It is currently Mon Oct 23, 2017 11:29 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: QFG1VGA and climbing
PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2008 6:26 am 
Offline
Royal Servant Status
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2008 3:15 am
Posts: 56
Location: Melbourne/Viera, Florida
Since I've seen a few stat related posts, and seeing how this is kinda related to QFG2VGA I thought I'd ask here as well.

I'm working on maxing out a character, and the only stat I can't seem to max is Climbing, it's stubbornly stuck at 87. First time really playing QFG1 VGA version. Climbed the tree, and the back alley wall a bit. Any suggestions?

_________________
The Procestuousity begins here!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QFG1VGA and climbing
PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2008 6:27 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2001 6:01 am
Posts: 1718
Location: B├╝hlerzell, Germany
Try the brigand fortress wall.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QFG1VGA and climbing
PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2008 7:50 am 
Offline
Saurus Salesman
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2002 3:18 pm
Posts: 3880
Location: South Africa (Bloemfontein)
It is still possible to raise it with the tree. :) From 87 to 95 you'll have to climb the tree about 100 times for each point. :)
95 to 100 about 140 times for each.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QFG1VGA and climbing
PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2008 8:05 am 
Offline
Trusty Riding Saurus
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 10:02 pm
Posts: 1100
Huh? I thought tree climbing was capped at a certain value, and that you needed to find other places (brigand fortress, and/or city walls in the forest) to max out the ability.

_________________
The moat monsters appreciate your good taste.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QFG1VGA and climbing
PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2008 8:19 am 
Offline
Royal Servant Status

Joined: Sun Jan 12, 2003 9:42 am
Posts: 103
It's been over 10 years since I've maxed out my character, (still have it!) so it's hard to remember. It seems like there is a cliff wall near the area where the pom pom guys come up from the holes. I seem to remember climbing that. I also remember climbing the wall in the alley beside the bar.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QFG1VGA and climbing
PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2008 8:25 am 
Offline
Saurus Salesman
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2002 3:18 pm
Posts: 3880
Location: South Africa (Bloemfontein)
DrJones wrote:
Huh? I thought tree climbing was capped at a certain value, and that you needed to find other places (brigand fortress, and/or city walls in the forest) to max out the ability.


Nope. It just seems that way. Once you hit 87, it feels like forever before you get another point. But if you can do it faster at another place, why bother?
(I've never climbed the city walls or fortress walls for raising the skills... and if I remember correctly, you can only climb the rocks at the spitting flowers until you've captured the seed.)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QFG1VGA and climbing
PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2008 8:47 am 
Offline
The Icelandic Guest
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2001 7:49 pm
Posts: 1697
Quote:
I'm working on maxing out a character, and the only stat I can't seem to max is Climbing, it's stubbornly stuck at 87. First time really playing QFG1 VGA version. Climbed the tree, and the back alley wall a bit. Any suggestions?


Go to the waterfall near where Hermit lives and try climb up on the rock wall. It always works for me.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QFG1VGA and climbing
PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2008 1:45 pm 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 1:10 am
Posts: 194
Location: Michigan, USA
Fribbi wrote:
Quote:
I'm working on maxing out a character, and the only stat I can't seem to max is Climbing, it's stubbornly stuck at 87. First time really playing QFG1 VGA version. Climbed the tree, and the back alley wall a bit. Any suggestions?


Go to the waterfall near where Hermit lives and try climb up on the rock wall. It always works for me.
lol. That was easy. (almost like climbing a ladder)

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QFG1VGA and climbing
PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2008 1:51 pm 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2004 5:36 am
Posts: 168
Location: USA
I find climbing back and forth over the city gate at night a good way to raise it after the tree has become slow to help in the 80s. (You could also try the castle wall, but I don't know that there's any real difference there.) Nevertheless, even there, you can't quite get it to 100, only to the mid-90s.

As far as I know, only the Brigand fortress can be used to reach the full 100. (However, that is from reading guides and forums and never seeing any different info; I can't claim to have tested the game exhaustively myself. :))

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QFG1VGA and climbing
PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2008 6:50 pm 
Offline
Royal Servant Status
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2008 3:15 am
Posts: 56
Location: Melbourne/Viera, Florida
Thanks for the tips everyone!!! I was able to reach 100 climbing thanks to the brigand fort wall. It was surprisingly easy to go from 87 to 100. Now I have my first maxed character...every stat from strength to invidual spell mastery is 100. Is there an experience cap??

Now...if I can just figure out what that 1 point is I'm missing!!! 499 is such a frustrating score!!! LOL!!

I know the VGA version has some bugs, and I've encountered the palate issue a few times, monsters change colors after viewing my stats and such...but if I apply the patch my saves will be unusable, so it's not worth the hassle. Does QFG1VGA sometimes forget to give points like SQ4?

_________________
The Procestuousity begins here!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QFG1VGA and climbing
PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2008 7:56 pm 
Offline
Trusty Riding Saurus
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 10:02 pm
Posts: 1100
I think not, but I remember Quest for Glory VGA had a serious bug that allows you to max all your stats right from the start except one. Just choose the easiest one to train.

It's not fun to use it, though.

It's not fun to climb up a tree 1500 times, either.

_________________
The moat monsters appreciate your good taste.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QFG1VGA and climbing
PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2008 8:48 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 6:17 pm
Posts: 33
DrJones wrote:
I think not, but I remember Quest for Glory VGA had a serious bug that allows you to max all your stats right from the start except one. Just choose the easiest one to train.

It's not fun to use it, though.

It's not fun to climb up a tree 1500 times, either.


You might be thinking of QfG4 and the acrobatics skill? Or maybe that you can import a QfG4 character back into QfG4? If there was such a bug it must have been with QfG1 original because I do not recall seeing anything along the lines of what you describe.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QFG1VGA and climbing
PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2008 8:54 pm 
Offline
Royal Servant Status
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2008 3:15 am
Posts: 56
Location: Melbourne/Viera, Florida
Hmmm...so there's no bug in the point system?? I've gone back through all of the actions I know of that grant you one point...and I'm still stuck at 424...I played through EGA recently and got full points with ease....

one thing I thought was odd though was that I got some points for learning detect from the meeps, and my character's a fighter....

is there a way to hex edit or something so I can see what action I didn't get credit for....normally it wouldn't bug me this much...but 499??? C'mon!!! That's unfair lol

_________________
The Procestuousity begins here!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QFG1VGA and climbing
PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2008 9:30 pm 
Offline
Trusty Riding Saurus
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 10:02 pm
Posts: 1100
Sandsai wrote:
You might be thinking of QfG4 and the acrobatics skill? Or maybe that you can import a QfG4 character back into QfG4? If there was such a bug it must have been with QfG1 original because I do not recall seeing anything along the lines of what you describe.


No. The problem is that during your character creation you can raise or lower a Skill by 1 or by 5. If you reach 0 in a skill, the game doesn't allow you to go any lower, but if you are at 4, you can take 5 points straightaway and enter the realm of negative numbers, which can go as low as you wish, and for each point you take, you get another for the rest of abilities.

That's what I remember, but you might want to take a look at faqs to fill the details. :lol

_________________
The moat monsters appreciate your good taste.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QFG1VGA and climbing
PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2008 9:47 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 6:17 pm
Posts: 33
DrJones wrote:
Sandsai wrote:
You might be thinking of QfG4 and the acrobatics skill? Or maybe that you can import a QfG4 character back into QfG4? If there was such a bug it must have been with QfG1 original because I do not recall seeing anything along the lines of what you describe.


No. The problem is that during your character creation you can raise or lower a Skill by 1 or by 5. If you reach 0 in a skill, the game doesn't allow you to go any lower, but if you are at 4, you can take 5 points straightaway and enter the realm of negative numbers, which can go as low as you wish, and for each point you take, you get another for the rest of abilities.

That's what I remember, but you might want to take a look at faqs to fill the details. :lol


I'm sorry, I am a bit confused. Are you talking about the Original one or the VGA version? I do not recall being able to increase a skill by only one point in the VGA version, I do remember you being able to do so in the EGA version. Anyway, if you are able to increase a skill in the VGA by only one point, please tell me how...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QFG1VGA and climbing
PostPosted: Thu Aug 07, 2008 10:02 pm 
Offline
Royal Servant Status
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2008 3:15 am
Posts: 56
Location: Melbourne/Viera, Florida
Page up

_________________
The Procestuousity begins here!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QFG1VGA and climbing
PostPosted: Fri Aug 08, 2008 1:45 am 
Offline
Royal Servant Status

Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2008 2:15 am
Posts: 74
i just put a brick on my enter button and had my guy climb the rocks at the waterfall. i came back two hours later... still 88 climbing stat... ~_~ i've already killed the brigants so i don't know what to do now. am i stuck at 88 forever?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QFG1VGA and climbing
PostPosted: Fri Aug 08, 2008 1:47 am 
Offline
Royal Servant Status
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2008 3:15 am
Posts: 56
Location: Melbourne/Viera, Florida
climbing over the brigand fort wall a few times brought me from 87 to 100....

_________________
The Procestuousity begins here!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QFG1VGA and climbing
PostPosted: Fri Aug 08, 2008 4:10 am 
Offline
Royal Servant Status

Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2008 2:15 am
Posts: 74
meh, everything else was 100's and it wouldnt let me go back to the brigant camp or i would die upon entering the screen. So i used the hex edit spell and instantly got 100 points for climbing :evil


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QFG1VGA and climbing
PostPosted: Fri Aug 08, 2008 4:28 am 
Offline
Royal Servant Status
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2008 3:15 am
Posts: 56
Location: Melbourne/Viera, Florida
can you use the hex edit spell to add one frustrating point to your score :p

_________________
The Procestuousity begins here!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QFG1VGA and climbing
PostPosted: Fri Aug 08, 2008 4:46 am 
Offline
Royal Servant Status

Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2004 9:11 am
Posts: 122
:eek

I just found out that you can manually get to full stats on every character! Thanks for the heads up on the page up button :) (I always had to leave on stat blank for fighters, till now!)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QFG1VGA and climbing
PostPosted: Fri Aug 08, 2008 6:54 am 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Mon Jul 14, 2008 6:17 pm
Posts: 33
SierraFan1885 wrote:
Page up


Awesome, thanks. Learn something new everyday and I played this game since '91. Also read the manual, evidently not carefully enough.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group