard keys.

_________________
Pidgeot
-----
Every error you find is the last one.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 13, 2007 7:44 am 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 5:14 am
Posts: 152
I don't remember one person with the joystick option with the originals.


Oh yeah, I had a childhood friend who played black cauldron with a joystick.

Forget about it. Joystick is dead, sorry to say.

Your joystick could be worth something!
What kind of system do you use that you even have a joystick?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 14, 2007 12:51 am 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2004 5:36 am
Posts: 168
Location: USA
Joysticks are still around, and have entered the USB era. They just aren't used for as many games anymore; I think they're pretty much limited to flight/space sims.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 14, 2007 8:06 am 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 5:14 am
Posts: 152
Hey, just messing around.

I was more talking about the old Sierras with the joy.

Damn, I haven't played a decent air combat game in years!
You brought up some memories in me, dude.

Now I'm thinking Dynamix.
Red Baron, Aces over the Pacific, A10 Tank Killer!
What ever happened to that genre?

Joystick dude, you are awesome. I am inspired to get an old one off Ebay and order some of these old flight sims.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2007 2:36 am 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2004 5:36 am
Posts: 168
Location: USA
I think I played Aces of the Pacific myself, a long time ago. :) I was more into SW space sims like TIE Fighter though. Still have my Win95 versions of it and X-Wing.

BTW since Windows games use DirectX' DirectInput or whatever it is to use joysticks, you should be able to use a newer USB joystick for any of this, no need to look for an older one (unless you want to for old time's sake :)). And I think DOSBox will similarly be able to use USB joysticks, allowing you to use 'em for older games as well.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group