It is currently Fri Oct 20, 2017 10:49 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Possibility for releases to support real Roland MT-32??
PostPosted: Thu Mar 31, 2011 4:02 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2011 4:00 pm
Posts: 4
Hello all,
Just wondering if it would be possible to include support for people like me who have a Roland MT32 or Roland Sounds Canvas in your games?

Would give it that retro feel. I'm sure if would not be too hard to include the drivers for both MAC/PC. Musical score could be general midi or MT32 compatible.

Many thanks,
Rob


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Possibility for releases to support real Roland MT-32??
PostPosted: Thu Mar 31, 2011 6:40 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2001 6:01 am
Posts: 1717
Location: B├╝hlerzell, Germany
No. The music in the games is all in Vorbis format. That means it already sounds exactly how it should sound, regardless of the machine it's being played on. There's no sense in also including the music in MIDI format.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Possibility for releases to support real Roland MT-32??
PostPosted: Fri Apr 01, 2011 5:48 pm 
Offline
The Master of All Things Musical
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 8:57 pm
Posts: 4025
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Besides, the original MIDI soundtrack versions of KQ1 and KQ2 were composed for the SCC-1B or something. Not even the SC-55 Sound Canvas will play them properly (you'd need a SC-55 MK-II). And even then it's not as good as the alternative digital perfections that Tom put together. An MT-32 compatible soundtrack would be a neat feature but honestly it's too much work for too little reward.

_________________
01010100 01101000 01100101 00100000 01100011 01100001 01101011 01100101 00100000 01101001 01110011 00100000 01100001 00100000 01101100 01101001 01100101 00101110


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Possibility for releases to support real Roland MT-32??
PostPosted: Mon Apr 04, 2011 1:23 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 31, 2011 4:00 pm
Posts: 4
Real shame as it's a classic remake and what made it classic were these type things. If not, if does not make sense to use VGA mode either :)

Keep up the good work, you've one a great job.
Cheers,
Rob


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Possibility for releases to support real Roland MT-32??
PostPosted: Mon Apr 04, 2011 1:44 pm 
Offline
Trusty Riding Saurus
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 10:02 pm
Posts: 1100
To be fair, the game doesn't use VGA either.

_________________
The moat monsters appreciate your good taste.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Possibility for releases to support real Roland MT-32??
PostPosted: Tue Apr 05, 2011 11:55 pm 
Offline
The Master of All Things Musical
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 8:57 pm
Posts: 4025
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Jones is correct. It's low res 32-bit graphics (millions of available colours). VGA is defined specifically as 256 colours at a 320x200 resolution or 16 colours at 640x480. But even most of the Sierra VGA games didn't properly "support" the MT-32. They merely slapped on a General MIDI SysEx set of instruments for the MT-32 so it would attempt to resemble the proper soundtracks which were meant to be heard on the SC-55.

_________________
01010100 01101000 01100101 00100000 01100011 01100001 01101011 01100101 00100000 01101001 01110011 00100000 01100001 00100000 01101100 01101001 01100101 00101110


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group