It is currently Mon Oct 23, 2017 6:09 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Missing Files
PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2007 7:00 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 1:54 am
Posts: 1
I dont know if I am in the right place but here goes:    I currently have the original King's Quest 1: Quest for the Crown , 2(two) 5.25" disk set and disk 1 works fine but when the game ask for disk 2 I insert the disk and the game tell me "Wrong disk" need to know if and where i can aquire a copy of disk two(2). Also have KQ2: Romancing the Throne, (same size disk: 5.25",  Disk 1 does not work properly need new copy. Any help would be appreicated.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Dec 30, 2007 7:24 pm 
Offline
Forum Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2001 8:28 pm
Posts: 11434
Location: The Netherlands
No, I'm afraid we're only responsible for the VGA versions of KQ1 and KQ2 and those are the only ones we can offer support for.

May I suggest you try it at Sierra/Vivendi's game forums?

VU's KQ forum

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2008 10:10 am 
Offline
Royal Servant Status
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 08, 2008 4:21 am
Posts: 104
Location: LOOM
Think I can help explain this:

Back then Sierra diskettes must have the write protection tab closed and if you accidentally remove the protection tab then it would render the diskettes useless.

The only way to restore the data was by using crack programs to eliminate the protection on the diskettes. I've tried these programs back in early 90's.
Of course the AGI version of KQ1 & KQ2 was specially stored in unknown sector (I think it's the boot sector, but I could be wrong) and so it cannot be read by normal DIR command. Btw, I had the Apple version but it works on my 8086 back then.

Other than that, you could just download the games from internet since it was so small anyway and finding the crack was not worth the trouble. :lol:

Btw, I'm still surprised that you still kept the 5,25" disk drive. I still kept mine stored on shelves but it was already broken.  :lol:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jan 14, 2008 4:20 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2005 2:04 am
Posts: 27
Location: Nevada
I always found that a tiny square of packing tape on each side of where the copy protection tab should go fixed that particular problem.

_________________
Bigfan


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group