It is currently Thu Oct 19, 2017 10:04 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Unable to import Sav file to QFG3
PostPosted: Thu Dec 20, 2012 10:05 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2012 10:02 pm
Posts: 1
Hey hey everyone

I hope theres people around still that can help.

So i completed the QFG 2 remake and became a paladin again YAY, and i got my .sav file.

However i have a slight problem, its not being recongised in Quest for Glory 3 as a sav file....then again its not showing up period.

Was wondering if any help could be provided please, while it took me a solid day to do it, i really dont wanna play the old school version and have to go from there again just to get a frikkin .sav file!

Appreacte the help

Notes:

Have installed to my E:\ Drive as Quest for Glory II and no other folder is saved in under the users folders on C:\


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Unable to import Sav file to QFG3
PostPosted: Fri Dec 21, 2012 12:33 am 
Offline
Trusty Riding Saurus
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 10:02 pm
Posts: 1100
I remember not having trouble with that, but some old threads mentioned simmilar problems.

In some cases, the problem was due to trying to paste a QFG2 savefile instead of the exported character. In other cases, it was that the .sav file wasn't placed inside the game's folder. If you are using Windows 7, it might be a problem with file permissions. You could try to run the game as an administrator and test if that solves the problem.

_________________
The moat monsters appreciate your good taste.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Unable to import Sav file to QFG3
PostPosted: Sat Apr 16, 2016 10:48 am 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2016 5:11 pm
Posts: 2
Location: Estonia
I installed QFG4CD fine to run on DOSBox. But when I try to run INSTALL.BAT from the game directory to change sound options, it gives an error and says "This Install must be run from the Quest for Glory Anthology CD #1s root directory." And, of course, running the install file on the CD just reinstalls the game when I just want to change the audio drivers.

Anyone familiar with this problem? I dont see it mentioned anywhere else. Is there a way to fix it or do I have to mess with RESOURCE.CFG to change install options?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Unable to import Sav file to QFG3
PostPosted: Sat Apr 16, 2016 1:52 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2001 6:01 am
Posts: 1717
Location: B├╝hlerzell, Germany
My version of QfG4 has a QG4INST.EXE for changing the settings. I'm not sure if yours does, but if so, try using that instead of the INSTALL.BAT. Editing the RESOURCE.CFG file isn't a big deal either, though.

Generally, I'd recommend using the custom installers from the Sierra Help Pages and using those forums if you still need help. It would be more useful than asking here.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group