It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 8:28 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Getting QFG5 to work?
PostPosted: Mon Sep 08, 2008 10:47 pm 
Offline
Knight Status

Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2008 2:14 am
Posts: 209
OK, I've read and followed all the directions on this page, and while that helped in actually getting to the title screen, once I get there, I can click "Play" and get the new character creation screen, but anything (and I mean anything) I do on that page gives me a crash to desktop. I can't import, I can't play, I can't even alter my stats.

Anyone seen this and solved it?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Getting QFG5 to work?
PostPosted: Mon Sep 08, 2008 10:49 pm 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 11:14 pm
Posts: 250
which windows version are you using?

_________________
Visit the Hero's Tale Inn!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Getting QFG5 to work?
PostPosted: Mon Sep 08, 2008 10:54 pm 
Offline
Knight Status

Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2008 2:14 am
Posts: 209
Windows XP SP3, 32 bit

I've tried the following in addition to what's on the site:
* Every possible level of sound and graphics acceleration
* Every possible compatibility mode with visual themes disabled

The only odd thing I can think of about my situation is that my computer doesn't have a CDROM so I installed it off a networked computer which has a CD drive. It didn't complain and there doesn't appear to be any copy protection beyond me needing to have the CD in that other machine (and it does complain if absent).

I cancelled out of the ancient Quicktime install but since I saw the intro movie just fine I assume that's working.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Getting QFG5 to work?
PostPosted: Mon Sep 08, 2008 11:49 pm 
Offline
Knight Status

Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2008 2:14 am
Posts: 209
It seems to be the 1.2 patch that does it in fact. If I run in compatibility mode, the original game will start.

Edit: Even the 1.1 patch won't work. I have to play 1.0 in all its bugginess ><

1.2 works if I delete the \Data\QGM folder. Not sure what those files are but hope they're not important.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group