AGDInteractive - Sierra Adventure Game Remakes Forum
http://www.agdinteractive.com/forum/

vga
http://www.agdinteractive.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=19&t=14468
Page 1 of 1

Author:  zangeena [ Wed Oct 07, 2009 7:53 am ]
Post subject:  vga

How do I record my Tv onto my Computer with a VGA cable? I have bought the correct cables to do this, hooked them up, but i don't know whats wrong. I hooked my VGA Male cable into my Samsung Tv and had the converted Female end hooked into my hard drive. No new software is showing up. What should i do?
__________________

Author:  Gronagor [ Wed Oct 07, 2009 10:33 am ]
Post subject:  Re: vga

Hmmm?

Am I understanding correctly? You want to view (and record) your TV on your PC?
The cables you've bought rather sound like ones which will allow you to work your computer on your TV.

For the other way around you'd need a TV card.


But I could be wrong. I'm not up to date with the newer tech.

Author:  haradan [ Wed Oct 07, 2009 6:49 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: vga

Without seeing your TV, I would bet the VGA connector it has is an INPUT, not an output. Which, as Gronagor said, would allow you to send your computer's signal into the TV, not the other way around.

You need:

A) A TV card, which allows your computer to catch TV signals, then you can record it or output it to a monitor, projector or whatever you like.

or

B) A capture card, which allows you to get any video signal (RGB, composite, supervideo) into your computer. You would also need that your TV has an VIDEO OUT plug, which are not standard in all tvs, but neither are so uncommon.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/