It is currently Tue Dec 12, 2017 6:20 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: translation problems
PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2001 6:11 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2001 6:11 pm
Posts: 3
Hi, i noticed some people started to make translations for kq1vga in languages like russian language , as far as i know the russan language does not consist of latin letters , and the game engine AGS only supports latin charcters .<br><br>the same thing will happen to other lanuages , what is tierra team thinking of this problem ? <p></p><i></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: translation problems
PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2001 8:41 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2001 11:33 pm
Posts: 30
As it stands, the translations for KQ1VGA are being done by volunteers. I'm not sure on the logistics of it, but I imagine AGS could be modified to support non-latin character languages.<br><br>The way I understand it (and don't take this as gospel, as it may very well change), it looks like we (Tierra) will be taking these fan-made translations and making "language paks" that can be put into the KQ1VGA directory and AGS will load that up instead of the default English language. <br><br>This same problem occurs when localizing a game into an asian language (such as Chinese, Korean, or Japanese) and it's done, so don't be alarmed. =)<br><br>Neocron<br>Online Community Director<br>Tierra Entertainment <p></p><i></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: re:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 28, 2001 8:50 am 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2001 6:11 pm
Posts: 3
are you sure that you can modify AGS yo handle non=latin letters ?<br><br>i have been asking this question for a year in AGS forum and the answer came by Chris himself : NO , it cannot be modifyed .<br><br>so if you found a work around for this . please tell me how . <p></p><i></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: re:
PostPosted: Sun Oct 28, 2001 3:05 pm 
Offline
The Prince of Shapeir

Joined: Tue May 08, 2001 4:12 am
Posts: 8872
Location: Phobos
No, not at the moment. Right now, you can only create your own font and import it into AGS, but this is tricky, because there's only a certain amount of letter blocks that can be used.. meaning that some symbols, such as !, @, * ...etc, would need to be replaced with the new letters.<br><br>What has been suggested, is that AGS will eventually support TTF (true type fonts). And with this feature implemented, we'd be saved the hassle of having to make new a new font set for each different language. This way, we could also send the entire game scripts to other people, and they could translate the actual game, and then send the scripts back to us for re-insertion into the game. This would also prevent us from making mistakes in languages that we aren't fluent in. <p></p><i></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: re:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 29, 2001 2:17 am 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2001 11:33 pm
Posts: 30
well - if you heard it from the AGS programmer, then that's the gospel. It's all a matter of programming (and a programmer I most definitely am not). =)<br><br>Neocron<br>Online Community Director<br>Tierra Entertainment <p></p><i></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group