It is currently Wed Oct 18, 2017 8:28 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Wrong filesize on website?
PostPosted: Mon Apr 06, 2009 6:01 pm 
Offline
Trusty Riding Saurus
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 10:02 pm
Posts: 1100
The King's Quest II site states that the game is 321 MB. Now, the file I'm downloading right now is 236 MB, and the folder with the installed game is 407 MB (not counting save files). So how did that number appear? Am I downloading the wrong game? :eek

_________________
The moat monsters appreciate your good taste.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Wrong filesize on website?
PostPosted: Mon Apr 06, 2009 6:29 pm 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2006 9:54 pm
Posts: 351
I just tried downloading from here: http://www.agdinteractive.com/games/kq2/download/download.html and it started downloading a 321MB file. Maybe one of the mirrors is screwy. I'd try again. Or try this direct link to one of the mirrors.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Wrong filesize on website?
PostPosted: Mon Apr 06, 2009 8:22 pm 
Offline
The Master of All Things Musical
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 8:57 pm
Posts: 4025
Location: Manitoba, Canada
The installed game folder would be larger than the install file because the game files are likely compressed prior to installation.

_________________
01010100 01101000 01100101 00100000 01100011 01100001 01101011 01100101 00100000 01101001 01110011 00100000 01100001 00100000 01101100 01101001 01100101 00101110


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Wrong filesize on website?
PostPosted: Mon Apr 06, 2009 8:48 pm 
Offline
Trusty Riding Saurus
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 10:02 pm
Posts: 1100
I was wondering if that 321MB was for the installer or the game folder, because the file I was downloading was smaller. It seems one of the mirrors has the wrong version of the game.

_________________
The moat monsters appreciate your good taste.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Wrong filesize on website?
PostPosted: Mon Apr 06, 2009 9:41 pm 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2006 9:54 pm
Posts: 351
So I started clicking on the download button obsessively and found that this URL is dead:
http://download.zahmatrasoft.com/AGDI/Kq2vga30.exe

And here is the culprit: http://rockse.com/KQ2/Kq2vga30.exe


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group