It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 5:45 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 104 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Telltale to Reboot King's Quest
PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2011 1:09 pm 
Offline
Saurus Salesman
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2002 3:18 pm
Posts: 3880
Location: South Africa (Bloemfontein)
Hey. A number of 2D animated TV series are more popular than their 3D counterparts.
To me, 3D needs to be VERY detailed to give life to characters, otherwise they don't even compare with weak 2D show/game.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Telltale to Reboot King's Quest
PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2011 2:12 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2010 12:18 am
Posts: 37
Location: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Anonymous Game Creator 2 wrote:
Telltale's KQ announcement is more likely about them simply wanting to announce to the world that they have the licensing rights at this stage. I'm sure their title will sell well, even if it's not true to the KQ series, because let's face it, even customers who claim that TellTale games are mediocre continue to buy their stuff in hopes that they'll improve. Personally I could only wish for such lenient and forgiving customers! Remember, once you've forked over money, you've supported a game's design decisions, even if you're doing so just to "check it out" or "because it's cheap". In my opinion, that can easily give a faulty indication to developers that they've taken a franchise in the right direction, when, in fact they may not have. Good sales and a good game aren't always mutually exclusive.


Very true, I admit I'll be purchasing it out of curiosity rather than support. I hope to be pleasantly surprised.

Anonymous Game Creator 2 wrote:
I don't want to go into any specifics, but for the first time in over 10 years there is a very real chance of seeing true Sierra games made the way they were intended to be made by the kind of people who know how to make them. The prospect of TellTale monopolizing the entire Sierra IP range is not an ideal one. So if you are a Sierra fan, and you would like to see *proper* Quest games made that will do justice to those series', please let Activision know. Please do not slander Telltale, though. They have the KQ rights now and they will make their game regardless. As Sierra fans, you should simply let Activision know your true thoughts on the direction you think these classic adventure games should take in the future so the feedback aids them in making the right choices.


I'll be sure to do that, its been proven that if enough people get behind things then Activision/Vivendi will listen. TSL is a true testament to that. Here's hoping that AGDI becomes an official studio for official Sierra IP.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Telltale to Reboot King's Quest
PostPosted: Thu Feb 24, 2011 12:37 am 
Offline
Peasant Status
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 12:52 am
Posts: 12
Location: USA
I want to say that I really enjoy AGDI's work, and would have loved to see AGDI develop a true King's Quest sequel, or a new installment of any of the old Sierra series'. That being said, I also really enjoy most of Telltale's work, and I personally feel that Tales of Monkey Island stands right up there with the first three Monkey Island games.

I do not believe that the episodic format is inherently incapable conveying an epic feel in a game. In the case of TMI, it worked well since the other games in the series were already split into 'parts', but I feel the games should be taken as a whole, rather than as individual episodes. I also do not feel that a Quest game must be in 2D in order to capture the feel or spirit of the old games. Even Sierra went through remarkable changes in their art and animation styles through out their existence. Graphically, King's Quest 5 bears no resemblance to King's Quest 1 EGA, although I still love both the point and click interface and the text parser.

While I would have been very happy with the idea of AGDI or Infamous Adventures developing an original title, I feel that Telltale is fully capable of creating a King's Quest game that is true to the style and spirit of the rest of the series. Just because they have not made this kind of game before, does not mean they are incapable, nor does it mean that they have no intention of deviating from their established style. Obviously certain games with certain characters and stories will call for different approaches. Perhaps they chose a Lucasarts style gameplay for Tales and Sam & Max simply because they felt those series called for it, or a more casual puzzle game in the form of Puzzle Agent. Maybe they will look toward the old Sierra model for the new King's Quest. Then again, maybe they won't. I don't think we can really assume anything about how they will approach this until we get more information at E3.

_________________
"That was, without a doubt, one of the finest examples of bunny snatching I've ever seen!"
- Narrator, Space Quest IV: Roger Wilco and the Time Rippers.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Telltale to Reboot King's Quest
PostPosted: Thu Feb 24, 2011 9:45 am 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2006 2:25 pm
Posts: 6
I dont know, you really cant reboot Kings Quest after all this time if your just going take the easy route and do the typical ugly cg polygon look. KQ has a history of pushing lavish high art graphics that help it feel like a fable. Would be the disappointment of the year if its just going look like all their other typical games.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Telltale to Reboot King's Quest
PostPosted: Fri Feb 25, 2011 1:36 am 
Offline
Peasant Status
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 19, 2010 12:18 am
Posts: 37
Location: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
I do have to admit that after I saw the how rich the world and graphics are in the new Jurassic Park game that they may be able to pull off a rich, full, lush graphical situation. J.P. impressed me graphically. It didn't resemble anything TTG had done before. So in that department I am at a little bit of ease. Its the story and playability and episodic thing that worries me.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Telltale to Reboot King's Quest
PostPosted: Fri Mar 04, 2011 2:53 am 
Offline
Knight Status

Joined: Sat May 01, 2004 4:17 pm
Posts: 193
I'll be worried if they take a King's Quest game and turn it into Lucasarts type game. As for that quote that telltale guy said I as much I hated dying in the desert and mordack's castle in kq5, but that was part of the challenge. Heck even Maniac Mansion, Full throttle and indiana Jones had it where you could die so that formula couldn't be all wrong. I liked telltale's versions of Sam and Max and Tales of Monkey Island very much. I'm grateful to them contributing adventure game community but I am skeptical about this one.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Telltale to Reboot King's Quest
PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2011 6:24 pm 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 11:54 pm
Posts: 405
Location: Illinois, USA
I would say that deaths in a game like Full Throttle (where you instantly restart from exactly where you left off) don't count.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Telltale to Reboot King's Quest
PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2011 6:41 pm 
Offline
Trusty Riding Saurus
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 10:02 pm
Posts: 1100
There are deaths in Monkey Island, too.

_________________
The moat monsters appreciate your good taste.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Telltale to Reboot King's Quest
PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2011 6:46 pm 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 11:54 pm
Posts: 405
Location: Illinois, USA
DrJones wrote:
There are deaths in Monkey Island, too.


No. There aren't. A single easter egg does not count as "deaths."


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Telltale to Reboot King's Quest
PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2011 7:23 pm 
Offline
Trusty Riding Saurus
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 10:02 pm
Posts: 1100
How about two easter eggs, then? :p

_________________
The moat monsters appreciate your good taste.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Telltale to Reboot King's Quest
PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2011 8:08 pm 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 11:54 pm
Posts: 405
Location: Illinois, USA
DrJones wrote:
How about two easter eggs, then? :p


Bah humbug! ;)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Telltale to Reboot King's Quest
PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2011 10:48 pm 
Offline
The Master of All Things Musical
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 8:57 pm
Posts: 4025
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Ok, the one easter egg Lamb is talking about you don't even really die. What's the other one?

_________________
01010100 01101000 01100101 00100000 01100011 01100001 01101011 01100101 00100000 01101001 01110011 00100000 01100001 00100000 01101100 01101001 01100101 00101110


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Telltale to Reboot King's Quest
PostPosted: Sat Mar 05, 2011 11:14 pm 
Offline
Royal Servant Status
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 12:51 pm
Posts: 68
MusicallyInspired wrote:
Ok, the one easter egg Lamb is talking about you don't even really die. What's the other one?


Drowning, I'd assume.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Telltale to Reboot King's Quest
PostPosted: Sun Mar 06, 2011 12:22 am 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 11:54 pm
Posts: 405
Location: Illinois, USA
I was talking about drowning in the first game. I'm not really sure what the second easter egg he's talking about is. Since, yeah, you don't die from the rubber tree thing, and you can't drown in MI2.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Telltale to Reboot King's Quest
PostPosted: Sun Mar 06, 2011 12:37 am 
Offline
Royal Servant Status
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 22, 2005 4:01 pm
Posts: 124
Location: Florida
Lambonius wrote:
I was talking about drowning in the first game. I'm not really sure what the second easter egg he's talking about is. Since, yeah, you don't die from the rubber tree thing, and you can't drown in MI2.

There is a "death" in MI2 when you wait ten minutes while Guybrush is hanging over the acid pit in LeChuck's fortress. It immediately cuts back to the opening frame-story scene of Guybrush narrating his adventures to Elaine, and she complains that he couldn't really have died or else he wouldn't be telling the story to her! After which the puzzle resets.

Drowning in MI1 is technically a death, as if you're foolhardy enough not to have saved the game you will be screwed. But it's a single exceptional instance and thus really shouldn't count.

_________________
Visit my site about LucasArts and Sierra adventures


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Telltale to Reboot King's Quest
PostPosted: Sun Mar 06, 2011 5:19 pm 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 11:54 pm
Posts: 405
Location: Illinois, USA
ATMachine wrote:
There is a "death" in MI2 when you wait ten minutes while Guybrush is hanging over the acid pit in LeChuck's fortress. It immediately cuts back to the opening frame-story scene of Guybrush narrating his adventures to Elaine, and she complains that he couldn't really have died or else he wouldn't be telling the story to her! After which the puzzle resets.


Oh yeah! I forgot about that. Haha...I remember that happening to me when I was a kid playing through that part of the game for the first time. But still, anything that automatically resets the game right to the point you left off can't really be called a "death."


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Telltale to Reboot King's Quest
PostPosted: Sun Mar 06, 2011 11:55 pm 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 13, 2005 11:54 pm
Posts: 405
Location: Illinois, USA
Check out my poll over at Telltale and respond if you like! I'm really interested in getting a good discussion going, and I'm curious what people's thoughts are on this issue. It seems to me that there are two different "camps" of King's Quest fans. To which do you belong?

http://www.telltalegames.com/forums/sho ... hp?t=23277


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Telltale to Reboot King's Quest
PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2011 1:59 am 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2006 9:54 pm
Posts: 351
You "die" in MI3. :p


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Telltale to Reboot King's Quest
PostPosted: Tue Mar 08, 2011 3:47 am 
Offline
Royal Vizier Status
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2004 6:20 am
Posts: 2047
Location: Somewhere in Ohio...
gamecreator wrote:
You "die" in MI3. :p

At least twice! Madame Xima even warns you five times! :rollin

_________________
There is balance in all things. Live in symmetry with the world around you. If you must blow things up and steal from those around you, THAT'S WHAT RPGS ARE FOR!

Official Member of the VGL Street Team
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Telltale to Reboot King's Quest
PostPosted: Thu Mar 10, 2011 4:33 am 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2007 6:56 pm
Posts: 13
I remember that in Fate of Atlantis, it's actually quite difficult to die, unless of course you're playing the action-oriented Fists path. Obviously in any other situation you'd have to be pretty boneheaded to die; the game gives you loads of warning if you're about to walk into a particularly deadly situation. Still, you can definitely die in that game and in Last Crusade.

I definitely recall dying well over a dozen times while playing through Gabriel Knight: Sins Of The Fathers, though. How was I supposed to know that I needed a snake tattoo?

_________________
Success and secrecy go hand-in-hand.
Tell everyone about your next big invention, and within two weeks, you will lose interest.
QFG Games Full-Scored: QFG4 on Paladin Rank

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Telltale to Reboot King's Quest
PostPosted: Tue Mar 15, 2011 12:21 am 
Offline
Infamous Sheik of Australia
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2003 3:43 pm
Posts: 1722
Location: Rockhampton Australia
http://www.adventuregamers.com/article/id,1286

Check it out. An article about Telltale's plans for KQ.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Telltale to Reboot King's Quest
PostPosted: Thu Mar 17, 2011 9:43 pm 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2006 9:54 pm
Posts: 351
I'm sure people will appreciate the tip of the hat to AGDI and Phoenix. Too bad he couldn't talk in detail.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Telltale to Reboot King's Quest
PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2011 1:19 am 
Offline
The Prince of Shapeir

Joined: Tue May 08, 2001 4:12 am
Posts: 8872
Location: Phobos
Nowhere in that article did Dave Grossman specifically acknowledge AGDI. Just POS, and in a way that attempts to come off less tense-sounding than is likely the case, I'll wager, given that POS had tried to get TellTale interested in picking up TSL.

Also, he pretty much gave a blunt admission of what I'd suspected all along; that he thinks it's a good idea to hikack the wave of "fan-made" hype, commercially, on the backs of those who put years of effort and sweat into building the audience up for free. He seems awfully confident that TellTale can pull this off. Though, judging from a lot of fan feedback on their forums, I wonder if TellTale were anticipating such a mixed reaction, and if they secretly question whether they've bitten off more than they can chew. They're going to be held to an extremely high standard, and if that standard falls below the free "fan games" they've overstepped, it's going to look mighty embarrassing for them.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Telltale to Reboot King's Quest
PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2011 1:58 am 
Offline
Royal Servant Status
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 12:51 pm
Posts: 68
Anonymous Game Creator 2 wrote:
Though, judging from a lot of fan feedback on their forums, I wonder if TellTale were anticipating such a mixed reaction, and if they secretly question whether they've bitten off more than they can chew.


Speaking of which, you once mentioned that something good could come out of Telltale getting the license. I wouldn't dare asking for details, but is that still the case? Is something happening behind the scenes?

I believed you when you said there will be no voice-pack for KQ2. Then I trusted you when you said there will be no more AGDI remakes after QfG2. Fool me once, shame on you... Fool me twice, and even though I wish I could help it, I find it hard to imagine a future without your interpretation of KQ4 ;)

And by the way - does your current agreement with Activision allow for perpetual updates to your games? If so, does that mean you could legally make KQ1+ or a 1:1 KQ2 in theory?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Telltale to Reboot King's Quest
PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2011 5:36 am 
Offline
The Prince of Shapeir

Joined: Tue May 08, 2001 4:12 am
Posts: 8872
Location: Phobos
While I'm also concerned about the type of King's Quest game TellTale will make, my primary annoyance is the lack of professional courtesy and respect they've shown. Over the past several years we've been through several similar situations that have really pushed us to the limit as a functioning company, where we've been screwed over after being requested to put forward game proposals for FEMA and the Department of Homeland Security (at our own financial expense) for an educational game they wanted made. That's probably to be expected when dealing with the government, but from a company like TellTale, whom we've personally had positive business dealings with in the past, I expected much, much more than this.

The only way TellTale's license could be beneficial for us, is if we're also granted some kind of agreement that will allow us to capitalize off of their KQ game, as much as Dave Grossman has admitted to mooching off of ours.

I'm not sure about the specifics of what we're allowed to do with the licenses we already had in place. That's what we'll need to discuss with Activision.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 104 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group