It is currently Tue Oct 17, 2017 5:40 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Help installing QFG Anthology?
PostPosted: Sat Apr 12, 2008 4:10 am 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 3:53 am
Posts: 12
Cool website!  Can't wait for you guys to release the re-done part 2 of QFG.  I loved these games growing up in my younger years.

A good buddy of mine actually gave me his copy of the Quest For Glory Anthology but unfortunately I can't figure out how to properly format this thing on Vista for the life of me.  It's on a burnt disc, but he told me it was a backup of his original  so it should work since he has it on his computer with Vista.  Anyhow, he's gone on vacation until Tuesday so I was hoping someone from here who thinks they might be able to find a simple way to get the install file started for me would be great.  I've tried a lot of different stuff, read a lot of tutorials... still can't figure it out.  If anyone happens to have any free time and would be willing to help a fellow QFG fan that would be awesome.  My screen name is MATT21CASV on AIM and Yahoo.  Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 12, 2008 12:49 pm 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 5:55 am
Posts: 384
Location: deadfall beneath Ooga Booga
Wrong place to ask this.

Anyway, if this is the same thing I have (and I'm pretty sure it is), can't you just copy off the CD?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 12, 2008 6:19 pm 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 11:54 pm
Posts: 405
Location: Illinois, USA
Copying the game directories from the cd to your harddrive will work with games 1 through 3, but if you want to play QFG4 with voices and all the sound effects, you'll need to do a little more.

First, you'll need the program Dosbox (google it; it should be easy to find.)  This program emulates a Dos environment in Windows and allows you to do things like emulate a slower CPU and such, which basically is the only way to get these games to run properly (if at all) on todays PCs.  There should be tutorials galore on how to use dosbox properly.  (Or just ask around on here, preferably in the Off Topic Forum though.  ;) )

For QFG4, the way I like to do it is to copy the entire cd to one directory (it shouldn't be that large, considering the age of the game.)  Then, using dosbox, you'll have to mount that directory as the cd-rom drive, and run the install program as normal from the dosbox prompt.  Install the game to a desired directory (preferably separate from the directory where you put the cd-rom files--games like QFG4 and KQ6 cdrom versions are very picky about finding files, so you need to hand-hold the program and direct it to look in the right place.)

Once you have both the cdrom drive copied and the game installed to a separate directory, you should be able to run it just fine using dosbox (as long as you have the cdrom directory mounted as cdrom drive--a step which is crucial if you want voices or sound effects, which play off the cd.)  You don't actually have to copy the cd to a directory (you can mount your actual cd-rom drive instead), but I like to do it, since it means you don't need the disc to play the game.

As for the first three games, as I said before, you should be able to just copy the game directories straight onto your harddrive and bypass the installation program completely.  Make sure you use dosbox to run them though, and you should be just fine.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 12, 2008 9:00 pm 
Offline
Forum Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2001 8:28 pm
Posts: 11434
Location: The Netherlands
Or, simply copy the whole game to the hard drive, including the resource.aud and resource.sfx files (which contain the voices and sound effects) and make sure the following lines in the resource.cfg file contain the following settings:

Quote:
videoDrv  = VGA.DRV
soundDrv  = ADL.DRV
audioDrv  = DACBLAST.DRV
joyDrv    = NO
directory = .\
mouseDrv   = MICROSOF.DRV
memoryDrv  = NONE
minMemory  = 1600k
brightness = 0
language   = 1
minCPU = 386
CD = yes

resAUD= .\
resSFX= .\
patchDir= .\
audiosize=63k


(that's at least the settings that made the game run with music, sound effects and voices for me)

Extract NewRisingSun's patches into the folder and then run sierra.exe through DosBox.

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 12, 2008 10:27 pm 
Offline
Slacker of Shapeir
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2004 9:11 am
Posts: 2416
Location: Canada
Erpy I followed your advice and I'm finally hearing the voices for the first time. For this I thank you. However I can't import and I can't apply the New Rising Sun patches for some reason.

_________________
Calik Status: Hero of Speilburg Has become the Prince of Shapier and a Hero among Tarnans, after freeing the Mordavians from eternal fear he was zapped to the land of Silmaria where an import bug has him trapped between worlds.
4/5


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Apr 12, 2008 11:19 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 3:53 am
Posts: 12
I've tried DOSBox and still can't figure it out with the tutorials.  Sigh, I have the feeling I'll never get this going.   :rolleyes


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 13, 2008 6:08 am 
Offline
Defense Minister Status

Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 2:00 am
Posts: 560
I'm not sure it will work for everyone but this is how I got it to work on my comptuer: I install the game directly to DOSbox.  Here's how it's done.  (BTW, my disk drive file is E: so that's what I'll use here but you should use whatever letter yours is.  AND dont forget the space between \ and -t)

Mount c c:\sierra

Mount e e:\ -t cdrom

From there type in

E:\

then type in "intsall."

From there the install program should start up just fine.  After installing the games all you'll have to do is type in the proper file.  Say it's the original Quest for Glory Game.  The proper file is this:

C:\sierra\qganth\qg1old

Once you've done that just type in "qg1old" and you can start playing.  This will ensure that you keep the save files and it won't cause you nearly as much grief as if you just install it to a computer file.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 14, 2008 6:06 pm 
Offline
Royal Servant Status

Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2004 6:24 am
Posts: 86
Location: Phoenix Foundation
http://www.dosbox.com/wiki/DOSBox_and_Windows_Vista

DOSBox and Windows Vista
From DOSBoxWiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Does it work ?

Yes, DOSBox works in both Vista 32 bit and Vista 64 bit, but depending on your local setup you might need to pay attention to certain things
Configuration file

If you are running in Vista as non-administrator you must take care with editing the configuration file.
CD-ROM support

This is currently still in development. 90% of the functions work in 0.72, but if it doesn't work then the best thing you can do is to make an image of your CD-ROM and IMGMOUNT that.

_________________
IBM PC/XT 8088
IBM PC DOS 2.10
640k RAM
5.25" 360K Floppy Drive
CGA Display


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 15, 2008 10:25 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 3:53 am
Posts: 12
I have the feeling because my buddy made this as a backup thats why I'm having some difficulty.  I tried all of your suggestions and made some progress, but for whatever reasons it looks like something isn't going right.  Like I said, if someone who knows this stuff pretty well has any free time, an instant message would be more than appreciated because I don't think I'm too far off from getting it to work.  Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 15, 2008 11:37 pm 
Offline
Infamous Sheik of Australia
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2003 3:43 pm
Posts: 1722
Location: Rockhampton Australia
DOSBox is simple. I never understand why people go through the bother of mounting drives etc for most cases when it's simply not needed.

Install DOSBox.
Make an icon on your desktop of DOSBox.
Open the directory that you've copied your QFG game to.
Drag the executable file (usually sciv.com or sierra.com) onto the icon you created.
Play the game.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 16, 2008 2:12 am 
Offline
Slacker of Shapeir
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2004 9:11 am
Posts: 2416
Location: Canada
Klytos that works for me for every game I own EXCEPT QFG IV for some reason. It's also a pain when you want to export your characters and import them.

_________________
Calik Status: Hero of Speilburg Has become the Prince of Shapier and a Hero among Tarnans, after freeing the Mordavians from eternal fear he was zapped to the land of Silmaria where an import bug has him trapped between worlds.
4/5


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 16, 2008 2:53 am 
Offline
Peasant Status
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2005 4:28 am
Posts: 26
QFG 4 requires a cd to play.  You must configure DOXbox for this.  you could also just hack the batch file that checks for the cdrom to always work.

_________________
Why can't people just...hold on, I'll remember it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 16, 2008 3:02 am 
Offline
The Master of All Things Musical
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 8:57 pm
Posts: 4025
Location: Manitoba, Canada
QFG4 doesn't necessarily need the CD as Erpy pointed out:

Erpy wrote:
Or, simply copy the whole game to the hard drive, including the resource.aud and resource.sfx files (which contain the voices and sound effects) and make sure the following lines in the resource.cfg file contain the following settings:

Quote:
videoDrv  = VGA.DRV
soundDrv  = ADL.DRV
audioDrv  = DACBLAST.DRV
joyDrv    = NO
directory = .\
mouseDrv   = MICROSOF.DRV
memoryDrv  = NONE
minMemory  = 1600k
brightness = 0
language   = 1
minCPU = 386
CD = yes

resAUD= .\
resSFX= .\
patchDir= .\
audiosize=63k


(that's at least the settings that made the game run with music, sound effects and voices for me)

Extract NewRisingSun's patches into the folder and then run sierra.exe through DosBox.

Image

_________________
01010100 01101000 01100101 00100000 01100011 01100001 01101011 01100101 00100000 01101001 01110011 00100000 01100001 00100000 01101100 01101001 01100101 00101110


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 16, 2008 2:32 pm 
Offline
Slacker of Shapeir
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2004 9:11 am
Posts: 2416
Location: Canada
I did that but then it doesn't recognize the patches.

_________________
Calik Status: Hero of Speilburg Has become the Prince of Shapier and a Hero among Tarnans, after freeing the Mordavians from eternal fear he was zapped to the land of Silmaria where an import bug has him trapped between worlds.
4/5


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 16, 2008 2:40 pm 
Offline
The Master of All Things Musical
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 8:57 pm
Posts: 4025
Location: Manitoba, Canada
One of these days I'm going to set up a fool-proof...er.....setup of QFG4CD in DOSBox by itself (no CD required) and then look at what all is needed and send you the config files etc. DOSBox is just not that hard to work with....unless you never grew up in the DOS era, which I have.

_________________
01010100 01101000 01100101 00100000 01100011 01100001 01101011 01100101 00100000 01101001 01110011 00100000 01100001 00100000 01101100 01101001 01100101 00101110


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 16, 2008 3:08 pm 
Offline
Slacker of Shapeir
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2004 9:11 am
Posts: 2416
Location: Canada
that's exactly my problem. When I was about 4 the only game I liked to play on PC was Kings Quest V (I played around in the game world for another year before discovering that I hadn't thrown the shoe at the cat right away.) and my oldest brother had a sticky note taped to the side of the computer of exactly what to type in order to play it... He now works for Mac developing Quicktime. Shortly after that though we got Windows so that was the extent of my dos experience til I was 15 and came here.

_________________
Calik Status: Hero of Speilburg Has become the Prince of Shapier and a Hero among Tarnans, after freeing the Mordavians from eternal fear he was zapped to the land of Silmaria where an import bug has him trapped between worlds.
4/5


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 18, 2008 10:43 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 3:53 am
Posts: 12
Klytos wrote:
DOSBox is simple. I never understand why people go through the bother of mounting drives etc for most cases when it's simply not needed.

Install DOSBox.
Make an icon on your desktop of DOSBox.
Open the directory that you've copied your QFG game to.
Drag the executable file (usually sciv.com or sierra.com) onto the icon you created.
Play the game.


Wow!  I didn't realize you could drag them in to DOSBOX like that.  Anyhow I've got 1,2 and 3 working now even though the sound is a little messed up.  I'm more than willing to deal with that though!

Let me ask some of you guys a couple questions though.  Do the thieves and magic users get better items that can be carried over compared to the fighter?  Or is it mainly just different quests?  Either way... thanks for the help again guys!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Uniqueness
PostPosted: Fri Apr 18, 2008 10:52 pm 
Offline
Royal Vizier Status
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2004 6:20 am
Posts: 2047
Location: Somewhere in Ohio...
Mantle7 wrote:
Do the thieves and magic users get better items that can be carried over compared to the fighter?  Or is it mainly just different quests?


Thieves get their Thieves' Toolkit/Lockpick and Thieves Guild Card throughout the games (though like everyone else, they're inventoryless as of the start of QfG4).  Wizards get a few unique spells throughout the series.  In general, it's different quests and skills.  QfG3 in particular is notoriously weak for Thieves.

_________________
There is balance in all things. Live in symmetry with the world around you. If you must blow things up and steal from those around you, THAT'S WHAT RPGS ARE FOR!

Official Member of the VGL Street Team
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 18, 2008 10:55 pm 
Offline
Forum Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2001 8:28 pm
Posts: 11434
Location: The Netherlands
It's not different quests...the quests are usually the same. What changes is the way you solve them. Each class has its own skillset and approach to problems. Fighters have a sword, shield, better armor and use their strength and endurance to solve problems by taking the direct approach. Mages have a variety of spells they can learn and use to solve puzzles indirectly. Thieves have a variety of skills like sneaking around, climbing smooth surfaces and opening locked doors with their thief tools. They solve issues by avoiding direct confrontations. All three classes are worth playing.

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 18, 2008 11:37 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Sat Apr 12, 2008 3:53 am
Posts: 12
MusicallyInspired wrote:
One of these days I'm going to set up a fool-proof...er.....setup of QFG4CD in DOSBox by itself (no CD required) and then look at what all is needed and send you the config files etc. DOSBox is just not that hard to work with....unless you never grew up in the DOS era, which I have.


That would be much appreciated because I seem to be having the same problem as the few others here running part 4.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 20 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group