It is currently Mon Sep 01, 2014 9:02 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Quest for Glory II Remake: Technical FAQ & user workarounds
PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2008 3:30 am 
Offline
Forum Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2001 8:28 pm
Posts: 11434
Location: The Netherlands
I doubt this thread will get to cover every issue that gets reported, seeing there are so many different computer configurations, but hopefully, some general pointers will be of use to the majority.

ISSUE 1: THE NEW WEBSITE DOESN"T RESPOND TO BUTTON CLICKS
This is likely due to you running an older browser. Please ensure that you've upgraded to Internet Explorer 7 (or the latest version of whichever browser you use). Then reload the site and all of the button links should be fully clickable.

ISSUE 2: GAMEPLAY SPEED ON DUAL CORE SYSTEMS
Duel Core systems might not handle AGS games well at higher resolutions. You should ensure that the game is set to the intended resolution of 320x200 mode and no higher in the settings (available from the launcher menu). If your system can't display 320x200 mode, click the 'letterbox mode' check-box in the settings program to run in 320x240 instead. You may need to check the 'CRT monitor' box as well.

If you switch to a higher resolution with a Duel Core system, it will run very slowly and the game speed slider tends to make no difference. The slowness will be particularly noticeable in fast-paced scenes like combat. The solution is to make sure you always run the game at 320x200 or 320x240. Higher resolutions won't make the game look better anyhow and only cause additional slowdown. You could also try the "2x-nearest-neighbor' filter in the settings to see if that helps.

Downloading and installing Windows Service Pack 3 may be of benefit too


ISSUE 3: SOUND CONTINUES AFTER THE GAME IS EXITED
Changing the sound driver in the game's setup might solve this issue.


ISSUE 4: HOW DO I IMPORT MY QUEST FOR GLORY I SAVED CHARACTER INTO THE REMAKE?
To import your Quest for Glory I character, you will first need to copy the .sav file into the Quest for Glory II remake directory on your hard drive. When you click the Import button from the Quest for Glory II title screen, a list of .sav files located in the game directory will be displayed for you to choose from. You may select the one that you wish to import into Trial by Fire.


ISSUE 5: THE AGDI MOVIE FREEZES SHORTLY AFTER IT BEGINS PLAYING (OR REMAINS BLACK AND DOESN'T PLAY AT ALL.)
This is very likely an issue relating to DirectShow attempting to render the cut-scene's video stream using the FFDShow filters on your system. In order to fix the problem, you will need to tell FFDShow to ignore the Quest for Glory II remake application, so that it will not use the FFDShow filters to render movies in the game.

Assuming that you don't have a "Configure FFDShow" shortcut somewhere in your Start Menu or desktop, you will need to create one. Firstly, find out where FFDShow is installed on your system. The file is called ffdshow.ax. Perform a search for that file and note the location. If FFDShow was installed to its typical directory on your system, then its location should be in C:\Program Files\ffdshow

Once you have located ffdshow.ax, create a shortcut to it on your desktop. Then right-click the shortcut and, from the menu, click on "Properties" to go to the new shortcut's properties page. Add the text (rundll32.exe) to the start of the Target box, and (,configure) to the end, both without the parenthesis. It should appear something like:

Target:
rundll32.exe "C:\Program Files\FFDShow\ffdshow.ax",configure

Press OK. Double-click the shortcut.


Next, go to the "Info & debug" panel and tick the "Don't use ffdshow in" box. If there's nothing in the box beneath the checkbox, simply type in Qfg2vga.exe. If there's already something listed there, just put a semicolon between the last entry and your new Qfg2vga.exe entry. For example:

explorer.exe;movplay.exe;Qfg2vga.exe

Apply the settings, and then run the game again. Things should work correctly now.

ISSUE 6: UHURA'S COMBAT TUTORIAL GETS STUCK IN AN ENDLESS LOOP AND I CAN'T PRESS ESCAPE TO EXIT.
If you're stuck in the "endless loop" in Uhura's tutorial because your laptop doesn't have a numeric keypad, try this: somewhere on your keyboard there should be "Home", "Page Up", "Page Down", and "End" keys. They should be mapped by default as:

Home: Swing
Page Up: Stab
Page Down: Dodge Right
End: Dodge Left

Simply press the above keys to get through the tutorial and then redefine your combat keys from the options menu after the tutorial has ended.

ISSUE 7: MY SYSTEM CANNOT DISPLAY THE GAME PROPERLY AT THE NATIVE 320X200 RESOLUTION.
Run winsetup.exe in the game folder (this is also accessible by clicking the 'Setup' button from the menu launcher) and instead of selecting a higher resolution, try selecting the '2x nearest-neighbour filter' from the 'graphics filers' drop-down menu instead.

ISSUE 8: I'M RUNNING VISTA AND WHEN I EXPORT MY HERO AFTER FINISHING THE GAME, I CAN'T FIND THE .SAV FILE.
To find the .sav file you need to open up the Quest for Glory II directory. Once that is done, if you look under the search bar there is a button that says "Compatibility Files" that is next to the Burn Button. If you click on it you should be able to see the import file. If that doesn't work, try an advance search that includes all hidden folders.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Quest for Glory II Remake: Technical FAQ
PostPosted: Tue Aug 26, 2008 9:13 am 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2008 9:02 am
Posts: 2
AGC1, ADC2, Erpy and team,

I'd like to start by thanking you for a simply amazing and, I must admit, somewhat nostalgic creation. What you've accomplished is simply nothing short of tier 1 developer. The 3D animation/cut scene at the start is one of many great examples.

Unfortunately, even a software powerhouse like ID or BioWare releases software with bugs. I have such an issue.

The game, particularly fighting scenes, runs extremely slowly on my PC. Too slow to actually play. Thus far I've enjoyed the game by playing at 320 x 200 with 16bit colour, but the fighting scenes are still far too slow to be playable.

I have a Pentium IV 2.8Gz and a Direct X 9.0c video card. I'm assuming that if I can run Doom III, that I should also be able to run this game. I know you've addressed this issue above, but I've taken your advice and the issue remains. Any more tips or a potential patch... please!! ;)

Thank you


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Quest for Glory II Remake: Technical FAQ
PostPosted: Tue Aug 26, 2008 8:18 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2001 1:14 pm
Posts: 21
ashleyalex001 wrote:
AGC1, ADC2, Erpy and team,

I'd like to start by thanking you for a simply amazing and, I must admit, somewhat nostalgic creation. What you've accomplished is simply nothing short of tier 1 developer. The 3D animation/cut scene at the start is one of many great examples.

Unfortunately, even a software powerhouse like ID or BioWare releases software with bugs. I have such an issue.

The game, particularly fighting scenes, runs extremely slowly on my PC. Too slow to actually play. Thus far I've enjoyed the game by playing at 320 x 200 with 16bit colour, but the fighting scenes are still far too slow to be playable.

I have a Pentium IV 2.8Gz and a Direct X 9.0c video card. I'm assuming that if I can run Doom III, that I should also be able to run this game. I know you've addressed this issue above, but I've taken your advice and the issue remains. Any more tips or a potential patch... please!! ;)

Thank you


Are you running Windows XP? If so, have you ensured that you've installed the latest service pack (SP3)? I know the P4 can be run in a dual core mode, and Dual Core wasn't supported properly until SP2.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Quest for Glory II Remake: Technical FAQ
PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 8:29 am 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Tue Aug 26, 2008 9:02 am
Posts: 2
Yes I have a Windows XP SP3 machine. I'm running the game using the following settings:

320 x 200
No graphics filter
Downgrade 32-bit graphics to 16bit
DirectSound [Hardware mixer]
Win32 MIDI Mapper

Any help would be great please. I've been waiting so long for this game! Thank you.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Quest for Glory II Remake: Technical FAQ
PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 11:57 pm 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 11:14 pm
Posts: 249
try turning off the 32bit to 16 bit downgrade.

_________________
Visit the Hero's Tale Inn!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Quest for Glory II Remake: Technical FAQ
PostPosted: Fri Aug 29, 2008 1:09 am 
Offline
Royal Servant Status
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 05, 2005 7:22 am
Posts: 85
(Previously Posted):

Game behaves funny when switching windows with Alt-Tab or Ctrl-Escape

This happened to me when I wanted to access the map during the beginning of the game. When I simply pressed the Microsoft key on the keyboard, I was able to switch out and back with no problems (Vista 64-bit Ultimate).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Quest for Glory II Remake: Technical FAQ & user workarounds
PostPosted: Mon Sep 01, 2008 5:17 am 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2008 3:16 am
Posts: 1
Hi all

I was wondering why certain video cards can't do the 320 x 200 @ 32bit or even 320 x 240 @ 32bit? I've got a 256Mb 6800GT and it can't run QFG2VGA at those resolutions.

My laptop Inspiron 9300 with 6800GT Go can do those res with no problems.

I am running the latest drivers etc.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Quest for Glory II Remake: Technical FAQ & user workarounds
PostPosted: Sat Sep 06, 2008 4:02 am 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2008 4:11 am
Posts: 3
If this is in the wrong place to post this, sorry and would you point me to the right thread?

I'm very excited to play this game... as soon as I get it working. My computer know how is very limited so please bear with me. After downloading trying to start the game would result in an error saying, “there was a problem initializing graphics mode...” So I guessed this was what the above “issue 7”. After doing that I got just a black screen but with music so I looked to “issue 5” for help. Following those instructions I find that the ffdshow file is part of a codec pack I downloaded (called combined community codec pack). I try to alter the target as instructed but gives me a popup saying its not valid. So I'm stuck. Help? Pretty please?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Quest for Glory II Remake: Technical FAQ & user workarounds
PostPosted: Sat Sep 06, 2008 4:38 am 
Offline
The Prince of Shapeir

Joined: Tue May 08, 2001 4:12 am
Posts: 8872
Location: Phobos
Try downloading this file and replacing it in your game directory. Just choose 'Yes' when it asks you to overwrite the existing file:

AGDI.001 Movie Logo

Let me know if this works or not.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Quest for Glory II Remake: Technical FAQ & user workarounds
PostPosted: Sat Sep 06, 2008 5:15 am 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2008 4:11 am
Posts: 3
yes, I can see movie logo. I think I just tried what you sujested but still no picture.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Quest for Glory II Remake: Technical FAQ & user workarounds
PostPosted: Sat Sep 06, 2008 7:54 am 
Offline
The Prince of Shapeir

Joined: Tue May 08, 2001 4:12 am
Posts: 8872
Location: Phobos
Make sure you have the latest version of DirecxtX installed and also the latest version of your video card's drivers. You should be able to find both online.

You might also, try running the game in 320x200 mode, but using the '2x nearest-neighbour' filter as mentioned above for Issue #2. Checking the option box for "Use 85Hz Display" might also be worth a try.

Also, have you tried changing the 'Graphics driver' setting to something else in the winsetup.exe program?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Quest for Glory II Remake: Technical FAQ & user workarounds
PostPosted: Sat Sep 06, 2008 4:47 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2008 4:11 am
Posts: 3
okay, I updated DirecxtX and my dirvers. And it works now! Thankyou so much.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Quest for Glory II Remake: Technical FAQ & user workarounds
PostPosted: Wed Sep 10, 2008 4:49 am 
Offline
Peasant Status
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2008 3:20 pm
Posts: 7
Is there any command line switch I can add to auto-lock the mouse to the game window? I play it windowed and would really like it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Quest for Glory II Remake: Technical FAQ & user workarounds
PostPosted: Fri Sep 12, 2008 10:23 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 9:58 pm
Posts: 5
Hi there. I'm having a bit of a problem with QFG2VGA and I was wondering if I could get some help.

I'm running QFG2 on a 2007 Macbook in Windows XP under Boot Camp, using the default settings. For the most part it runs really well. The problem is when I move the mouse cursor up to the drop down bar and then back down to the screen. Going up the screen lightens, and going down the screen darkens. If I do this repeatedly it becomes drastic, to the point where the colors are completely inverted going down or completely washed out going up. Going to the save dialogue resets the colors, but it still makes the game almost unplayable because I check my stats and inventory and cast spells rather often.

I have the latest version of DirectX... is there something else I could be missing? I just put Windows on this computer. I haven't tried the latest version yet but I will now (luckily I'm only on Day 1!).

Thank you!

EDIT: So I tried the new version, but still get the weird tint problem. It only starts occurring after I've been playing for 15 minutes or so.

Also, the game now freezes when I save, but forcing a minimize with the apple (er, windows) key and reentering the game unfreezes it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Quest for Glory II Remake: Technical FAQ & user workarounds
PostPosted: Wed Sep 17, 2008 8:38 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Wed Sep 17, 2008 8:34 pm
Posts: 1
Ive tried every setting and cant get this thing to work. My computer is able to run premium graphics content on a lot of new games so not sure whats up with this. All my drivers etc are all up to date.

Graphics Card Manufacturer Powered by ATI
Graphics Chipset ATI Radeon HD 2600 Series AGP
Device ID 9586
Vendor 1002

Subsystem ID 0028
Subsystem Vendor ID 1545

Graphics Bus Capability AGP
Maximum Bus Setting AGP 8X

BIOS Version 010.051.000.002
BIOS Part Number 113-AB29301-100-IT
BIOS Date 2007/07/13

Memory Size 512 MB
Memory Type DDR3

Core Clock in MHz 800 MHz
Memory Clock in MHz 700 MHz

Primary Display Yes


Attachments:
Untitled-1.jpg
Untitled-1.jpg [ 127.19 KiB | Viewed 8122 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Quest for Glory II Remake: Technical FAQ & user workarounds
PostPosted: Thu Sep 18, 2008 11:03 am 
Offline
The Prince of Shapeir

Joined: Tue May 08, 2001 4:12 am
Posts: 8872
Location: Phobos
Try running the setup program and using the 2x Nearest-Neighbour graphic filter from the drop-down menu. Failing that, use no filter from the drop-down menu, but change the game resolution to 640x400 and see if that helps.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Quest for Glory II Remake: Technical FAQ & user workarounds
PostPosted: Thu Dec 11, 2008 3:33 am 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2008 3:17 am
Posts: 1
Ok, i made a little loader that could fix the dual core issue. Normally, i could just do ctrl-alt-del and then set the affinity to one cpu but sometime when i do that, the game shut down without warning, even with the 1.1 version.

It use a hotkey so just run the loader and press F11 within the game and the process should set itself to one cpu only.

-=Get it here=-

Oh and thanx again to all who made this remake come to life.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Quest for Glory II Remake: Technical FAQ & user workarou
PostPosted: Sun Dec 18, 2011 2:18 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Sun Dec 18, 2011 2:15 pm
Posts: 2
I can't install the game! Downloading was fine, but can open the file to install. Tried downloading again & again, but problem still persists!

Help! I wanna play the game! :cry


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Quest for Glory II Remake: Technical FAQ & user workarou
PostPosted: Thu Jul 26, 2012 2:03 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2012 1:39 pm
Posts: 1
Cheers all!

As many have done I'll preface this by saying thank you very much for the outstanding remake! I've always skipped QFG2 in the past due go it's EGA graphics and gone straight from QFG1VGA to QFG3 so I've enjoyed playing this very much and feel the mythology is very enriched by it. It makes me feel like I'm 14 all over again!

That being said, I too have developed the dreaded "slow down" issue and am at a loss as to it's cause.


My system is... More than adequate to run this game. Here are my specs:

Intel i5 2500k water cooled
16G g.Skill RAM
EVGA GTX-570 nVidia GPU
120G OCZ SSD
Creative Labs X-Fi Titanium Sound Card
Win7 64bit

This setup allows me to run games like Battlefield 3 at 60fps on resolutions of 1920x1200.


Needless to say, it should be massively overkill for this program. When I first installed and ran the program it was great! Super fast, almost to fast. About 2 days into playing (110pts) everything suddenly ground to a hault. Mind you'd I'd opened and closed the program many times and it ran fine, but suddenly it's like I hit a brick wall.

So I figured maybe it's a memory leak. Ok, reboot, no change. Maybe it's and issue with the save file? Create a new character, no change. Maybe it's an issue with a cache file on the program? Uninstalled and reinstalled in a completely new folder, no change.

At this point I'm at a loss. If it was slow to begin with I'd buy its a system issue. But to suddenly hit this wall is maddening. I'll do mya best to finish the game so I can export my character, but I really wish there was a fix to this.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Quest for Glory II Remake: Technical FAQ & user workarou
PostPosted: Wed Dec 26, 2012 3:38 am 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2012 3:13 am
Posts: 1
On mac os Mountain Lion when i execute it I can see the icon running and some options appear but the game never loads.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Quest for Glory II Remake: Technical FAQ & user workarou
PostPosted: Sat Feb 09, 2013 3:39 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2013 3:31 pm
Posts: 5
legendicus wrote:
On mac os Mountain Lion when i execute it I can see the icon running and some options appear but the game never loads.


I spent forever trying to figure it out and came across this link:
http://portingteam.com/tutorials/articl ... -or-newer/

It takes like 2 minutes max and the step by step video shows you exactly what to do. It's the wineskin app that comes inside the QFG2 app that needs to be updated. So follow this and you'll be good to go!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Quest for Glory II Remake: Technical FAQ & user workarou
PostPosted: Mon Feb 10, 2014 5:14 am 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Mon Feb 10, 2014 5:10 am
Posts: 1
Hi. I'm playing this game on Ubuntu using WINE, and have found a strange problem. Everything in the game up until now (day 4) has worked, but I just discovered that I cannot sidekick or throw daggers in combat. I've tried re-defining the keys, restarting the game as a different character... for some reason the game just acts like these options don't exist in combat. Any ideas as to what might cause the problem and how to solve it?

Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group