It is currently Tue Oct 17, 2017 4:56 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: KQ4 in AGI?
PostPosted: Sun Oct 31, 2004 6:32 pm 
Offline
Knight Status

Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2003 4:18 pm
Posts: 304
Location: The Netherlands
I just made a weird discovery. There was this abandonware website (I won't post a link, because I don't want problems with the moderators) that had this demo version of KQ4. The weird thing about it is, well, it's in AGI (you know, the same engine as KQ1-2-3).

I would upload it here, but I don't have any webspace. Could someone please host it (it's only 135 kB when zipped)? I can mail it to you, if you like...

And yes, it seems an official demo to me (so no fake). I also don't consider this against the rules, as it is a demo version. I just thought it was pretty interesting to look at. Here's the README that comes with it:

---
********************************************
A Sierra On-Line Mini-Demo
King's Quest IV - The Perils of Rosella
********************************************

*** This is a demonstration of the 256k version of KQIV ***

To operate this demonstration, type "Sierra".
To install this demo from floppies to a hard drive, type "Installh".
To display the following instructions during the demo, press <H>.
To turn off the sound during the demo, press <F2>.
To pause the demo, press <Esc>.
To quit the demo, press <Alt-Z>.

If you have enjoyed this demo, we would apperciate it if you passed
it on to others that might enjoy this demo. If you would purchase
this game, call our sales department at (800)-344-7448.
---

Please tell me what you think. Anyone else ever heard of this?

_________________
I'm a Professional
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 31, 2004 7:16 pm 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2004 9:44 pm
Posts: 386
Location: Realm of Amber
Yes, we have.
KQIV was released in both AGI and SCI, the idea was that not all contemporary computers were capable of running SCI. The AGI version did not have a very large distribution, and the SCI version has been re-released several times and included in some Sierra collections. The most notable difference between the two versions is the 'beam me' easter egg, which only exists in AGI.
Also, several official Sierra demos are known to exist, I'm sure you can find them somewhere on a Sierra fan site. They contain up to nine samplers of just about ani AGI Sierra game, and Thexder and the HeliSim are included in some of them.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 31, 2004 7:29 pm 
Offline
Knight Status

Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2003 4:18 pm
Posts: 304
Location: The Netherlands
Ah, I see. It's just that I had never heard of this before... I thought KQ4 was only released in SCI. Thanks for clearing that up.

(BTW, if anyone still wants the demo, please e-mail me.)

_________________
I'm a Professional
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 31, 2004 8:53 pm 
Offline
Royal Vizier Status

Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2004 11:08 pm
Posts: 1614
Can you link where the game is?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 31, 2004 9:08 pm 
Offline
Forum Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2001 8:28 pm
Posts: 11434
Location: The Netherlands
If you're talking about the AGI version of KQ4, then no, he cannot.

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 31, 2004 10:12 pm 
Offline
Knight Status

Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2003 4:18 pm
Posts: 304
Location: The Netherlands
Rog, I only have a demo, not the full AGI version. Still, I can e-mail it to you if you want.

_________________
I'm a Professional
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 31, 2004 10:13 pm 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2004 9:44 pm
Posts: 386
Location: Realm of Amber
http://www.classicgaming.com/agisci/sierradm.shtml

(Official AGI and SCI editing site, containing a lot of demos, patches, christmas cards and a bunch of fangames with varying quality; no abandonware or other illegal things of any sort)

http://www.ebay.com

(The place to get the complete KQ4 in AGI)

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 01, 2004 9:20 am 
Offline
Royal Vizier Status

Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2004 11:08 pm
Posts: 1614
ThreeHeadedMonkey wrote:
Rog, I only have a demo, not the full AGI version. Still, I can e-mail it to you if you want.


Yes. Please. Thank you. my e-mail is developer@easy.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 01, 2004 11:43 am 
Offline
Knight Status

Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2003 4:18 pm
Posts: 304
Location: The Netherlands
Check your inbox, Rog. :)

_________________
I'm a Professional
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 01, 2004 8:16 pm 
Offline
Royal Vizier Status

Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2004 11:08 pm
Posts: 1614
Thankies. :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 03, 2004 12:25 am 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2003 6:55 am
Posts: 367
Location: Ferry Boat
is it a huge difference in graphical quality?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 03, 2004 12:46 am 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2001 6:01 am
Posts: 1715
Location: Bühlerzell, Germany
The AGI systems' is limited to a width of 160 graphics pixels, so the resolution is only half that of the SCI version. This makes a significant difference in the graphics quality. However, the two versions have the same layout for the screens. They basically look the same, except that the SCI one is sharper and more refined.

IOW, the art style of KQ4 AGI is much closer to that of KQ4 SCI than it is to any other AGI game.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 03, 2004 12:49 am 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2003 6:55 am
Posts: 367
Location: Ferry Boat
so basically its like you blurred a a picture and then for sci you used sharpen on it


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 03, 2004 2:07 am 
Offline
Royal Vizier Status
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2003 3:37 am
Posts: 2298
Location: Central New York
bartonjo2 wrote:
so basically its like you blurred a a picture and then for sci you used sharpen on it


Not quite - here is a comparison photo I whipped up for y'all.

Image

Bt

_________________
You've got to be crazy; you gotta have a real need.  You gotta sleep on your toes, and when you're on the street, you got to be able to pick out the easy meat with your eyes closed.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 03, 2004 8:31 am 
Offline
Royal Vizier Status

Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2004 11:08 pm
Posts: 1614
I'm looking through both versions to see if there are any major or minr differences other than the graphics. ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 03, 2004 1:34 pm 
Offline
Knight Status

Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2003 4:18 pm
Posts: 304
Location: The Netherlands
Cool, Blackthorne! I'm going to try to get my own copy of this AGI version, looks interesting. I hope there is a boxed version of it.

_________________
I'm a Professional
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: 1st and only versio of KQ4 I played...
PostPosted: Wed Nov 03, 2004 10:23 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Sat Nov 03, 2001 3:59 am
Posts: 27
was AGI. I wish I had found the SCI version though. O well. It was still fun.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 04, 2004 1:58 am 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2003 6:55 am
Posts: 367
Location: Ferry Boat
My family bought the complete kq collection like 9 years ago so I have seen those graphics before but id have to see them fullscreen to see how the quality makes a difference if you know what i mean


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 04, 2004 6:06 pm 
Offline
Knight Status

Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2003 4:18 pm
Posts: 304
Location: The Netherlands
I think you can DEFINATELY see the difference between the screens Blackthorne posted. But I can send you the demo of the AGI version, if you want...

_________________
I'm a Professional
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 05, 2004 1:58 am 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2003 6:55 am
Posts: 367
Location: Ferry Boat
Personally I'll stick with the better graphics.... Which one is that? :rollin


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 05, 2004 5:08 pm 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2004 9:44 pm
Posts: 386
Location: Realm of Amber
The remake by Sponge Factory, of course.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 05, 2004 5:57 pm 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2003 6:55 am
Posts: 367
Location: Ferry Boat
Ahah very dharp you are!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 05, 2004 8:09 pm 
Offline
Knight Status

Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2003 4:18 pm
Posts: 304
Location: The Netherlands
Sponge Factory? Wasn't that something by MuzlakOofmay? Is there a website?

_________________
I'm a Professional
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 06, 2004 1:20 am 
Offline
The Master of All Things Musical
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 8:57 pm
Posts: 4025
Location: Manitoba, Canada
MuzlakOofMay is the owner of Sponge Factory, yes. The site is http://www.seanet.com/~ncarter/spongefactory/.

_________________
01010100 01101000 01100101 00100000 01100011 01100001 01101011 01100101 00100000 01101001 01110011 00100000 01100001 00100000 01101100 01101001 01100101 00101110


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 06, 2004 2:42 am 
Offline
Honorary AGD
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2002 1:19 am
Posts: 5362
Location: US of A
Heh... I think you have a slightly outdated webpage there, MI...

http://www.nancycarterdesign.com/spongefactory/


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group