It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 11:38 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 148 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Buying Roland MT-32 Sound Module
PostPosted: Sun Jun 13, 2010 2:50 am 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2005 7:21 am
Posts: 282
Location: Mexico
I use the M-Audio UNO with my Mac, no hassles at all. I'm using a Mac DOSBox custom version with CoreMIDI integration which someone created and posted at Queststudios a while back, but I understand that the latest DOSBox version already integrated that same MIDI support, so you should have no problems.

_________________
Signature? No thank you.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Buying Roland MT-32 Sound Module
PostPosted: Wed Jun 16, 2010 12:21 pm 
Offline
Insomniac Speed Demon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2004 10:23 pm
Posts: 1193
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
pbpb33 wrote:
Spikey wrote:
So....the cable arrived superfast and it WORKS! I'm so happy. BassPizzMS, am I glad to see you show up on my MT-32 screen instead of a random harpsi. It worked on my XP machine without installing drivers or anything, transferring SysEx now smoothly without errors.


Which games have you tried so far with the MT-32?


Uhm, KQ4, KQ5, KQ6, KQ7!
BTW, if anyone is interested, the KQ7 soundtrack for the MT-32 seems to suck enormously compared to the SC-55 / General MIDI. I think I'll start recording KQ7 through my SC-55 pretty near in the future.

_________________
Image
-------
Denying people their rights because the majority votes for it is not democracy.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Buying Roland MT-32 Sound Module
PostPosted: Wed Jun 16, 2010 12:40 pm 
Offline
Defense Minister Status
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2009 9:59 pm
Posts: 523
Yeah, I think whenever "General MIDI" (with SC-55) is an option with Sierra games, that's probably the best option to choose. I think the MT-32 era (when they wrote the music specifically for the MT-32) for Sierra ended around 1992 or so when the games started supporting General MIDI.

I get a kick out of playing the EGA Sierra games that support the MT-32. With SQ3, for example, I like the dichotomy between the pixelated graphics and the rich sounds.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Buying Roland MT-32 Sound Module
PostPosted: Wed Jun 16, 2010 2:54 pm 
Offline
The Master of All Things Musical
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 8:57 pm
Posts: 4025
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Usually, yes the General MIDI option is better. But sometimes an MT-32 version of the soundtrack can surprise you. And sometimes it's even better than General MIDI. But the only ones were during the transition period. After that they just slapped on a sub-par General MIDI mapped SysEx to each game for the bare minimal of MT-32 support. This way they wouldn't have to program alternate MIDI channels for other sound hardware and they could use the same MIDI channels for both sound devices.

SQ4 sounds better in MT-32, for instance. As does QFG1VGA. LB2, SQ5, PQ1VGA, and I think even Gabriel Knight 1 has a decent MT-32 track.

_________________
01010100 01101000 01100101 00100000 01100011 01100001 01101011 01100101 00100000 01101001 01110011 00100000 01100001 00100000 01101100 01101001 01100101 00101110


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Buying Roland MT-32 Sound Module
PostPosted: Thu Jun 17, 2010 11:27 am 
Offline
Defense Minister Status
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2009 9:59 pm
Posts: 523
MusicallyInspired wrote:
SQ4 sounds better in MT-32, for instance. As does QFG1VGA. LB2, SQ5, PQ1VGA, and I think even Gabriel Knight 1 has a decent MT-32 track.


I actually installed QFG1VGA recently to try out the MT-32, and when I saw the General MIDI option in the setup I almost didn't even continue with the installation because I figured the MT-32 sounds would be very sub-par because I figured that the game was probably written to best use the General MIDI sounds... however, it sounded awesome and now I'm so glad I did continue with the install!!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Buying Roland MT-32 Sound Module
PostPosted: Thu Jun 17, 2010 3:27 pm 
Offline
The Master of All Things Musical
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 8:57 pm
Posts: 4025
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Yes, in QFG1VGA's case, not only did they copy over the same MT-32 track that Mark Seibert wrote for the original, but he actually enhanced it by touching up existing tracks and even writing brand new material that wasn't in the original.

_________________
01010100 01101000 01100101 00100000 01100011 01100001 01101011 01100101 00100000 01101001 01110011 00100000 01100001 00100000 01101100 01101001 01100101 00101110


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Buying Roland MT-32 Sound Module
PostPosted: Fri Jun 18, 2010 7:15 am 
Offline
Insomniac Speed Demon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2004 10:23 pm
Posts: 1193
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
It sounds like I'll be in Sierra Viewer a lot the coming months, to compare all these things. Since I now have two MIDI-USB cables anyway I'll have to look for a more permanent setup for easy switching between the the MT-32 and the SC-55.

By the way, I love it how the MT-32 hardcase design looks way more modern than the SC-55.

_________________
Image
-------
Denying people their rights because the majority votes for it is not democracy.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Buying Roland MT-32 Sound Module
PostPosted: Sat Jun 19, 2010 1:22 am 
Offline
PR Director & Artist
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 8:00 am
Posts: 809
I love how it shows you the game you're playing - I always get a little rush when I load up a game and it flashes wildly and then shows the game title with the first Sierra logo notes... OOOOH! I am getting horny for my MT-32 right now I am going to have to turn it on and play with my Pestulon!

_________________
eriqchangstudio.com
Facebook Connect


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Buying Roland MT-32 Sound Module
PostPosted: Sat Jun 19, 2010 3:44 am 
Offline
The Master of All Things Musical
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 8:57 pm
Posts: 4025
Location: Manitoba, Canada
That was probably the most scarily constructed sentence I've ever read.

_________________
01010100 01101000 01100101 00100000 01100011 01100001 01101011 01100101 00100000 01101001 01110011 00100000 01100001 00100000 01101100 01101001 01100101 00101110


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Buying Roland MT-32 Sound Module
PostPosted: Sat Jun 19, 2010 1:06 pm 
Offline
PR Director & Artist
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 8:00 am
Posts: 809
LOL. Any Bobbin Siebenbergen anyone? Oh wait! EEz Not Loomin'!

_________________
eriqchangstudio.com
Facebook Connect


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Buying Roland MT-32 Sound Module
PostPosted: Fri Jun 25, 2010 11:51 pm 
Offline
Insomniac Speed Demon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2004 10:23 pm
Posts: 1193
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
These things are hard work. I thought I would just be extracting music from organised libraries, and then recording it while I was playing it. :rollin

Complicating matters;
- Organised libraries, there are none
- A lot of sequences that sound like one song, are actually multiple sequences scattered throughout the libraries
- My god, so much unused material and untapped potential!
- Comparison of the SC-55 and MT-32 soundtracks when a game has both, is vital, essential, and a lot of work~!!

_________________
Image
-------
Denying people their rights because the majority votes for it is not democracy.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Buying Roland MT-32 Sound Module
PostPosted: Fri Jun 25, 2010 11:52 pm 
Offline
The Master of All Things Musical
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 8:57 pm
Posts: 4025
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Indeed. This is why everybody gets their soundtracks from Quest Studios or Sierra Music Central. Though, those are enhanced with newer equipment (but still make use of the MT-32).

_________________
01010100 01101000 01100101 00100000 01100011 01100001 01101011 01100101 00100000 01101001 01110011 00100000 01100001 00100000 01101100 01101001 01100101 00101110


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Buying Roland MT-32 Sound Module
PostPosted: Fri Jun 25, 2010 11:58 pm 
Offline
Insomniac Speed Demon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2004 10:23 pm
Posts: 1193
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Oh, I'm actually talking about the 7th Guest, the 11th Hour & King's Quest 7. I cannot find complete soundtracks as recorded through the SC-55 of those games anywhere.

_________________
Image
-------
Denying people their rights because the majority votes for it is not democracy.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Buying Roland MT-32 Sound Module
PostPosted: Sat Jun 26, 2010 1:30 am 
Offline
The Master of All Things Musical
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 8:57 pm
Posts: 4025
Location: Manitoba, Canada
I know that Sierra Music Central is working on a KQ7 soundtrack. But Alistair can take a while to get soundtracks out to make sure the quality is where it should be.

_________________
01010100 01101000 01100101 00100000 01100011 01100001 01101011 01100101 00100000 01101001 01110011 00100000 01100001 00100000 01101100 01101001 01100101 00101110


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Buying Roland MT-32 Sound Module
PostPosted: Sat Jun 26, 2010 1:42 am 
Offline
Insomniac Speed Demon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2004 10:23 pm
Posts: 1193
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
That's great, I can't wait!

_________________
Image
-------
Denying people their rights because the majority votes for it is not democracy.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Buying Roland MT-32 Sound Module
PostPosted: Sat Jun 26, 2010 1:46 am 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2005 7:21 am
Posts: 282
Location: Mexico
MusicallyInspired wrote:
I know that Sierra Music Central is working on a KQ7 soundtrack. But Alistair can take a while to get soundtracks out to make sure the quality is where it should be.


Right now he's probably working full-hands on the Freddy Pharkas Soundtrack, so KQ7 is gonna take some time, (in the line of "some LONG time", actually) ;)

_________________
Signature? No thank you.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Buying Roland MT-32 Sound Module
PostPosted: Sat Jun 26, 2010 9:32 am 
Offline
Insomniac Speed Demon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2004 10:23 pm
Posts: 1193
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Well.

Until that time, I will share my version, of course, better something subpar than nothing.

_________________
Image
-------
Denying people their rights because the majority votes for it is not democracy.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Buying Roland MT-32 Sound Module
PostPosted: Mon Jul 19, 2010 12:02 pm 
Offline
Insomniac Speed Demon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2004 10:23 pm
Posts: 1193
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Oh no...the Willy Beamish CD version has no MT-32 support....

_________________
Image
-------
Denying people their rights because the majority votes for it is not democracy.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Buying Roland MT-32 Sound Module
PostPosted: Mon Jul 19, 2010 2:30 pm 
Offline
The Master of All Things Musical
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 8:57 pm
Posts: 4025
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Yeah, that was a big bummer with it I remember. NewRisingSun said he was developing a patch to reenable the MT-32 soundtrack on the CD version, but he never did finish.

_________________
01010100 01101000 01100101 00100000 01100011 01100001 01101011 01100101 00100000 01101001 01110011 00100000 01100001 00100000 01101100 01101001 01100101 00101110


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Buying Roland MT-32 Sound Module
PostPosted: Tue Jul 20, 2010 1:50 am 
Offline
Defense Minister Status
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2009 9:59 pm
Posts: 523
You mentioned earlier that you were able to get Sound Blaster digitized effects working at the same time as MT-32 music in SQ3? How did you do this?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Buying Roland MT-32 Sound Module
PostPosted: Tue Jul 20, 2010 2:45 am 
Offline
The Master of All Things Musical
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 8:57 pm
Posts: 4025
Location: Manitoba, Canada
There are drivers out there. I have one. You can find it in this ZIP. Just look for the file named MTBLAST.DRV and put it in your SQ3 directory (you don't need any other files included). Edit your RESOURCE.CFG file to read MTBLAST.DRV for the sound device line. Running INSTALL won't work because the MTBLAST.DRV driver does not have an entry in the installer's driver database and so will fail when you try to run it with MTBLAST.DRV in the directory (unless you edit INSTALL.TXT and add the entry manaully).

_________________
01010100 01101000 01100101 00100000 01100011 01100001 01101011 01100101 00100000 01101001 01110011 00100000 01100001 00100000 01101100 01101001 01100101 00101110


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Buying Roland MT-32 Sound Module
PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2010 5:52 pm 
Offline
Insomniac Speed Demon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2004 10:23 pm
Posts: 1193
Location: Rotterdam, Netherlands
Do you happen to know which version of KQ5 has General Midi support??
- I want to like, try EVERYTHING until I'm tired of it. :).

Oh and Musically Inspired, thanks for all your info, help and everything.

_________________
Image
-------
Denying people their rights because the majority votes for it is not democracy.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Buying Roland MT-32 Sound Module
PostPosted: Wed Jul 21, 2010 6:44 pm 
Offline
The Master of All Things Musical
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 8:57 pm
Posts: 4025
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Only the Windows version has General MIDI support. It doesn't exist in the DOS versions (disk, EGA, CD).

_________________
01010100 01101000 01100101 00100000 01100011 01100001 01101011 01100101 00100000 01101001 01110011 00100000 01100001 00100000 01101100 01101001 01100101 00101110


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 148 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group