It is currently Sun Oct 22, 2017 12:01 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Importing to QG3
PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 2:58 am 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2006 4:39 am
Posts: 48
I'm unable to import my QG2 char to QG3! I have the QG Anthology CD from way back when. I installed the game using Dosbox. I am using Vista. Everything seems to work properly. When I attempt to import it says "unable to find file 'export.sav.'' for all other files in the same directory it says "that is not a valid sav file."

Any help? AH!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Importing to QG3
PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 3:04 am 
Offline
The Prince of Shapeir

Joined: Tue May 08, 2001 4:12 am
Posts: 8872
Location: Phobos
Can you attach it here (or in in a PM to me) so I can have a look?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Importing to QG3
PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 3:11 am 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2006 4:39 am
Posts: 48
Here it is. But I think its a QG3 issue. As I just tried to import my QG1 character, and got the same error


Attachments:
File comment: QG2VGA Export
Glory2.rar [167 Bytes]
Downloaded 91 times
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Importing to QG3
PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 3:15 am 
Offline
The Prince of Shapeir

Joined: Tue May 08, 2001 4:12 am
Posts: 8872
Location: Phobos
Your .sav file imports into QFG3 just fine for me. Perhaps your QFG3 installation of the game got corrupted somehow. Have you tried re-installing it?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Importing to QG3
PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 3:31 am 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2006 4:39 am
Posts: 48
Yes. Have you modified your game in anyway?

Getting old games to work on new systems is a pain >:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Importing to QG3
PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 6:54 am 
Offline
The Prince of Shapeir

Joined: Tue May 08, 2001 4:12 am
Posts: 8872
Location: Phobos
Nope. I'm just running version 1.1 of QFG3 under DosBox0.62 and using the D-Fendv2 frontend.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Importing to QG3
PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 9:18 am 
Offline
Trusty Riding Saurus
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 10:02 pm
Posts: 1100
Anonymous Game Creator 2 wrote:
Nope. I'm just running version 1.1 of QFG3 under DosBox0.62 and using the D-Fendv2 frontend.
DosBox 0.62? It's because D-Fendv2 doesn't work with the later ones? I ask merely because I know that the versions after 0.63 finally used a brilliant patch from Kronuz that makes it run much faster, and an auto-cycle feature that works wonderfully. Seriously, I got so enchanted with 0.72 that I can't recommend strongly enough to everyone to install the latest release. :missing love smiley:

_________________
The moat monsters appreciate your good taste.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Importing to QG3
PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 5:47 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2006 4:39 am
Posts: 48
Im using DosBox v0.72 as well.

I found QFG3 on an abandonware site. That version works! YAY!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Importing to QG3
PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 5:51 pm 
Offline
The Prince of Shapeir

Joined: Tue May 08, 2001 4:12 am
Posts: 8872
Location: Phobos
Yeah, I haven't had a chance to upgrade yet. Will do it now that you've mentioned the speed increases.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Importing to QG3
PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 10:01 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 4:03 pm
Posts: 33
I'm on the beta team for DOSBox and believe me: 0.72 is a vast improvement over 0.62. 0.73 (or whatever the final version number applied) appears to be in a prolonged development state. We got a beta for it a few months back but beyond that it looks like it'll be awhile before something beyond 0.72 is released. The next dev version rocks though and there are plenty of CVS snapshot builds to try out. It includes a partial GUI amongst other things.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group