It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 3:19 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: QFG II 1.3 ?????
PostPosted: Sat Apr 18, 2009 4:37 am 
Offline
Peasant Status
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2008 2:14 am
Posts: 32
Location: Somewhere east of St. Paul
I was reading some topics and in a response to a bug, you wrote something along the lines of it being put "on the list" does this mean there will someday be a 1.3 version? And what's all on this "list" of yours to fix? Just interested... :)

_________________
Close only counts in horseshoes and hand grenades 8o


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QFG II 1.3 ?????
PostPosted: Sat Apr 18, 2009 8:50 am 
Offline
The Prince of Shapeir

Joined: Tue May 08, 2001 4:12 am
Posts: 8872
Location: Phobos
If we can find the time to implement fixes for all the bugs that have been found since v1.1, then we'll hopefully release a v1.2 at some point. However, updating the game at this juncture means we'd also have to covert the game over to the AGS 3.0 engine, which opens up the potential for more bugs of a technical nature, since a lot was changed between AGS2.72 and 3.0.

The unfortunate fact is that the large majority of people will only ever download the very first version of a remake and never return to re-download the improved versions. So it's not always a good time investment to spend tons of extra work improving something that only a handful of people will appreciate.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QFG II 1.3 ?????
PostPosted: Sat Apr 18, 2009 3:13 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2008 2:14 am
Posts: 32
Location: Somewhere east of St. Paul
I'm glad that you will even consider improving your various game's quirks and bugs, most game companies are simply like "Oh, that's too bad our game has problems, but we already got your money from you buying it so we could care less"

I really appreciate all that AGD has done in this regard

_________________
Close only counts in horseshoes and hand grenades 8o


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QFG II 1.3 ?????
PostPosted: Mon Apr 20, 2009 4:35 pm 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2006 9:54 pm
Posts: 351
Anonymous Game Creator 2 wrote:
updating the game at this juncture means we'd also have to covert the game over to the AGS 3.0 engine

Could you share why this is? Are some of the bugs only fixable with new features in 3.0?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QFG II 1.3 ?????
PostPosted: Mon Apr 20, 2009 5:51 pm 
Offline
The Prince of Shapeir

Joined: Tue May 08, 2001 4:12 am
Posts: 8872
Location: Phobos
Just for consistency with the new King's Quest I and King's Quest II releases. So that the game will be Vista-compatible and so that the logo movies will work under emulators like Wine.

It's also easier to keep track of bugs, crashes, and operating system issues if we're using the latest version of the AGS engine, since that's the version Chris Jones is actively developing.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QFG II 1.3 ?????
PostPosted: Sat Sep 12, 2009 4:37 am 
Offline
Peasant Status
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2008 2:14 am
Posts: 32
Location: Somewhere east of St. Paul
You might as well wait to overhaul everything into a new version of AGS until whatever will replace Vista replaces it, or whatever replaces the replacer as well, and get it to work for that, the hard work would be FAR more worth it!

_________________
Close only counts in horseshoes and hand grenades 8o


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QFG II 1.3 ?????
PostPosted: Wed Oct 14, 2009 6:28 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 8:02 am
Posts: 32
The game runs fine in Windows 7 x64 for me :)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QFG II 1.3 ?????
PostPosted: Fri Oct 23, 2009 3:28 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2009 4:30 pm
Posts: 3
Im still longing for the direct 3d 9 option that the Kings Quest remake remakes have, as the game looks horrible in fullscreen on my wide screen monitor.
However performance is lacking when playing in higher resolution windows, so my first playthrough took place using a tiny window.
The Kings Quest remake remakes can run in any resolution without performance loss with the direct 3d 9 mode on.

I would greatly appreciate the effort.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QFG II 1.3 ?????
PostPosted: Tue Feb 09, 2010 11:49 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2008 2:14 am
Posts: 32
Location: Somewhere east of St. Paul
I think Salt should have a response to showing him the Saurus Foot Trashcan, just a random idea I had :P

_________________
Close only counts in horseshoes and hand grenades 8o


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group