It is currently Thu Oct 19, 2017 12:49 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Missing Thieves' Guild License?
PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2008 8:20 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2004 1:40 am
Posts: 21
Hey there, Everyone,

In the classic QFG2, imported thieves would also come in with their Spielburg Thieves' License, but in QFG2VGA, my imported character didn't have his Thieves' Guild License. Is this normal behavior? I enjoy collecting momentos from previous games and carrying them through into the present.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Missing Thieves' Guild License?
PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2008 8:22 pm 
Offline
Forum Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2001 8:28 pm
Posts: 11434
Location: The Netherlands
I think you only maintain your license if your actual class is a thief.

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Missing Thieves' Guild License?
PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2008 8:26 pm 
Offline
Royal Vizier Status
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2004 6:20 am
Posts: 2047
Location: Somewhere in Ohio...
Erpy wrote:
I think you only maintain your license if your actual class is a thief.

What about other Thief gear (lockpick and kit)? That'd be significant, especially in the case of exports from QfG1VGA, where you can get all that stuff without Pick Locks.

_________________
There is balance in all things. Live in symmetry with the world around you. If you must blow things up and steal from those around you, THAT'S WHAT RPGS ARE FOR!

Official Member of the VGL Street Team
Image


Last edited by Brainiac on Thu Aug 28, 2008 7:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Missing Thieves' Guild License?
PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2008 8:27 pm 
Offline
Forum Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2001 8:28 pm
Posts: 11434
Location: The Netherlands
As long as you have thief skills, you should always have either a lock pick or a thief tool kit.

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Missing Thieves' Guild License?
PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2008 8:29 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2004 1:40 am
Posts: 21
Erpy wrote:
I think you only maintain your license if your actual class is a thief.

Image


Ah, in the Original QFG2, you retained your license regardless what class you were. I have a Fighter Multiclass with all skills (Thief and Magic), but didn't get to keep my Thieves' Guild License. Any chance that could be fixed?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Missing Thieves' Guild License?
PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2008 8:32 pm 
Offline
Royal Vizier Status
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2004 6:20 am
Posts: 2047
Location: Somewhere in Ohio...
Erpy wrote:
As long as you have thief skills, you should always have either a lock pick or a thief tool kit.

Hmmm. I'll have to test with my future Paladin imports, I think. One only has Stealth; the other has both Thief Skills.

_________________
There is balance in all things. Live in symmetry with the world around you. If you must blow things up and steal from those around you, THAT'S WHAT RPGS ARE FOR!

Official Member of the VGL Street Team
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Missing Thieves' Guild License?
PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2008 8:35 pm 
Offline
Royal Servant Status

Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2007 7:40 pm
Posts: 78
Location: MN
My mad powergamed ubercharacter had his lockpick AND his thieve's toolkit.

Later on when I get time, I'll play around with the game at the end and see what may or may not transfer over.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Missing Thieves' Guild License?
PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2008 8:46 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2008 8:31 pm
Posts: 1
Hi guys,

Been lurking on these boards for many years now (started even before the announcement of QFG2).

First of all, I wish to convey many thanks to the members of AGDInteractive for all the effort you have been spending on this game the last years. I must say, it has really been worth the wait.

Now on topic.

If I import my fighter, he loses his thief license. However, if I first override the import to thief and subsequently press cancel, then importing (as fighter) will have him retain his thief license.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Missing Thieves' Guild License?
PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2008 11:06 pm 
Offline
Royal Vizier Status
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2004 6:20 am
Posts: 2047
Location: Somewhere in Ohio...
My Fighter with thief gear but no Pick Locks maintained his lockpick and toolkit (useless though they be).

Doing as Caine said, he kept the license as well.

_________________
There is balance in all things. Live in symmetry with the world around you. If you must blow things up and steal from those around you, THAT'S WHAT RPGS ARE FOR!

Official Member of the VGL Street Team
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Missing Thieves' Guild License?
PostPosted: Tue Aug 26, 2008 2:04 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2004 1:40 am
Posts: 21
Awesome. Thanks for the work-around, gang.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Missing Thieves' Guild License?
PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 9:15 am 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2008 9:26 am
Posts: 28
But do you actually NEED the Thieves' guild license for anything in the game, or in later games?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Missing Thieves' Guild License?
PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 9:25 am 
Offline
Forum Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2001 8:28 pm
Posts: 11434
Location: The Netherlands
No. It only has a use in QFG1, as far as I know.

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Missing Thieves' Guild License?
PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 9:54 am 
Offline
Slacker of Shapeir
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2004 9:11 am
Posts: 2416
Location: Canada
I wonder if you can import that license all the way to QFGV what the one armed man would say if he saw it. I know there's no guild in 3 and in 4 you get your own initiation thing to do so I wonder if they even thought to make the license import at all.

_________________
Calik Status: Hero of Speilburg Has become the Prince of Shapier and a Hero among Tarnans, after freeing the Mordavians from eternal fear he was zapped to the land of Silmaria where an import bug has him trapped between worlds.
4/5


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Missing Thieves' Guild License?
PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 9:58 am 
Offline
Forum Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2001 8:28 pm
Posts: 11434
Location: The Netherlands
You can't. You lose all your stuff when you get zapped to Mordavia and Rakeesh isn't the type to bring your thief license over.

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Missing Thieves' Guild License?
PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 10:13 am 
Offline
Slacker of Shapeir
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2004 9:11 am
Posts: 2416
Location: Canada
ah yes, I have never been as depressed as that time Gimly told me I lost all my items.

_________________
Calik Status: Hero of Speilburg Has become the Prince of Shapier and a Hero among Tarnans, after freeing the Mordavians from eternal fear he was zapped to the land of Silmaria where an import bug has him trapped between worlds.
4/5


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Missing Thieves' Guild License?
PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 3:50 pm 
Offline
Royal Vizier Status
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2004 6:20 am
Posts: 2047
Location: Somewhere in Ohio...
Erpy wrote:
No. It only has a use in QFG1, as far as I know.

Did someone forget to be a Thief in QfG4? Granted, that's a new license, but still, it has a use there.

Quest For Glory Fan wrote:
I wonder if you can import that license all the way to QFGV what the one armed man would say if he saw it. I know there's no guild in 3 and in 4 you get your own initiation thing to do so I wonder if they even thought to make the license import at all.

Nope; there's no license in QfG5, import or otherwise. You do get to import the Blackbird copy from Mordavia though. Considering Erasmus's general distaste for thieves (remember the gargoyle question from QfG1?), it kind of makes sense his teleport spell "accidentally" left that behind. And Rakeesh bringing the magic grapnels is certainly better than the license, frankly. In the end though, it doesn't matter, since the Silmarian Thieves' Guild is in transition anyway - they're not gonna be uptight about it until the new Chief is appointed, I imagine.

_________________
There is balance in all things. Live in symmetry with the world around you. If you must blow things up and steal from those around you, THAT'S WHAT RPGS ARE FOR!

Official Member of the VGL Street Team
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Missing Thieves' Guild License?
PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 10:09 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 10:05 pm
Posts: 2
I didn't want to create a separate topic for this piddling question, but for the life of me I can't figure out how you're supposed to show Dinarzad the thieves' sign.Using the hand icon just earns me a warning about the guard nearby.

Sorry if this is a dumb question. It's just not working.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Missing Thieves' Guild License?
PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 10:22 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2001 6:01 am
Posts: 1716
Location: B├╝hlerzell, Germany
Use the mouth on yourself.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Missing Thieves' Guild License?
PostPosted: Thu Aug 28, 2008 3:29 am 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2008 10:05 pm
Posts: 2
Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 19 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group