AGDInteractive - Sierra Adventure Game Remakes Forum
http://www.agdinteractive.com/forum/

Character Export
http://www.agdinteractive.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=30&t=12469
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Krandor [ Tue Aug 26, 2008 5:23 am ]
Post subject:  Character Export

Hello, I have to say I have loved your previous remakes and I just ran through QFG1VGA so that I could finally run a character through the whole series, but I do not have a fkloppy drive in my computer, is there any way you know of the export the character file without a floppy? or if there is a decent virtual floppy drive program? thanks:)

Author:  adeyke [ Tue Aug 26, 2008 5:30 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Character Export

While the default location for the export is the A: drive, you don't have to use that path. You can just enter any other path to export it there. For example, to put it in the root directory of your hard drive, you'd probably use c:\glory1.sav .

Author:  Erpy [ Tue Aug 26, 2008 9:39 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Character Export

Or even better...type "glory1.sav" without any prefixes to put it in the game's folder. Avoids trouble in Dosbox too.

Image

Author:  Krandor [ Tue Aug 26, 2008 2:26 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Character Export

Ok, that worked great, thanks for the help :)

Author:  Senor Matt [ Thu Sep 18, 2008 5:39 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Character Export

Hey guys, sorry to bring this thread back, but I took Erpy's advice and saved my hero, but when I click on Import hero on the scroll menu it automatically says that there is no folder. Any advice?

Author:  Erpy [ Thu Sep 18, 2008 6:36 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Character Export

Did you put the .sav-file into QFG2VGA-folder itself?

Image

Author:  Senor Matt [ Thu Sep 18, 2008 2:41 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Character Export

Ok, I read the readme file in the game and was able to figure it out. Thanks though Erpy, you've always been very kind and helpful to us less computer savvy people on the board. But now I'd like to know how to import a character to QFG3 because whenever I try to import my QFG1 character as an experiment it doesn't work.

Author:  Brainiac [ Thu Sep 18, 2008 3:18 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Character Export

Senor Matt wrote:
But now I'd like to know how to import a character to QFG3 because whenever I try to import my QFG1 character as an experiment it doesn't work.

What version of QfG3 do you have? It may need patching. Barring that, QfG2EGA, QfG3, and QfG4 allow you to assign what folder on your computer it should look for import files in so you may need to change that.

Author:  Senor Matt [ Thu Sep 18, 2008 6:25 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Character Export

I have the anthology and it already has the newRisingSun Patch, however, when I try to go to the directory that has the save file in it, namely c:\sierra, it says that that is not a valid directory.

Author:  Erpy [ Thu Sep 18, 2008 6:38 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Character Export

Are you running in Dosbox? If so, it's probably best to run the game with the .sav-file copied into the game folder. That'll guarantee you can find it, even though most of your folders don't exist in Dosbox' emulated environment.

Image

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/