It is currently Sun Oct 22, 2017 9:10 pm

All times are UTC




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 196 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 8  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Import?
PostPosted: Thu Nov 13, 2003 8:04 am 
Offline
Royal Servant Status

Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2003 8:15 pm
Posts: 109
Here's what's unplayable about the original:<br><br>1. No Sound in XP. No sound? No sound. XP is prevelant so why not update it.<br><br>2. Colors are garish and the crosshatched graphics are annoying. If this game was 256-colors, it would look a lot better but it's like the first SCI0 game, so only 16 colors to work with which is the same as KQ2 only... if CB was 320x160 you would probably agree with me? <br><br>3. the typing is annoying. I have a particular audience here that has played KQ1 remake, KQ2 remake, Dracula Res., The Time Machine, Gabriel Knight series and Point-N-Click is mouse fun. Typing requires you to guess a lot more about 'what does the programmer use for the word' liftup or lift up. "I don't understand what 'liftup' means". Spelling problems in a game are distracting unless the game is scrabble.<br><br>This typing is getting annoying. Just kidding. The remake is for a particular audience: newbie adventurer on XP who wants to play a murder-mystery adventure game. With Sound.<br><br><!--EZCODE IMAGE START--><img src="http://www.rev6.com/car3.png" style="border:0;"/><!--EZCODE IMAGE END--> <p></p><i></i>


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Import?
PostPosted: Thu Nov 13, 2003 11:40 am 
Offline
Forum Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2001 8:28 pm
Posts: 11434
Location: The Netherlands
<!--EZCODE QUOTE START--><blockquote><strong><em>Quote:</em></strong><hr>1. No Sound in XP. No sound? No sound. XP is prevelant so why not update it.<br><br>2. Colors are garish and the crosshatched graphics are annoying. If this game was 256-colors, it would look a lot better but it's like the first SCI0 game, so only 16 colors to work with which is the same as KQ2 only... if CB was 320x160 you would probably agree with me?<hr></blockquote><!--EZCODE QUOTE END--><br><br>Problem 1 can probably be cured by simply downloading and using VDM-sound.<br><br>And you really can't compare CB's graphics to KQ2's. The graphics are quite well-done for a 16-color game. If the dithering annoys you, try using <!--EZCODE LINK START--><a href="http://freesci.linuxgames.com/games.html">this</a><!--EZCODE LINK END--> utility to remove the dithering and create the illusion of smoother graphics.<br><br><!--EZCODE IMAGE START--><img src="http://httpd.chello.nl/c.vanempel/Nashnorm.jpg"/><!--EZCODE IMAGE END--> <p></p><i></i>


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Import?
PostPosted: Fri Nov 14, 2003 10:36 am 
Offline
Royal Servant Status

Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2003 8:15 pm
Posts: 109
Does VDM do Roland Mt-32? <br><br>The graphics are well done for 16-colors... as good as they get. I just don't want to make it and then Sierra tells me I can't let anyone play it. <br><br>That would be lame. I'm not concerned about it, because I have my own private audience. Get ready for screenshots!!!<br><br><!--EZCODE IMAGE START--><img src="http://www.rev6.com/car3.png" style="border:0;"/><!--EZCODE IMAGE END--> <p></p><i>Edited by: <A HREF=http://pub57.ezboard.com/broyalquestforums.showUserPublicProfile?gid=jodokast@royalquestforums>Jodo Kast</A> at: 11/14/03 5:50 am<br></i>


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Import?
PostPosted: Fri Nov 14, 2003 8:09 pm 
Offline
Knight Status

Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2002 2:37 pm
Posts: 234
the good thing with SCI0 is that one does not have to create sketches from scratch and scan, and then paint. They are so well detailed (especially in CB and QFG SCI) that it is possible to use the original outlines and just paint over them for most of the cases. They need more colors, some filters.<br>And the characters are well designed for this resolution.Only a final touch up with more colors would be needed for a maniac-about-the-good-result designer.<br>Do your (dirty) job without hesitating (sierra chase) <!--EZCODE EMOTICON START :) --><img src=http://www.ezboard.com/intl/aenglish/images/emoticons/smile.gif ALT=":)"><!--EZCODE EMOTICON END--> <br>Tierra did not have problems with sierra.Because Tierra helped sierra's fame in a way.<br>we are waiting for a screenshot <!--EZCODE EMOTICON START :D --><img src=http://www.ezboard.com/intl/aenglish/images/emoticons/happy.gif ALT=":D"><!--EZCODE EMOTICON END--> <br>Use a tablet.you cannot imagine how mush it helps this thing.<br><br><br><br>PS : You can cooperate with cos777, another fan of remakes <br>I am sure that cos777 will get huge loads of enthusiasm when he learns about your project and your specs.Mail him.<br><br>see for details:<br> <!--EZCODE AUTOLINK START--><a href="http://www.agsforums.com/yabb/index.php?board=1;action=display;threadid=9592">www.agsforums.com/yabb/in...eadid=9592</a><!--EZCODE AUTOLINK END--><br><br><br>ok i was just kidding ...<br> <p></p><i>Edited by: <A HREF=http://pub57.ezboard.com/broyalquestforums.showUserPublicProfile?gid=adventurer76>adventurer76</A> at: 11/14/03 2:15 pm<br></i>


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Import?
PostPosted: Fri Nov 14, 2003 8:58 pm 
Offline
Knight Status

Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2003 6:05 pm
Posts: 364
Sierra is far too busy these days with Empire Earth to really care about profitless fanmade remakes. Seriously. <p>________________<br><br>"You're a good guy, Doc. You're sensative and caring and compassionate. And if I could, I'd spew in your face." Cliff Steele, Robotman, Doom Patrol vol. 3 issue 19</p><i></i>


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Import?
PostPosted: Sat Nov 15, 2003 6:19 am 
Offline
Royal Servant Status

Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2003 8:15 pm
Posts: 109
Someone has Roberta William's e-mail but I don't have it. Her responses so far are (or Ken Williams might have said the first one):<br><br>1. "Amazing" when someone asked about all the remake activity.<br><br>2. "This is a technology driven industry. Make sure you know your craft." - Roberta Williams<br><br>Only team members can see the work 'right now'... posts will be here tho 'when it's ready'. LOL No unauthorized chickens in here. We are still 'bakin' it. It's cookin.<br><br>For now, check out the inspiration page for exterior rooms at <br><!--EZCODE AUTOLINK START--><a href="http://www.rev6.com/CBR/cbrlaext">www.rev6.com/CBR/cbrlaext</a><!--EZCODE AUTOLINK END--> <!--EZCODE EMOTICON START :D --><img src=http://www.ezboard.com/intl/aenglish/images/emoticons/happy.gif ALT=":D"><!--EZCODE EMOTICON END--> The very last one is more accurate, but there are cool details in each of them.<br><br>BTW: The Outline think looks good but SCI Studio says I run out of memory before I see it all. I have 320MB of RAM with 220 free so not sure what's the deal. Still nailing down the art design right now... need an art director.<br><br><!--EZCODE IMAGE START--><img src="http://www.rev6.com/car3.png" style="border:0;"/><!--EZCODE IMAGE END--> <p></p><i></i>


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: ..
PostPosted: Sat Nov 15, 2003 2:55 pm 
Offline
Knight Status

Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2002 2:37 pm
Posts: 234
<br><br>I see that you chose to use the native resolution of the game (320x200), and you are going to increase the colors.<br><br>an idea that came to me maybe useful to you :<br>You could use FREESCI which improves the picture quality of SCI0 games by applying various filters, ditherings(by increasing colors to 256) and have these pictures as a guide.<br>Then you start image editing and enhancing these pictures, making your life easier.Freesci already converts strange colors to more realistic one with the dithering .You just have to add more colors and minor fixes.Overall the whole work is less than the work needed to be done on the original(without freesci) pictures.<br>what do you think? <p></p><i></i>


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: ..
PostPosted: Sun Nov 16, 2003 2:45 am 
Offline
Royal Servant Status

Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2003 8:15 pm
Posts: 109
No the game specs are still 640x400x256colors.<br><br>The original game was 320x200 (200% resize). The original had 16 colors that could be used together in any which way to give a nice palette of 16x16 or 256-pseudo colors.<br><br>Pseudo and non-pseudo colors add up to 256 (black/blue crosshatching effect gives you dark blue, red and grey gives you another color), so when I looked at FREESCI it showed the same stupid alternating color pixels.<br><br>If a color alternates, it should be replaced with a combination of the two colors, instead of showing red/yellow/red/yellow it just shows an orange line (freesci doesnt do that all the time... sometimes it does.)<br><br>I'm working on the characters right now. I'll need 32 colors for all the characters, so that leaves us with 48 colors out of the palette or 208 for the backgrounds.<br><br>Do these even look better?? If they don't we'll need to make em. If they look OK, let me know:<br><br><!--EZCODE IMAGE START--><img src="http://www.rev6.com/CBR/001-16color.gif" style="border:0;"/><!--EZCODE IMAGE END--><br>ORIGINAL 16-COLOR IMAGE <br>(blown up as you see it when you play)<br><br><!--EZCODE IMAGE START--><img src="http://www.rev6.com/CBR/003-256guassian2.5resizeandsharpen.gif" style="border:0;"/><!--EZCODE IMAGE END--><br>PROCESSED 256-COLOR IMAGE <br>(resized original to 3x the size so we can mess with the pixels. Then applied a blur so each 'combo' of colors gets dealt with and added with it's neighbors [2.5pixel Guassian blur]. Then resized it back down to 640x480. Then Sharpen the image. No contrast/brightness/gamma should be affected.)<br><br>Thanks for the feedback. No detail is lost... but anything like doors and stuff can be detailed manually. The colors are the same as the original (256). I'll see what I can do to make these look better:<br><br><!--EZCODE IMAGE START--><img src="http://www.rev6.com/CBR/003-256resizeblurandresizesharpen.gif" style="border:0;"/><!--EZCODE IMAGE END--><br><br>It looks like the original they might have scanned in and created the 16-color version! You know.. backwards!<br><br> <p></p><i>Edited by: <A HREF=http://pub57.ezboard.com/broyalquestforums.showUserPublicProfile?gid=jodokast@royalquestforums>Jodo Kast</A> at: 11/15/03 9:49 pm<br></i>


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: ..
PostPosted: Sun Nov 16, 2003 3:01 am 
Offline
Forum Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2001 8:28 pm
Posts: 11434
Location: The Netherlands
What I don't understand is why you insist of having 256 color mode instead of high color. Why limit yourself to the use of a palette? AGS can do high-color games just fine.<br><br><!--EZCODE IMAGE START--><img src="http://httpd.chello.nl/c.vanempel/Nashblue.jpg"/><!--EZCODE IMAGE END--> <p></p><i></i>


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: ..
PostPosted: Sun Nov 16, 2003 3:04 am 
Offline
Honorary AGD
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2002 1:19 am
Posts: 5362
Location: US of A
That shot is extremely blury. If I played a game where all scenes looked like that, I'm afraid I'd end up with a headache, similar to if you wore someone else's glasses.<br><br>I agree with Erpy. You shouldn't limit yourself to 256 colors when AGS can support hi color just fine. <p></p><i></i>


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: ..
PostPosted: Sun Nov 16, 2003 3:51 am 
Offline
Royal Servant Status

Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2003 8:15 pm
Posts: 109
The more feedback the better.. thank you! <!--EZCODE EMOTICON START :| --><img src=http://www.ezboard.com/intl/aenglish/images/emoticons/indifferent.gif ALT=":|"><!--EZCODE EMOTICON END--> <p></p><i></i>


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: ...
PostPosted: Sun Nov 16, 2003 7:03 am 
Offline
Knight Status

Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2002 2:37 pm
Posts: 234
applying some filters to original pictures is a lazy solution, with ahem . .mediocre results(loss of details of individual pixels because of blur effect) . . .i had a similar experience when i did this mistake in the past like you. Someone advised me to do pixel per pixel editing in the AGS forums.And guess what.MY pictures are better.<br><br>About the Freesci i have to disagree.Freesci reduces dramatically the pseudo colors, and puts ordinary colors.<br>Maybe you have to adjust your configuration file.What parameters did you put there?<br><br><br><br> <p></p><i></i>


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: ...
PostPosted: Sun Nov 16, 2003 12:04 pm 
Offline
Royal Servant Status

Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2003 8:15 pm
Posts: 109
I can see fixing up the architecture like this, but the foliage looks neat, imho.<br><br>UPDATED (time: 60 min)<br><!--EZCODE IMAGE START--><img src="http://www.rev6.com/CBR/003-256guassian2.6update.gif" style="border:0;"/><!--EZCODE IMAGE END--><br>(Refresh so you see the latest image.)<br><br>Ok that's it for backgrounds. The characters are much more original. The backgrounds will have to wait - ICQ me if you want to help.<br><br>Demo by Christmas... hurray!<br><br><!--EZCODE IMAGE START--><img src="http://www.rev6.com/car3.png" style="border:0;"/><!--EZCODE IMAGE END--> <p></p><i>Edited by: <A HREF=http://pub57.ezboard.com/broyalquestforums.showUserPublicProfile?gid=jodokast@royalquestforums>Jodo Kast</A> at: 11/16/03 6:56 pm<br></i>


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: ...
PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2003 2:37 am 
Offline
Lumberjack

Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2002 5:14 am
Posts: 1356
Umm, I hope I'm not being rude when I say that doesn't look much better. You'll have to do everything by hand. Sorry, but that's the only real way to make these look good. Here's a small WIP picture so you kind of see what I mean. If you want me to finish it to help you understand I will.<br><br><!--EZCODE IMAGE START--><img src="http://www.nancycarterdesign.com/bryce/cb.gif" style="border:0;"/><!--EZCODE IMAGE END--> <p>---------<br><br><!--EZCODE IMAGE START--><img src="http://www.nancycarterdesign.com/bryce/sign.jpg" style="border:0;"/><!--EZCODE IMAGE END--><br>"I'm a lumberjack and I'm O.K."<br>----------<br><!--EZCODE LINK START--><a href="http://www.nancycarterdesign.com/spongefactory/" target="top">Sponge Factory</a><!--EZCODE LINK END--></p><i></i>


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: ...
PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2003 4:10 am 
Offline
Honorary AGD
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2002 1:19 am
Posts: 5362
Location: US of A
I smile everytime I see one of your new pics. I can still remember your early ones.... hehe... <p></p><i></i>


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: ...
PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2003 10:41 am 
Offline
Royal Servant Status

Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2003 8:15 pm
Posts: 109
Well.. your style doesn't really fit the cartoony characters. The characters would have to be 2-D sketches scanned in and watercolored (maybe like PAPER MARIO with alpha gradient shadows.)<br><br>The trees could be gradient green blobs ala LSL4. Just kidding.<br><br>But, the characters I was thinking of drawing are cartoons tho, like... Garfield are outlined-color style (cells!).<br><br>Maybe we should do this in 3D so it looks better. The characters would have to match (3D characters?) Or we could do high-color video. The backgrounds could be photographs!<br><br>So, if we generalize, we could a game that looks like Grim Fandango (3D with lightly textured or plastic characters), Gabriel Knight 2 (live-action video), or a cartoony 256-color that looks the most like the original game. <br><br>Not sure what would be best. Examples:<br><br>1. (rendering mansion...)<br><br>2. Mansion photo<br><br>3. Your image<br><br>4. 256 cartoon style<br><br> <p></p><i></i>


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: ...
PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2003 6:51 pm 
Offline
Royal Servant Status

Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2003 8:15 pm
Posts: 109
OK, redo:<br><br>1. Mansion Render, Interior Render, 3D Simply3D or 3D Studio or whatever really Characters.<br><br>2. Mansion photo, video cap walking, tough part will be finding enough people who want to be in the game for the close-ups; we would need 10 or so headshots.<br><br>3. Your image, probably with scanned drawings of the characters. That would be interesting to make it with paper first... then scan it in, fix it up.<br><br>4. 256 cartoon style. Simple characters. <br><br>Any preference? They all have pros and cons. You have 24 hours to help us decide. No pressure. <p></p><i></i>


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: ...
PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2003 7:55 pm 
Offline
Lumberjack

Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2002 5:14 am
Posts: 1356
Umm, I think it should be up to the designer, YOU, to decide that. You shouldn't rely on the audience to make the game for you. You shouldn't be concerned with what you need to redo, it should be all planned beforehand. <p>---------<br><br><!--EZCODE IMAGE START--><img src="http://www.nancycarterdesign.com/bryce/sign.jpg" style="border:0;"/><!--EZCODE IMAGE END--><br>"I'm a lumberjack and I'm O.K."<br>----------<br><!--EZCODE LINK START--><a href="http://www.nancycarterdesign.com/spongefactory/" target="top">Sponge Factory</a><!--EZCODE LINK END--></p><i></i>


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: ...
PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2003 8:03 pm 
Offline
Forum Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2001 8:28 pm
Posts: 11434
Location: The Netherlands
I gotta agree with Muzlak. A game, any game, will eventually follow one person's vision and during development process, tons of choices and decisions like this one will come up that will need to be made. (and with preferably within shorter time than 24 hours)<br><br>So if you intend to take the designer's role, you'll be better off training yourself in decision-making.<br><br><!--EZCODE IMAGE START--><img src="http://httpd.chello.nl/c.vanempel/Nashum.jpg"/><!--EZCODE IMAGE END--> <p></p><i></i>


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: ...
PostPosted: Tue Nov 18, 2003 2:43 am 
Offline
Royal Servant Status

Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2003 8:15 pm
Posts: 109
Ok I tested it today and Laura looks good walking around the mansion background you did!<br><br>Please finish as many backgrounds as you can while I do the characters. I'll get a website up so we can track this project.<br><br><!--EZCODE IMAGE START--><img src="http://www.rev6.com/car3.png" style="border:0;"/><!--EZCODE IMAGE END--> <p></p><i></i>


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: ...
PostPosted: Tue Nov 18, 2003 6:50 am 
Offline
Honorary AGD
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2002 1:19 am
Posts: 5362
Location: US of A
haha Muzlak! I think he just volunteered you for the game!<br><br>Jodo Kast, I'm pretty sure that Muzlak was only trying to explain a better approach. I'm pretty sure he didn't actually want to help tackle the game. He's already busy with one himself... <p></p><i></i>


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: ...
PostPosted: Tue Nov 18, 2003 10:36 am 
Offline
Lumberjack

Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2002 5:14 am
Posts: 1356
Ok, but I demand weekly pay checks! :P<br><br>Yeah, in actually, I was just showing a better way to edit the backgrounds. In fact, I haven't even played LB1 before. I just wanted to demonstrate that the backgrounds you posted were, no offense, scarcely an improvement. Let your imagination run wild! I remember your KQ3 picture, and it was a lot better than these. <p>---------<br><br><!--EZCODE IMAGE START--><img src="http://www.nancycarterdesign.com/bryce/sign.jpg" style="border:0;"/><!--EZCODE IMAGE END--><br>"I'm a lumberjack and I'm O.K."<br>----------<br><!--EZCODE LINK START--><a href="http://www.nancycarterdesign.com/spongefactory/" target="top">Sponge Factory</a><!--EZCODE LINK END--></p><i></i>


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: ...
PostPosted: Tue Nov 18, 2003 1:58 pm 
Offline
Royal Servant Status

Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2003 8:15 pm
Posts: 109
Do what you can. I'll have the characters 'alive' for the demo around the start of December.<br><br>Thanks for your help everyone! <p></p><i></i>


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: ...
PostPosted: Tue Nov 18, 2003 3:03 pm 
Offline
Forum Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2001 8:28 pm
Posts: 11434
Location: The Netherlands
Perhaps you should ask him if he has time/is willing to help you make that game before giving him assignments. <!--EZCODE EMOTICON START :lol --><img src=http://www.ezboard.com/intl/aenglish/images/emoticons/laugh.gif ALT=":lol"><!--EZCODE EMOTICON END--> <br><br><!--EZCODE IMAGE START--><img src="http://httpd.chello.nl/c.vanempel/Nashgrin.jpg"/><!--EZCODE IMAGE END--> <p></p><i></i>


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: job position ??? i do i do!!!
PostPosted: Tue Nov 18, 2003 4:44 pm 
Offline
Knight Status

Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2002 2:37 pm
Posts: 234
well, Jodo i am in the happy position to announce you that i am free to volunteer for your remake of laure bow and draw ALL of the 70 backgrounds WITHOUT getting cash. I can prepare them in ONE week.<br><br><br>what do you think jodo ? I know that you may think : <br>do i feel lucky? eeeeeer no i mean that you think:<br>Damn! this is wonderful!!! But where is the catch? <br><br><br><br>Your intuition may be correct, but alas i will not explain further. As chinese say one picture equals<br>to one thousand words so just have a look of a sample of my work done in high color and high resolution. (i know you 're gonna love it!)<br><br><br><!--EZCODE AUTOLINK START--><a href="http://www.telecom.ntua.gr/~faidon/highcolor.png">www.telecom.ntua.gr/~faid...hcolor.png</a><!--EZCODE AUTOLINK END--> <p></p><i></i>


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 196 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 8  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group