It is currently Sat Oct 21, 2017 5:44 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Remaking other VGA games?
PostPosted: Sat Nov 27, 2004 11:38 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 11:24 pm
Posts: 9
I absolutely adored AGDI (though I much prefer Tierra) remakes of KQ1 and KQ2. I cant wait to play through Shapeir and Raseir with my favorite thief...
I adored the little tweaks that you made for the games that weren't possible in KQ5 and KQ6
-The ability to play with both text and speech at the same time.
-Beautiful digital music (much better than the crappy sound I get when I attempt to play KQ5)
-Scrolling through the cursors with the mouse wheel
-Hot spots on each of the cursors
-Points always on screen
-No bugs

How great would it be if someone remade KQ5, KQ6 (and all other Sierra Games while we're at it) that would have these options. And while we're on the subject of KQ5, KQ6, why not have an auto-map of the desert, labyrinth and catacombs?

We'd have the whole VGA KQ serie with an unified look and feel.

Anyway, I dream... but think how awesome it would be...
The backgrounds images, sprites, text, speech, music (Tom) are already made, after all...

Anyway,

Peace out.

Be happy

Maxxx


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Nov 27, 2004 11:53 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2001 6:01 am
Posts: 1718
Location: B├╝hlerzell, Germany
Uh, no.

While the art for such a remake is already drawn, and the lines are already written, that won't significantly speed up the process. The time-consuming part is adding everything to the game, scripting it, testing it, fixing the bugs, etc. That could still take many months to complete.

And there'd be very little incentive to work on such a remake. Would you spend months of your life working on a game that'll be exactly the same as an existing one, except that it has hotspots on the cursors? As a fan, would you wait for months to download a game, and then get nothing new out of it, except some hotspots on the cursors?

So, really, it'd be a waste of time and effort.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 28, 2004 1:10 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Thu May 06, 2004 2:57 pm
Posts: 3
Not really. With each new OS it gets harder and harder to run those old classics. (now already, I can't run KQ5 without having COD's every two minutes) So bringing it in line with modern technology would be great for the fans who can play those games again. I can see how it wouldn't be very interesting from the developer's point of view though.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 28, 2004 1:13 pm 
Offline
Royal Vizier Status

Joined: Sat Aug 28, 2004 11:08 pm
Posts: 1614
not another thread on remaking KQ5 and 6. :rolleyes

Why would someone re-create the same game and only modify some things? Pointless I tell you.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 28, 2004 1:18 pm 
Offline
Defense Minister Status
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2002 2:54 pm
Posts: 736
Location: Kolding, Denmark
There are plenty of other ways to run those old programs without having them remade. See DOSBox and VDMSound.

_________________
Pidgeot
-----
Every error you find is the last one.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Nov 28, 2004 11:47 pm 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 30, 2004 9:44 pm
Posts: 386
Location: Realm of Amber
What you're thinking of has actually happened for LucasArts games, with the advent of ScummVM. Since all Lucas games basically run within the same interpreter (called SCUMM), this interpreter can be emulated.
Also, of course, all AGI Sierra games can be played using WinAGI.
It would of course be possible to create a ScivVM which then could play all VGA Sierra games from KQ5 to (let's see, what was the last SCIV game? Maybe GK2?). However, what may be a problem is that there seems to be much larger differences between different games. There is no uniform way in SCUMM games to display, say, portraits - it almost seems as if every game does it differently.
Anyway if someone would write ScivVM it would then be easy to add all sorts of tweaks like windowed mode and mousewheel support. You might try asking around at the SCI studio forums.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Nov 29, 2004 10:52 am 
Offline
Defense Minister Status
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2002 2:54 pm
Posts: 736
Location: Kolding, Denmark
They are. It's called FreeSCI.

_________________
Pidgeot
-----
Every error you find is the last one.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group