It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 10:50 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Download Glitch?
PostPosted: Thu Sep 09, 2010 4:14 pm 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2005 1:02 pm
Posts: 162
Location: Mass, US
Hey all, been a very long time as work is a bit distracting and a bit more demanding. Yesterday I went to download the updated versions of King's Quest I & II. I left my room during the download to return and notice that after KQIvga had finished, it was only around 55 megs & was actually labeled Kqvga41.exe. Whereas the download page states that the current version is 4.0, so I wasn't sure what happened. I re-downloaded it and it appears to be the correct version. I alos have a screenshot of the download list:


http://a.imageshack.us/img842/1760/kq1vga.jpg

Dunno if it has happened to anyone else, but thought I'd let you know all the same.

Cheers

_________________
Image
navynuke04 wrote:
First you want me to sue you, then you want me to give you a break... perhaps I should just sue you 'til you're broke.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Download Glitch?
PostPosted: Thu Sep 09, 2010 4:55 pm 
Offline
Forum Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2001 8:28 pm
Posts: 11434
Location: The Netherlands
AGD2 recently uploaded a version of KQ1VGA that was compiled with a more recent version of the AGS engine that would be more compatible with newer OSses. The difference in file size is interesting. Does the game run? My guess is that AGD2 didn't include the voice pack with the version that was sent to the testers to save upload time/space and when putting it on the main site, forgot it wasn't included.

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Download Glitch?
PostPosted: Thu Sep 09, 2010 5:11 pm 
Offline
The Prince of Shapeir

Joined: Tue May 08, 2001 4:12 am
Posts: 8872
Location: Phobos
A small handful of servers have version 4.1 on them, and others still only have version 4.0. We're currently in the process of uploading them to all the other servers, which is why we haven't made an official announcement yet.

You probably downloaded a file that was still in the process of uploading to the server at the time. Your best bet would probably be to wait until we make the official announcement and then try again. It should only be a few days away at most.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Download Glitch?
PostPosted: Thu Sep 09, 2010 6:11 pm 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2005 1:02 pm
Posts: 162
Location: Mass, US
Unfortunately Erpy, it is an incomplete download as it states:


The setup files are corrupted. Please obtain a new copy of the program.

_________________
Image
navynuke04 wrote:
First you want me to sue you, then you want me to give you a break... perhaps I should just sue you 'til you're broke.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Download Glitch?
PostPosted: Thu Sep 09, 2010 6:21 pm 
Offline
Forum Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2001 8:28 pm
Posts: 11434
Location: The Netherlands
I stand corrected.

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group