It is currently Thu Oct 19, 2017 11:54 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 33 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: A Few Questions about QFG2VGA....
PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2008 4:41 am 
Offline
Royal Servant Status
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2008 3:15 am
Posts: 56
Location: Melbourne/Viera, Florida
I oppologize if these have already been addressed elsewhere...but a quick search didn't reveal much....

I was just wondering a few things...

1) Will the remake maintain the flexability of the original version? It was fun having fighters that could join WIT as well as EOF....

2) one thing I thought was kind of unfair, when importing, you get no points talley to add to skills like you do in 3 on...will there be one in the remake?

_________________
The Procestuousity begins here!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: A Few Questions about QFG2VGA....
PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2008 7:15 am 
Offline
The Prince of Shapeir

Joined: Tue May 08, 2001 4:12 am
Posts: 8872
Location: Phobos
1) Yes, the game works identically to the EGA version in terms of flexibility. If you could do something in the EGA game (and it wasn't a glitch) then you'll be able to do it in the EGA version.

2) At Corey Cole's suggestion, we gave import characters 25 points to assign to their stats.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: A Few Questions about QFG2VGA....
PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2008 1:06 pm 
Offline
Defense Minister Status
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 14, 2004 1:07 am
Posts: 614
Location: Fort McMurray, Alberta, Canada
Anonymous Game Creator 2 wrote:
1) Yes, the game works identically to the EGA version in terms of flexibility. If you could do something in the EGA game (and it wasn't a glitch) then you'll be able to do it in the VGA version.

2) At Corey Cole's suggestion, we gave import characters 25 points to assign to their stats.

dont you me VGA? LOL

_________________
Image
Latest News and media
http://www.crystal-utada.net


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: A Few Questions about QFG2VGA....
PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2008 1:42 pm 
Offline
The Master of All Things Musical
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 8:57 pm
Posts: 4025
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Well, if you want to be technical, the remake isn't really VGA either. :) VGA means 320x200 resolution with only 256 colours. QFG2 and the KQ remakes have way more than 256 colours.

_________________
01010100 01101000 01100101 00100000 01100011 01100001 01101011 01100101 00100000 01101001 01110011 00100000 01100001 00100000 01101100 01101001 01100101 00101110


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: A Few Questions about QFG2VGA....
PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2008 2:19 pm 
Offline
Vampiric Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2003 6:54 am
Posts: 3963
Location: Newcastle, UK
I prefer to think of them as AGDIGA lol!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: A Few Questions about QFG2VGA....
PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2008 2:25 pm 
Offline
The Master of All Things Musical
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 8:57 pm
Posts: 4025
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Hmmmm...

KQ1AGDIGA
KQ2AGDIGA+
QFG2AGDIGA


I don't think so. :eek

_________________
01010100 01101000 01100101 00100000 01100011 01100001 01101011 01100101 00100000 01101001 01110011 00100000 01100001 00100000 01101100 01101001 01100101 00101110


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: A Few Questions about QFG2VGA....
PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2008 2:45 pm 
Offline
Vampiric Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2003 6:54 am
Posts: 3963
Location: Newcastle, UK
Don't mind me MI, I live in my own world. Its a better place. :hat


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: A Few Questions about QFG2VGA....
PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2008 6:12 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2008 6:04 pm
Posts: 2
Just out of curiosity, is it possible to change your class when importing? I understand it was possible in the later games in the series and I wonder if its possible to say import a thief from qfg1vga and change it to fighter in qfg2vga?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: A Few Questions about QFG2VGA....
PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2008 6:35 pm 
Offline
Royal Servant Status

Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 10:41 pm
Posts: 69
AsianMusicGuy wrote:
Anonymous Game Creator 2 wrote:
1) Yes, the game works identically to the EGA version in terms of flexibility. If you could do something in the EGA game (and it wasn't a glitch) then you'll be able to do it in the VGA version.

2) At Corey Cole's suggestion, we gave import characters 25 points to assign to their stats.

dont you me VGA? LOL


dont you mean MEAN? LOL


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: A Few Questions about QFG2VGA....
PostPosted: Sun Aug 03, 2008 6:59 pm 
Offline
Forum Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2001 8:28 pm
Posts: 11434
Location: The Netherlands
Quote:
Just out of curiosity, is it possible to change your class when importing? I understand it was possible in the later games in the series and I wonder if its possible to say import a thief from qfg1vga and change it to fighter in qfg2vga?


No, I'm afraid that's not possible.

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: A Few Questions about QFG2VGA....
PostPosted: Mon Aug 04, 2008 2:52 am 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2008 6:04 pm
Posts: 2
Erpy wrote:
No, I'm afraid that's not possible.


Pity.

I wonder if there is any way of changing the class of the character in the export of qfg1 via hex editing? Anyone clever know? :)

Though I suppose its not a huge deal.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: A Few Questions about QFG2VGA....
PostPosted: Mon Aug 04, 2008 3:56 am 
Offline
Royal Servant Status

Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2008 2:15 am
Posts: 74
I remember using an editor for quest for glory saved games. It was a long time ago, but maybe its still out there. If you can't find it because it's too old, there is always wayback machine :/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: A Few Questions about QFG2VGA....
PostPosted: Mon Aug 04, 2008 7:27 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2008 5:08 pm
Posts: 19
Location: South Carolina
FYI, here is a Quest for Glory character creator for making importable files (if you are into that sort of thing!)

http://webhome.idirect.com/~irwinco/Irw ... imp95.html

_________________
Barnacleaz the Avenger


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: A Few Questions about QFG2VGA....
PostPosted: Mon Aug 04, 2008 7:29 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 10, 2008 5:08 pm
Posts: 19
Location: South Carolina
Actually, on this page the third one down says you can edit your exported characters.

http://tawmis.com/collector/Cheats/QfGCharacters.html

_________________
Barnacleaz the Avenger


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: A Few Questions about QFG2VGA....
PostPosted: Mon Aug 04, 2008 9:19 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2008 8:42 pm
Posts: 9
Those are both the same program, and neither one can actually open your existing save and edit your character's stats or class. I should know, I wrote the darned thing.

I'll even let you in on a little secret: I never wrote the thing with cheating in mind, exactly. I, like I assume many others at the time, had a 3.5" floppy disk with all my character saves on them. One day my disk started deteriorating, and rather than just copy my character sav's to another disk, I got the idea that it'd be real neato having a program that could just automatically create these .sav files on demand. (I had just learned about text file writing via VB in highschool recently). But, since I was making this Program, I wanted to make sure there weren't any skills at only 97 or 98. So, I would literally play through the games, and open the .sav files in notepad, and copy the contents as STRING CONSTANTS in VB5. One for each combination: Pure Fighter/Wizard/Thief/Paladin, and one for Mixed Fighter/Wizard/Thief/Paladin.

When copying them into VB, I quickly noticed the Character's Name was just plain unencrypted text, so I added the ability to Name the character you created.

I went through the games the first couple of times honestly, but it really became too tedious, so I resorted to other means. The 1st two games were the easiest to do, because of the debug codes "Razzle Dazzle Root Beer" and "Suck Blue Frog". At the time, I knew exactly what commands would alter the skills, and what items I would need to finish the game. I think all I needed to do was give myself the magic mirror, and immediately walk into Baba Yaga's hut to initiate the end-game sequence. In QFG2, I'd boost my skills, and teleport myself to the sealed cave-room, with the Djinn's ring.

I played through those games so much I felt like I almost knew them inside out.

I never really followed through with a program where you could edit each individual skill. There was no pressing need for it. I took a few attempts at it at one point, and I uncovered a document somewhere on the net years back that revealed some very interesting information stored in the .sav files, such as whether you had turned Baba Yaga into a frog or not. Unfortunately, my HDD crashed shortly after and I never found it again.

I'm actually kinda (pleasently) surprised people are still finding my importer usefull over a decade later. Makes me wish I *had* tried a little harder to fully reverse the .sav format.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: A Few Questions about QFG2VGA....
PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2008 12:14 pm 
Offline
Royal Servant Status

Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2003 9:42 am
Posts: 103
Since AGDI's QFG2 won't allow you to change classes during import, does it do a better job that the original keeping classes? I made a fighter in QG1 about 11 years ago. I maxed out everything (stats and magic) and used him for years though QG3-5 where I imported him as a paladin. I tried to import him into QG2 just to see what would happen and he comes out as a thief with chainmail and magic. What I'm looking for is a way to start the game as a fighter with magic and the lockpick and thieves license, which is what it should be from my character's point of view. I know some will say that having a multi-classed character isn't being true to the game, I disagree. The whole reason I want to play this character from my save game is all about nostalgia. This is something I did 11 years ago, saved for 11 years... I want to see the old boy in action again. I would mind hex editing the SAV file is there is a way. I played around with it, but just ended up corrupting the copies of my original save files. Is this even possible?

AGDs? Charles? Anyone?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: A Few Questions about QFG2VGA....
PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2008 12:21 pm 
Offline
The Prince of Shapeir

Joined: Tue May 08, 2001 4:12 am
Posts: 8872
Location: Phobos
If you send me the character .sav file I can check what your character gets imported as in the remake if you want.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: A Few Questions about QFG2VGA....
PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2008 2:00 pm 
Offline
Insomniac Speed Demon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2004 10:23 pm
Posts: 1193
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
malekdarshin wrote:
I know some will say that having a multi-classed character isn't being true to the game, I disagree.


Nobody here has a moral judgment concerning interclass characters, except maybe Blackthorne.

_________________
Image
-------
Denying people their rights because the majority votes for it is not democracy.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: A Few Questions about QFG2VGA....
PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2008 2:13 pm 
Offline
Forum Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2001 8:28 pm
Posts: 11434
Location: The Netherlands
And me. Boy, did I have to reign myself in during development.

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: A Few Questions about QFG2VGA....
PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2008 4:50 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status
User avatar

Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2008 8:42 pm
Posts: 9
malekdarshin wrote:
I would mind hex editing the SAV file is there is a way. I played around with it, but just ended up corrupting the copies of my original save files. Is this even possible?

I'm not even sure that would be possible. I mean, obviously it's possible to hex edit your sav file to change the stats, or class, or whatever if you know how, but if we assume there's no errors in QFG1 creating the sav file, then there's no guarantee that changing these things in the sav file would actually correct the problem from QFG2's perspective.

erpy wrote:
No, I'm afraid that's not possible.

Oh, just notice Erpy already really answered that earlier on.

Either way, I'm more than confident that the AGDs have fixed any importing problem that may have existed.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: A Few Questions about QFG2VGA....
PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2008 7:32 pm 
Offline
Royal Servant Status

Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2003 9:42 am
Posts: 103
AGC2, I sent the sav file to you via PM. Thanks for looking into it for me.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: A Few Questions about QFG2VGA....
PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2008 9:05 pm 
Offline
The Prince of Shapeir

Joined: Tue May 08, 2001 4:12 am
Posts: 8872
Location: Phobos
I took a look at your .sav file in the remake, but sadly it looks like your character gets imported as a thief here to. Since our game's running exactly the same code as the original QFG2 importer, that's not really a big surprise. There's not much we can do to fix it at this stage.

Though, once the game is released, I might be able to find a way to manually change your character class by altering a variable and then send you a save-file from the very beginning of the game where your character is a Fighter instead of a Thief.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: A Few Questions about QFG2VGA....
PostPosted: Fri Aug 08, 2008 12:57 am 
Offline
Royal Servant Status
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2008 3:15 am
Posts: 56
Location: Melbourne/Viera, Florida
Is there anyway to edit open a save game file or check the code to see what you didn't get awarded points for...hope it's not as complicated as it sounds like it would be..if it's even possible....499??! *pulls out more hair* WHY?!!!

_________________
The Procestuousity begins here!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: A Few Questions about QFG2VGA....
PostPosted: Fri Aug 08, 2008 2:08 am 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 1:10 am
Posts: 194
Location: Michigan, USA
SierraFan1885 wrote:
Is there anyway to edit open a save game file or check the code to see what you didn't get awarded points for...hope it's not as complicated as it sounds like it would be..if it's even possible....499??! *pulls out more hair* WHY?!!!
Erm, you're posting in the wrong thread a little (had to look through your other recent posts to find the exact thread you first mentinoed this in)... That nitpick aside though, you said you have a hybrid character, right? If that's the case, you're actually missing out on more than just one point. It's possible for hybrids to get "class specific" points that are restricted based on skills known, not actual class played as. (My hybrid thief I just checked had 502 points, and I'm fairly certain I've gotten it to like 513ish before)

It may not be possible to get it anymore though, depending on how you went about your quest. Offhand, I do remember that you get less points if you kill the Minotaur as opposed to using nonviolent means to get past. I'm sure there are other points in the game like that as well, with variable points based on how you solved the puzzle.

One thing you can try is repeatedly reentering the unused screen southwest of the Flying Falls, theres a small chance a Loch Ness Monster like creature will appear, which you get a point for speaking to. I hadn't even known that it existed until I read through one of the point guides. (again, there's no in-game need to visit the screen)

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: A Few Questions about QFG2VGA....
PostPosted: Fri Aug 08, 2008 2:40 am 
Offline
Royal Servant Status

Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2003 9:42 am
Posts: 103
Thanks for looking AGC2.

I have yet another question. I believe someone said something about a fighter joining WIT which I assume is the wizard's guild. If a fighter can do that, can they also join the thieves guild and get a set of lockpicks? If so then I'm good. I used the super character that was offered on the website above and got my stats to where I had them in my SAV file. I'll just say that Abdula Doo took a sharp left with the magic carpet and the Hero had to make a grab for his sword but dropped his lockpicks.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 33 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group