It is currently Sat Mar 25, 2017 3:29 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Weird speed glitch
PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2011 4:39 am 
Offline
Royal Servant Status

Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 10:41 pm
Posts: 64
Not saying its necessarily a glitch with the game, might be a win7 issue. The first time I played this game it was v1.0 in 2008 on XP. Now I'm on windows7 with the latest version 2.0 and after about 5 minutes of gameplay, battle suddenly slows down dramatically in speed and its not very fun. Also, this didn't happen yesterday but it DID happen today which really makes me confused. Any insight or did my computer just randomly defecate itself?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Weird speed glitch
PostPosted: Mon Mar 21, 2011 8:57 am 
Offline
Trusty Riding Saurus
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 10:02 pm
Posts: 1100
In order to be able to play in Windows 7, QFG 2.0 uses a different version of the engine that seems to slow down specifically in Win 7. I don't know the reason, but it probably is more noticeable during battles because they are particularly script-heavy. I don't know if there's a workaround for this problem, but it has been mentioned before in this forum.

_________________
The moat monsters appreciate your good taste.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Weird speed glitch
PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2011 12:48 am 
Offline
Royal Servant Status

Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 10:41 pm
Posts: 64
The strange thing about it is it doesn't always happen. Only after a certain amount of time. It goes way too slow to play, REALLY slow. Also it happened the second day I played it, not the first. So I don't know what that's about, might just be me.

edit: also I have to restart my computer to get it to run normal again. quitting and reopening does nothing.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Weird speed glitch
PostPosted: Tue Mar 22, 2011 9:53 am 
Offline
Trusty Riding Saurus
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 10:02 pm
Posts: 1100
That has all the symptoms of a memory leak. You might try to use a program such as Pro-Lasso or Hare (from Daschund software) to clear your RAM and see if that fixes your problem.

_________________
The moat monsters appreciate your good taste.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Weird speed glitch
PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2011 1:27 am 
Offline
Royal Servant Status

Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 10:41 pm
Posts: 64
I tried the ProLasso thing and I can't see where you have the option to clear your RAM. Maybe I have a conflicting process or something. Earlier it was running fine. Then later it ran slow after like 2 minutes of playing. This sucks! :\


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Weird speed glitch
PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2011 10:39 am 
Offline
Trusty Riding Saurus
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 10:02 pm
Posts: 1100
ProLasso does that automatically. Right click on ProLasso tray icon and pick "enable game mode" to see if it solves the problem. If you play the game full screen you can also activate in the Options menu in ProLasso the options to optimize the processes in the foreground.

_________________
The moat monsters appreciate your good taste.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Weird speed glitch
PostPosted: Wed Mar 23, 2011 5:38 pm 
Offline
Royal Servant Status

Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 10:41 pm
Posts: 64
Yea I tried it didn't help. Thanks anyways. It doesn't speed back up when I restart my computer now. Dead space still runs without a hitch. So bizarre. The only things I've recently installed were 3Ds Max and SQL server. Could those be memory hoggin? They don't effect anything else if they do. So strange. I guess I'll run it on a different machine.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Weird speed glitch
PostPosted: Thu Mar 24, 2011 3:23 am 
Offline
Royal Servant Status

Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 10:41 pm
Posts: 64
Small update: I installed it on a different computer. Ran fine until I copied over my saves. Didn't realize the .099 save file wasn't actually a save. After I copied those files over and restored my save game it ran super slow. Back on the original computer I tried it deleting the .099 file and it ran fast again. But only for like an hour. Now no matter how many .099 or .199s I delete it goes slow. Compatibility mode doesn't help. Trying to update my video card drivers now.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Weird speed glitch
PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2011 1:29 am 
Offline
Royal Servant Status

Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 10:41 pm
Posts: 64
So yesterday it randomly decided to run at full speed. Now its slow again. Sigh :(


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Weird speed glitch
PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2011 11:02 am 
Offline
Trusty Riding Saurus
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 10:02 pm
Posts: 1100
Have you defraged your system?

_________________
The moat monsters appreciate your good taste.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Weird speed glitch
PostPosted: Sat Mar 26, 2011 5:50 pm 
Offline
Royal Servant Status

Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 10:41 pm
Posts: 64
Yea windows7 defrags itself weekly. I also run flash, photoshop, maya, dead space, half life and everything else without a hitch. QFG2 is such a powerful program I can't run it at full speed. I need to SLI 8 graphics cards and get a 64 core processor to pull that off. :P


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Weird speed glitch
PostPosted: Tue Aug 02, 2011 3:56 am 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Tue Aug 02, 2011 3:51 am
Posts: 1
I'll assume you've already tried this, but switch your video mode from 3D to non-3D... that worked well for me.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Weird speed glitch
PostPosted: Fri Sep 16, 2011 10:04 am 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2011 10:01 am
Posts: 3
Did you ever figure it out? This just happened to me and its driving me crazy. Been playing daily with no problems at all. All of a sudden tonight battles go unbearably slow. I thought I accidently hit a setting that changed it, but I can't seem to find any info on it. The only thing I can think of is today I installed my Intuos4 wacom tablet and HP help assistant updated. Do you by chance happen to have an HP computer or have installed a tablet around the time your slow down occurred?

Also I know its not my computers lack of RAM or anything, its a brand new computer that runs everything nearly flawlessly.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Weird speed glitch
PostPosted: Fri Sep 16, 2011 10:10 am 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2011 10:01 am
Posts: 3
Ok, so I just tried switching to a windows basic theme and it fixed it, switching back to my original aero theme doesnt change anything in the middle of the game. It's still running fast now. I don't really know if this fixed it or if it randomly fixed somehow. Hopefully it doesn't pull this again.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Weird speed glitch
PostPosted: Fri Sep 16, 2011 11:21 am 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Fri Sep 16, 2011 10:01 am
Posts: 3
Welp, it happened again. Randomly in the middle of playing. Not sure what's going on here but its quite frustrating. I realized its not just battles but the entire game runs slower, and its very noticeable during animations: casting spells, throwing rocks, battles, WITs end, etc. It seems to be capping the speed off as if I adjust the speed knob and crank it to the top nothing changes in the slightest, not even slightly, but when cranking it to the bottom it does indeed go slower. Still unsure if this is a computer problem, a windows 7 64 but problem, an ATI problem or just some random unlucky problem.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Weird speed glitch
PostPosted: Sat Oct 01, 2011 10:03 am 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2011 5:52 pm
Posts: 16
I'm using windows 7 64 bit . the game usually runs at normal speed . But once it went super fast . The hero's legs were a blur . But it came back to normal again. Any way to keep it permanently super fast ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Weird speed glitch
PostPosted: Sat Oct 01, 2011 10:08 am 
Offline
Trusty Riding Saurus
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 10:02 pm
Posts: 1100
You can change the speed of the game in the options menu, there's also a slider to change combat difficulty. However, changing the slider also affects the time you have available for timed events, so be careful.

_________________
The moat monsters appreciate your good taste.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Weird speed glitch
PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2012 6:49 am 
Offline
Royal Servant Status

Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 10:41 pm
Posts: 64
Yea I do have a wacom tablet actually. I tried disabling its processes and playing the game but its still slow. :(

I think this has to do with Win7 64bit. It causes the game to run very slow, even on the highest speed. It's pretty disappointing, I really would love to play that game again if it'd run right.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Weird speed glitch
PostPosted: Thu May 10, 2012 12:16 pm 
Offline
Royal Servant Status

Joined: Sun May 03, 2009 1:26 am
Posts: 103
I haven't yet observed any changes in combat speed since I installed yesterday**, but I'm almost 100% sure it's considerably slower than what I remember from my old playthroughs.

EDIT:
**Scratch that. After I applied the affinity fix, it got a little faster, and now that I restarted the computer, it's even faster than it was before. I expect it'll slow down for me again at some point like it did for other people...

_________________
"Yes! A peperoni and jalapeno pizza, the ultimate blend of science and art! If we could but harness this power, we could rule the world!"


Last edited by Markus Ramikin on Thu Jul 12, 2012 11:58 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Weird speed glitch
PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2012 1:13 pm 
Offline
Royal Servant Status

Joined: Sun May 03, 2009 1:26 am
Posts: 103
I just got the idea to turn Fraps on and observe the framerate directly, so as to not be reduced to "it seems to me" subjective kind of crap. I notice that lowering the game speed slider does affect the FPS shown by Fraps (during non-combat play of course). So I'll keep it at max and see if things change as I play. Note: Windows 7 here.

Currently I have no slowdowns, and with max speed slider the framerate is:
Normal: 20 (speed setting = min) up to 167 (speed setting = max)
Combat: 143
This is true with and without the affinity fix.

Update:
Today I ran the game with affinity fix and it was slower:
Normal: 20 (speed setting = min) up to 100 (speed setting = 50% and higher)
Combat: 100

Without affinity fix:
Normal: oscillates between 50 and 80 (speed setting = max)
Combat likewise

Conclusions so far:
The game really does play slower at some times than others for reasons unclear. Affinity fix helps at those times but doesn't solve the problem entirely.

Things I tried that didn't help:
- various compatibility modes
- deleting saves or the .999 file
- reinstalling the game
- windowed mode, various different graphical settings
- rebooting computer
- rebooting computer with only 1 processor core active
- ProLasso

Update 2:
It went back to 167/143 spointainously, in the middle of playing, a couple hours later.

Update 3:
Alt-tabbing to Firefox and opening a youtube video restores my game to 167/143. Tested multiple times. WTF is going on...

_________________
"Yes! A peperoni and jalapeno pizza, the ultimate blend of science and art! If we could but harness this power, we could rule the world!"


Last edited by Markus Ramikin on Wed Jul 01, 2015 6:23 am, edited 11 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Weird speed glitch
PostPosted: Sat May 12, 2012 12:56 pm 
Offline
Royal Servant Status

Joined: Sun May 03, 2009 1:26 am
Posts: 103
Also it would be useful to know what the max framerate of normal play/combat actually intended by the creators was. 167/143? 100/100 (aka the game is running -too- fast sometimes)? something else?

EDIT: Ah, right, forgot about battle mode. It says speed = 135 is the max, though I get 143 FPS then. When I'm not getting the speed bug. When I set speed to 60 I get 62 etc, so I guess speed-per-battle-mode is meant to roughly corresponds to FPS...

When I do have the speed bug (i.e. pretty much always), FPS is capped at 100 no matter where I set the combat speed between 100 and 135.

_________________
"Yes! A peperoni and jalapeno pizza, the ultimate blend of science and art! If we could but harness this power, we could rule the world!"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Weird speed glitch
PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2012 9:45 am 
Offline
Royal Servant Status

Joined: Sun May 03, 2009 1:26 am
Posts: 103
Bump.

_________________
"Yes! A peperoni and jalapeno pizza, the ultimate blend of science and art! If we could but harness this power, we could rule the world!"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Weird speed glitch
PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2012 12:31 am 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 12:27 am
Posts: 4
I have the same problem, but I don't know why. I played the game a few months ago with the same computer, nothing changed at all, and the game ran perfectly. I posted this problem in the technical board, hopefully people still read those.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Weird speed glitch
PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2012 2:25 am 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2012 12:27 am
Posts: 4
I found a way to fix it temporarily, only thing that works for me is to quit the game and restart it until it works, usually takes a few tries. It usually lasts awhile, and its only extremely slow in combat, so I usually only fix it when I'm going to be fighting. Even the fighting isn't so slow it's unplayable, this is more a minor annoyance than anything.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Weird speed glitch
PostPosted: Tue Mar 26, 2013 7:20 am 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Tue Mar 26, 2013 7:10 am
Posts: 1
Having this issue as well in Windows 7. I played the game all the way through as a fighter and never encountered this but on my Mage playthrough combat will randomly slow to a crawl while all other action in the game is at normal speed. I tried messing with the speed slider but no dice. The problem went away after a restart but came back and restarts just aren't fixing it.

That said, thank you so much for creating this, it is a wonderful game.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group