It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 11:43 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: A few QFG II questions
PostPosted: Sat Oct 09, 2004 5:00 am 
Offline
Defense Minister Status

Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2004 3:55 am
Posts: 717
Location: South Australia
1. Will you use your own battle system or one similar to the other QFG games?

2. Since you said you were expecting the game to be released near the end of this year do you have a more accurate estimation since the year is reaching the end?

3. Does the game have more or less locations than the original and if so can you tell us the newly added ones?

4. Will the game feature a music pack to download?

I got heaps more question but can't remember them now thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Oct 09, 2004 6:38 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2001 6:01 am
Posts: 1718
Location: Bühlerzell, Germany
Quote:
1. Will you use your own battle system or one similar to the other QFG games?


From the FAQ:

Quote:
Combat will resemble the EGA version of QFG2, but all similarities stop there. The revamped combat system is one of the most impressive aspects about the remake with many enhancments, new moves, new features and clever AI.


Quote:
2. Since you said you were expecting the game to be released near the end of this year do you have a more accurate estimation since the year is reaching the end?


It'll be released when it's done.

Quote:
3. Does the game have more or less locations than the original and if so can you tell us the newly added ones?


All locations in the original will be included.

Quote:
4. Will the game feature a music pack to download?


Yes and no. The OGG music pack will be a part of the game download. Since there isn't going to be a MIDI soundtrack, the music pack isn't optional.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2004 9:26 am 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2004 7:22 pm
Posts: 25
Location: Portugal
Have u guys made a remake of QFG 1? if u havn't why didn't u do that first? If someone else has done it where can i download it? :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2004 9:29 am 
Offline
Infamous Sheik of Australia
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2003 3:43 pm
Posts: 1722
Location: Rockhampton Australia
You can't download it. Sierra did a remake themselves back in 1993? and it is simply the best remake of the few they did themselves. Basically, awesome!

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2004 9:30 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2001 6:01 am
Posts: 1718
Location: Bühlerzell, Germany
sierra already made a VGA remake of QfG, so AGDI doesn't have to. Neither the remake nor original can legally be downloaded, so don't ask.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2004 9:32 am 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2004 7:22 pm
Posts: 25
Location: Portugal
lol, didn't know... usually these games are all abandon ware. And i was asking of a free one, anyway.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: true
PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2004 1:00 pm 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2004 9:44 pm
Posts: 386
Location: Realm of Amber
True, but abandonware actually means "software that is still copyrighted and therefore illegal to download, but that is old enough that we hope that the copyright holders will not notice and/or care if we do so anyway."

Or, legally, it don't mean squat.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 17, 2004 11:26 pm 
Offline
The Icelandic Guest
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2001 7:49 pm
Posts: 1697
The big question is: What if AGDI or someone else are trying to remake the QG1VGA? Will it still be unlegal?

And if you are going to ask me why I'm trying to remake Leisure Suit Larry? Because I want to see what happens if I can play the game in VGA version. Nothing else and I think you have the same reason why you want to play Qg2 in VGAcolor.

PS: I will never understanded why people wanted to see a old game in newer version when they have played those games over hundred times with a newer color effection but with the same puzzle they have dealt before. It has always been a mystery to me if you want to ask me.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 18, 2004 3:04 am 
Offline
The Master of All Things Musical
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 8:57 pm
Posts: 4025
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Well it may be the same puzzles, but for me it's a new atmosphere and experience.

_________________
01010100 01101000 01100101 00100000 01100011 01100001 01101011 01100101 00100000 01101001 01110011 00100000 01100001 00100000 01101100 01101001 01100101 00101110


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 28, 2004 11:44 am 
Offline
Defense Minister Status

Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2004 3:55 am
Posts: 717
Location: South Australia
ok got another question

will the conversation in the game be set or will there be options to choose from of what you talk about? or will the game use both?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 28, 2004 12:11 pm 
Offline
Forum Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2001 8:28 pm
Posts: 11434
Location: The Netherlands
Like in the original, you can ask characters about many different subjects. Set conversation would maim the game beyond recognition and would probably get us lynched. :p

Image


Last edited by Erpy on Fri Oct 29, 2004 5:40 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 28, 2004 10:57 pm 
Offline
Royal Servant Status
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 08, 2004 7:26 pm
Posts: 119
Location: Michigan, USA
Main = Maim, I'm assuming...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Oct 29, 2004 2:02 am 
Offline
Royal Servant Status
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2001 11:18 am
Posts: 97
And will also give AGDI the chance to put in extra hidden responses. I know that when the game is finally released, I'll be wandering around asking everyone about "AGDI", "Cadbury Wookie", and "Tom Lewandowski". :rollin


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: qfg2
PostPosted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 10:04 am 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2004 8:34 am
Posts: 9
will you have the ability to "bargain"? if so how? if not, then ... how not? or okay.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 10:31 am 
Offline
Forum Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2001 8:28 pm
Posts: 11434
Location: The Netherlands
Yes, bargaining will be possible.

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 11, 2004 12:44 pm 
Offline
Knight Status

Joined: Sat May 01, 2004 4:17 pm
Posts: 193
Okay about bargaining, is it going to be set up like how it was in qfg2ega? or will it be like qfg3? Also don't forget if you had low communication points the merchants would end up charging you a higher cost for the product than what it was before.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 12, 2004 6:08 am 
Offline
Defense Minister Status

Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2004 3:55 am
Posts: 717
Location: South Australia
will it be possible ofr one charector to have at lesat some point for each skill

like in QFG1vga the thief could have all stats


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 12, 2004 7:50 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2001 6:01 am
Posts: 1718
Location: Bühlerzell, Germany
You can import characters from QfG1, so if you had a QfG1 character with everything, you can use him in QfG2VGA.

If you make a character from scratch, you have some skill points to assign. On a thief, these are enough to get the two missing skills (magic and parry). On a fighter or a mage, they aren't enough to get all the missing skills.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Skill Points
PostPosted: Fri Nov 12, 2004 1:42 pm 
Offline
Royal Vizier Status
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2004 6:20 am
Posts: 2047
Location: Somewhere in Ohio...
adeyke wrote:
If you make a character from scratch, you have some skill points to assign.


So I take it that you won't allow an imported character to assign extra points. That will leave QFG2 as the only one where that happens. Personally, I like it that way, but a few people I know always complained about it (they liked getting free points upon import to 3, 4, and 5).

One question about the points, though. Will using the Djinn of the Ring to get 250 total points in two stats (and then having it properly export to QFG3) still be doable?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 12, 2004 2:50 pm 
Offline
Forum Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2001 8:28 pm
Posts: 11434
Location: The Netherlands
Quote:
So I take it that you won't allow an imported character to assign extra points. That will leave QFG2 as the only one where that happens. Personally, I like it that way, but a few people I know always complained about it (they liked getting free points upon import to 3, 4, and 5).


When importing, you get 25 points to assign instead of the usual 50. This will allow importers who didn't max out in the original to slightly upgrade their character or to assign 1 additional skill.

Quote:
One question about the points, though. Will using the Djinn of the Ring to get 250 total points in two stats (and then having it properly export to QFG3) still be doable?


Yep, the djinni can still upgrade stats.

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 14, 2004 5:11 am 
Offline
Royal Servant Status
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2003 2:15 am
Posts: 112
Location: Montreal
To be absolutly sure you mean even to 250 right? Sorry if if that sounds sily but I feel I should ask if no for me but for those you don't get the full meaning. And thanks for those 25 points for importers it will make happy to play my QGF2VGA chacrater with all possibilities open. Oh another silly question (maybe just to deter those that mite think of it) if I were to have a saved game from the original (either with max skill '254') to be up loaded into this VGA version? I don't think so but I never saw it asked before and knowing the human condition someone will try it out to see.

_________________
A knight is sworn to valour
His heart knows only virtue
His blade defends the helpless
His might upholds the weak
His word speaks only truth  
His wrath undoes the wicked.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 19, 2004 6:50 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Thu Jul 22, 2004 1:58 pm
Posts: 15
about importing, some glory titles allowed you to change class while keeping stats when importing, others did not. How is it being done here? I am asking mainly because I am one of those that has to have all the skills, dont ask it is something I can not help when ever I start qg1 I always pick thief as he is the only one that can have all skills. Now qg2 at least the way it is done in origianl I want to be a fighter because a fighet can do wizard and thief quests as well eof, while thieves and wizards are barred from doing eof quests.

I guess I could cheat in qg1 and get a fighter w all skills but that just feels bad....


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 19, 2004 7:15 pm 
Offline
Forum Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2001 8:28 pm
Posts: 11434
Location: The Netherlands
I'm afraid you can't change class when importing. A character who left Spielburg as a thief will enter Shapeir as a thief.

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 20, 2004 4:12 am 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Tue Nov 02, 2004 7:16 am
Posts: 4
I understand why QfG2 will not have a voice pack, but will it be possible for third-party groups to create their own voice pack for it?
I'm sure there are voice acting guilds out there who would be interested.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 20, 2004 4:45 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2001 6:01 am
Posts: 1718
Location: Bühlerzell, Germany
No.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group