It is currently Mon Oct 23, 2017 11:48 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: mouse acting funky
PostPosted: Thu Feb 24, 2011 8:53 am 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Thu Sep 29, 2005 4:17 am
Posts: 34
For some reason the mouse movements in the game do not work very well. Sometimes it barely moves the cursor unless I move the mouse faster.

Other than that, fantastic job!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: mouse acting funky
PostPosted: Thu Feb 24, 2011 2:28 pm 
Offline
Honorary AGD
User avatar

Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2002 1:19 am
Posts: 5362
Location: US of A
Hmmm... I've never experienced this.

Anyone else having similar issues?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: mouse acting funky
PostPosted: Thu Feb 24, 2011 2:32 pm 
Offline
Forum Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2001 8:28 pm
Posts: 11434
Location: The Netherlands
And, additionally, does this also happen with our other remakes? (which I believe were compiled with the same version of the engine)

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: mouse acting funky
PostPosted: Thu Feb 24, 2011 3:18 pm 
Offline
The Master of All Things Musical
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 8:57 pm
Posts: 4025
Location: Manitoba, Canada
This does happen with me, actually. It's a weird acceleration issue with AGS, I think. Very slow acceleration but when you really swipe the thing it jumps way across the screen. Are you running with a multiplyer gfx filter (2x,4x,etc)? That might be it.

_________________
01010100 01101000 01100101 00100000 01100011 01100001 01101011 01100101 00100000 01101001 01110011 00100000 01100001 00100000 01101100 01101001 01100101 00101110


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: mouse acting funky
PostPosted: Fri Feb 25, 2011 8:53 am 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Thu Feb 24, 2011 3:47 am
Posts: 3
yes i'm having the same acceleration problem.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: mouse acting funky
PostPosted: Fri Feb 25, 2011 6:34 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Fri Feb 25, 2011 6:31 pm
Posts: 1
Same thing happened to me, doesn't matter which filter is used or if none is used, small movements completely lock up and skip the mouse around and fast movements zip right across the whole screen. Windows 7 64 bit.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: mouse acting funky
PostPosted: Fri Feb 25, 2011 11:05 pm 
Offline
The Prince of Shapeir

Joined: Tue May 08, 2001 4:12 am
Posts: 8872
Location: Phobos
Does the same thing occur if you run winsetup.exe and change to the Direct3D driver?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: mouse acting funky
PostPosted: Fri Feb 25, 2011 11:26 pm 
Offline
The Master of All Things Musical
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 8:57 pm
Posts: 4025
Location: Manitoba, Canada
I'm currently running the Direct3D driver and it's still finicky. It's not horrible. But it isn't natural either. Feels like you're struggling with it a bit.

_________________
01010100 01101000 01100101 00100000 01100011 01100001 01101011 01100101 00100000 01101001 01110011 00100000 01100001 00100000 01101100 01101001 01100101 00101110


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: mouse acting funky
PostPosted: Sat Jan 28, 2012 4:05 am 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2012 4:03 am
Posts: 2
I had the exact same problem with the Space Quest 2 port (and KQ3 - the only other AGDI game I tried) and stumbled across a solution. I had "Enhance pointer precision" enabled in the Windows mouse settings. Disabling this completely fixed the problem for me.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: mouse acting funky
PostPosted: Sat Jan 28, 2012 2:27 pm 
Offline
The Master of All Things Musical
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 8:57 pm
Posts: 4025
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Nice! It's probably due to being such a low resolution, the mouse acceleration is much more noticeable in a smaller area!

_________________
01010100 01101000 01100101 00100000 01100011 01100001 01101011 01100101 00100000 01101001 01110011 00100000 01100001 00100000 01101100 01101001 01100101 00101110


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: mouse acting funky
PostPosted: Sat Jan 28, 2012 9:39 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Sat Jan 28, 2012 4:03 am
Posts: 2
MusicallyInspired wrote:
Nice! It's probably due to being such a low resolution, the mouse acceleration is much more noticeable in a smaller area!


I didn't try it with KQ3, but with SQ2 I tried many available resolutions including the higher ones and the behavior was the same with all of them.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group