It is currently Thu Oct 19, 2017 5:36 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Installed King's Quest Compilation on Windows 7...
PostPosted: Mon Jun 27, 2011 6:22 pm 
Offline
Defense Minister Status
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2004 3:46 am
Posts: 661
Location: I don't think so!
...But the colors on KQ1-4 are distorted, KQ5 and KQ6 work just fine, and KQ7 doesn't work at all, I just get a message telling me that "This version of this file is not compatible with the version of Windows that you're running bla bla bla bla". T_T

I downloaded the 'latest version of DosBox' from this site here thinking that might help some how but it didn't really.

What haz I done did wrong nowz??? :rolleyes

_________________
*´¨)
¸.•´¸.•*´¨) ¸.•*¨)
(¸.•´ (¸.• MY EVIL TWIN POSTS FOR ME...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Installed King's Quest Compilation on Windows 7...
PostPosted: Mon Jun 27, 2011 7:37 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2001 6:01 am
Posts: 1715
Location: Bühlerzell, Germany
Try using the installer from The Sierra Help Pages. It should automate the process for you.

Also, this forum is for AGDI's games. I'll move this to off-topic for you.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Installed King's Quest Compilation on Windows 7...
PostPosted: Mon Jun 27, 2011 7:52 pm 
Offline
Defense Minister Status
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2004 3:46 am
Posts: 661
Location: I don't think so!
Okay went here and downloaded the 'King's Quest Collection DOSbox Update'. I got through almost everything until I came to the "Choose Install Location" part.

It's asking me to choose the folder in which I installed the King's Quest Collection (2006) and I've done that over and over and it keeps saying "The King's Quest Collection was not found in C:\Sierra\King's Quest Collection. Please select the folder where the collection is installed."

T_T WTF!? ARRRGHH!!! *throws self at walls in abject frustration* This thing is basically telling me to 'Go fvck myself wtih a stick with a cheesegrater on the end'. :x

_________________
*´¨)
¸.•´¸.•*´¨) ¸.•*¨)
(¸.•´ (¸.• MY EVIL TWIN POSTS FOR ME...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Installed King's Quest Compilation on Windows 7...
PostPosted: Mon Jun 27, 2011 9:40 pm 
Offline
The Master of All Things Musical
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 8:57 pm
Posts: 4025
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Try asking on The Sierra Help Pages forum.

_________________
01010100 01101000 01100101 00100000 01100011 01100001 01101011 01100101 00100000 01101001 01110011 00100000 01100001 00100000 01101100 01101001 01100101 00101110


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Installed King's Quest Compilation on Windows 7...
PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2011 12:31 am 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2003 1:16 pm
Posts: 34
It does help if you ask the source. If this is the 2006 collection the default install location is in the Program Files folder. On Vista and Windows 7 it is best to not install legacy games in a system folder. These have restrictive permissions fro security purposes. For backwards compatibility Vista/Win7 will redirect file writes to the Virtual Store, but it does not permit certain file types to be written to it. It does not allow .DRV files, which is why LSL5 can fail on Vista/Win7 if UAC is on.

Try installing the collection to
Code:
C:\Sierra\King's Quest Collection
and then try my patch.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Installed King's Quest Compilation on Windows 7...
PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2011 12:29 pm 
Offline
Defense Minister Status
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2004 3:46 am
Posts: 661
Location: I don't think so!
Well I already registered on the Sierra Help Forum and I'm STILL waiting on my email to activate my account, been several hours now and still nothing. |I

Anyways I will do what you suggested, thank you. :)

_________________
*´¨)
¸.•´¸.•*´¨) ¸.•*¨)
(¸.•´ (¸.• MY EVIL TWIN POSTS FOR ME...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Installed King's Quest Compilation on Windows 7...
PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2011 5:19 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2003 1:16 pm
Posts: 34
Perhaps you didn't enter the right email address. What user name did you use to register?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Installed King's Quest Compilation on Windows 7...
PostPosted: Tue Jun 28, 2011 6:12 pm 
Offline
Defense Minister Status
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2004 3:46 am
Posts: 661
Location: I don't think so!
I used 'FatherGhostface' and I checked my email and it was a valid email address so I'm not sure what the problem was. :\

_________________
*´¨)
¸.•´¸.•*´¨) ¸.•*¨)
(¸.•´ (¸.• MY EVIL TWIN POSTS FOR ME...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Installed King's Quest Compilation on Windows 7...
PostPosted: Wed Jun 29, 2011 1:42 am 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Thu Jul 03, 2003 1:16 pm
Posts: 34
I PMed you the email that you registered with to double check. Did you check your spam folder?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group