It is currently Thu Jul 27, 2017 6:42 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 72 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: New AGDI site goes live & King's Quest I Re-released!
PostPosted: Sat Jan 31, 2009 10:09 pm 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 12:11 pm
Posts: 213
I think there is one for AGDi.

_________________
Not-yet-official KQ1/KQ2+ WineHQ maintainer. (still needs approval)
Not-yet-official KQ3VGA maintainer (still needs approval)
OFFICIAL TSL WineHQ maintainer (approved and loved)
*Wants to port kq1-3 to linux*


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New AGDI site goes live & King's Quest I Re-released!
PostPosted: Sun Feb 01, 2009 9:01 am 
Offline
Slacker of Shapeir
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2004 9:11 am
Posts: 2416
Location: Canada
we should write one for Sierra/Lucas Fangames in general though so we can remember the history.

_________________
Calik Status: Hero of Speilburg Has become the Prince of Shapier and a Hero among Tarnans, after freeing the Mordavians from eternal fear he was zapped to the land of Silmaria where an import bug has him trapped between worlds.
4/5


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New AGDI site goes live & King's Quest I Re-released!
PostPosted: Sun Feb 01, 2009 2:34 pm 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 12:11 pm
Posts: 213
yeah, if someone starts one, i can help, but I don't have the time to start one.

_________________
Not-yet-official KQ1/KQ2+ WineHQ maintainer. (still needs approval)
Not-yet-official KQ3VGA maintainer (still needs approval)
OFFICIAL TSL WineHQ maintainer (approved and loved)
*Wants to port kq1-3 to linux*


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New AGDI site goes live & King's Quest I Re-released!
PostPosted: Thu Feb 05, 2009 10:43 pm 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2005 7:21 am
Posts: 282
Location: Mexico
1234567890 wrote:
I think there is one for AGDi.


Yep, one for AGDI, and one for IA.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/AGD_Interactive

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Infamous_Adventures

And I remember there was a list of all games that were remade at some point, in this very forum. That would be a good start for creating a Wikipedia entry.

And BTW, congrats for the new site and the first re-release, both look amazing!

_________________
Signature? No thank you.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New AGDI site goes live & King's Quest I Re-released!
PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2009 5:06 am 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 11:14 pm
Posts: 250
Excellent website, love it and the work is much appreciated! how long did it take Eriq?

_________________
Visit the Hero's Tale Inn!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New AGDI site goes live & King's Quest I Re-released!
PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2009 3:14 pm 
Offline
PR Director & Artist
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 8:00 am
Posts: 809
Well hello there! And thank you!

Honestly, I'm not sure how long it took. Maybe 2 - 3 weeks? I lost track with this one. Though I will say it was no where near as stressful as the Quest for Glory II project! ;)

_________________
eriqchangstudio.com
Facebook Connect


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New AGDI site goes live & King's Quest I Re-released!
PostPosted: Sat Feb 21, 2009 7:35 am 
Offline
Peasant Status
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 29, 2008 4:38 am
Posts: 3
Location: Houston TX.
Thank you guys for improving an already great game. Keep up the good work. :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New AGDI site goes live & King's Quest I Re-released!
PostPosted: Tue Mar 24, 2009 9:19 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 7:49 pm
Posts: 6
Can someone help me please I am stuck on the condor i have been at it for 20 min trying to grab him and i just cant!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New AGDI site goes live & King's Quest I Re-released!
PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2009 12:34 am 
Offline
The Master of All Things Musical
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 8:57 pm
Posts: 4025
Location: Manitoba, Canada
There have already been numerous threads about this. You should do a forum search before posting to make sure your question hasn't already been answered.

_________________
01010100 01101000 01100101 00100000 01100011 01100001 01101011 01100101 00100000 01101001 01110011 00100000 01100001 00100000 01101100 01101001 01100101 00101110


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New AGDI site goes live & King's Quest I Re-released!
PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2009 7:45 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Mon Mar 23, 2009 7:49 pm
Posts: 6
I'm sorry, i'm new to using a forum, i didn't know you could do that but i will remeber that for the future. thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New AGDI site goes live & King's Quest I Re-released!
PostPosted: Wed Mar 25, 2009 8:18 pm 
Offline
Trusty Riding Saurus
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 10:02 pm
Posts: 1100
Make sure you look at the condor thread for King's Quest I v4.0, because the solution to the puzzle changed and most old threads are about King's Quest I v3.0. Just do a search and choose the one started by me. ;)

_________________
The moat monsters appreciate your good taste.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New AGDI site goes live & King's Quest I Re-released!
PostPosted: Thu Apr 02, 2009 11:06 am 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2009 10:56 am
Posts: 1
I ADORED the original remakes. Being a KQ fangirl for years, I held special love for the people who went out of their way to upgrade the older versions.. (Which, actually, I still play.. you know, when I should be working..)

Then I wander by just to see if anything new and exciting is happening.. Well, it IS! Re-remakes?! AWESOME!

Unfortunately, I can't seem to get to the games themselves.. I click on 'games' and I see the little taunting artwork boxes and the signs saying 'Go to website' but my mouse doesn't register them as links and none of them work.

I discovered that the trick was to clear the cookies, reload the page and then strike with ninja swiftness... (Before the links revert to inoperativeness once more) :eek

I just thought I'd mention it, in case it's a design quirk or bug and not my browser being stupid.

I'm voting on the latter..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New AGDI site goes live & King's Quest I Re-released!
PostPosted: Thu Apr 02, 2009 11:56 am 
Offline
Forum Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2001 8:28 pm
Posts: 11434
Location: The Netherlands
Maybe your browser's a fairly old version.

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: New AGDI site goes live & King's Quest I Re-released!
PostPosted: Thu Apr 02, 2009 1:10 pm 
Offline
Saurus Salesman
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2002 3:18 pm
Posts: 3880
Location: South Africa (Bloemfontein)
Yeah... the latter definitely. Unfortunately it is almost impossible nowadays to create websites that are viewable, as they should be, in the newer browsers as well as the old.

I'd suggest downloading the Firefox browser.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: King's Quest I Remake v4.1 released (Now with Mac goodness)
PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2010 4:09 am 
Offline
The Prince of Shapeir

Joined: Tue May 08, 2001 4:12 am
Posts: 8871
Location: Phobos
King's Quest I: Quest for the Crown (Version 4.1) has been released for both PC and Mac. Thanks for Les Wavrychuk for assisting with the Mac version!

You can get the latest builds from the King's Quest 1 page on the AGDI website.

Important: Remember to uninstall any previous versions of King's Quest I: Quest for the Crown from your system prior to installing version 4.1. Since we have changed installer software, v4.1 shouldn't be installed over an existing installation, as this has the potential to leave ghost files behind when you later uninstall. Also, note that save game files aren't compatible between different game versions.

CHANGES TO VERSION 4.1
----------------------
WARNING: GAME SPOILERS AHEAD

- Fixed: a bug that caused the invisibility ring's expiration message to appear during the end credits
- Fixed: the Magic Chest sometimes disappearing behind trees when killing the giant with the slingshot
- Fixed: a bug where Graham could eat the mushroom while invisible, despite being unable to find his mouth
- Fixed: graphics filters in the winsetup.exe program crashing the game
- Fixed: a crash when loading save-game files by double-clicking on them and then clicking restart
- Fixed: a bug where opening and closing the Restore GUI on the title screen caused the icon bar to appear
- Changed: the appearance of Graham's hair in the dialog portrait without his adventurer's hat
- Fixed: a bug where CTRL+Q and TAB could cause glitches after the Sorcerer freezes Graham.
- Changed: the way the dragon behaves when the protection spell expires within close proximity to it
- Changed: the 'drowning' death GUI picture to one of Graham kneeling when eating the mushroom too early
- Changed: the appearance of the hole in the base of the slingshot tree, making it more visible
- Changed: save-games to be saved in the game directory again, rather than in My Documents/My Saved Games
- Changed: the game's installer to use Inno Setup for better compression and performance
- Added: an Apple Mac port of the game
- Added: a checkbox to the installer asking whether the user wants to create a game desktop icon or not


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: King's Quest I Remake v4.1 released (Now with Mac goodness)
PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2010 4:39 pm 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2005 7:21 am
Posts: 282
Location: Mexico
As a Mac user, I have to say this is a fantastic surprise! AGDI never ceases to amaze me :D
Thank you very much, this is greatly appreciated!

_________________
Signature? No thank you.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: King's Quest I Remake v4.1 released (Now with Mac goodness)
PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2010 4:55 pm 
Offline
Slacker of Shapeir
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2004 9:11 am
Posts: 2416
Location: Canada
Thanks for hosting these, no longer dualbooting is fantastic and the games work great under the Mac OS. I'd love to see if the downloads increase drastically this month to see if mac gamers have the same interests.

also did you put in that beanstalk fix that became the bane of my existence?

_________________
Calik Status: Hero of Speilburg Has become the Prince of Shapier and a Hero among Tarnans, after freeing the Mordavians from eternal fear he was zapped to the land of Silmaria where an import bug has him trapped between worlds.
4/5


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: King's Quest I Remake v4.1 released (Now with Mac goodness)
PostPosted: Mon Sep 13, 2010 5:33 pm 
Offline
The Prince of Shapeir

Joined: Tue May 08, 2001 4:12 am
Posts: 8871
Location: Phobos
Oh, yes, and thanks must go to the Mac beta testers who played through this too, including Quest For Glory Fan!

Yes, the beanstalk bug should be resolved now. I tested it a couple of times after implementing the fix, so fingers crossed that it'll stay that way this time.

24 King's Quest 1 downloads so far, and 21 King's Quest 2 downloads. Go, Mac, go!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: King's Quest I Remake v4.1 released (Now with Mac goodness)
PostPosted: Thu Oct 14, 2010 5:57 am 
Offline
Royal Servant Status

Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 5:38 am
Posts: 115
I mentioned this in another thread but I am SO FREAKING EXCITED!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: King's Quest I Remake v4.1 released (Now with Mac goodness)
PostPosted: Thu Nov 18, 2010 3:51 am 
Offline
The Prince of Shapeir

Joined: Tue May 08, 2001 4:12 am
Posts: 8871
Location: Phobos
A patch has been made available for the King's Quest 1 remake, which updates it from version 4.1 to 4.1b.

Unfortunately, this patch is available for the Windows version only (no Mac patch).

More information and a download link are posted in the following thread:

viewtopic.php?f=2&t=14811&p=219505#p219505


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: King's Quest I Remake v4.1 released (Now with Mac goodness)
PostPosted: Tue Feb 01, 2011 2:36 am 
Offline
Royal Servant Status

Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 2:04 am
Posts: 61
Here's another big "thank you" from a very appreciative Mac user.

THANK YOU.

You know what, you deserve another.

THANK YOU (AGAIN).

I was ready to fire up VMWare to try out AGDI's remake of KQ1, and was very, very (happily) surprised that all of the games now have Mac versions. Oh, happy day. One less reason for me to need to fire up Windows (I played the QFG2 remake under VMWare/WinXP).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: King's Quest I Remake v4.1 released (Now with Mac goodne
PostPosted: Tue May 24, 2011 6:41 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 6:34 pm
Posts: 11
You may be tired already, guys, but it has to go: thank you very much keeping up the pace. I've played the KQ1 4.1, and the colors are much deeper, making it 'like real'. It's amazing. Again thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 72 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group