It is currently Tue Oct 24, 2017 9:42 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: QG2 issues.
PostPosted: Wed Sep 03, 2008 6:39 am 
Offline
Peasant Status
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 6:16 am
Posts: 7
Location: Los Angeles, CA
First I'd like to congratulate the developers on what is (so far) a great game, and the two previous amazing games as well! Thanks for your hard work!

I had been playing the Quest for Glory II remake for a few days happily, when I noticed that my character's walking/sneaking/running speed had suddenly decreased dramatically. I also noticed that the animations had become a little choppy. I've tried every different reasonable combination of settings I can think of, but none of it seems to help. I did have an issue with the audio as well in that it was also choppy, but I fixed by changing a setting.

I'm running WinXP & the game is in 640x400. This still does occur in 320x200 as well. Has anybody else run into this problem?

_________________
Let me hear you make decisions without your televisions.

"There are no facts, only interpretations."
- Friedrich Nietzsche


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QG2 issues.
PostPosted: Wed Sep 03, 2008 7:11 am 
Offline
The Prince of Shapeir

Joined: Tue May 08, 2001 4:12 am
Posts: 8872
Location: Phobos
Hmm, have you checked the in-game options menu to see if the game speed slider has been lowered. By default it should be set somewhere around the middle of the slider-bar or just below that point.

Also, do you have the latest version of DirectX installed, as well as the latest version of your video card's drivers?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QG2 issues.
PostPosted: Wed Sep 03, 2008 7:18 am 
Offline
Peasant Status
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 6:16 am
Posts: 7
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Hm, no, I seem to be using DirectX 9. I'll attempt an upgrade and let you know how it goes...

_________________
Let me hear you make decisions without your televisions.

"There are no facts, only interpretations."
- Friedrich Nietzsche


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QG2 issues.
PostPosted: Wed Sep 03, 2008 7:26 am 
Offline
Peasant Status
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 6:16 am
Posts: 7
Location: Los Angeles, CA
I installed DX10 and while the game runs a little more smoothly, it's still choppy, including the character travel speed.

Oh, and the speed slider is set to the top.

Any other ideas?

_________________
Let me hear you make decisions without your televisions.

"There are no facts, only interpretations."
- Friedrich Nietzsche


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QG2 issues.
PostPosted: Wed Sep 03, 2008 3:26 pm 
Offline
Royal Vizier Status
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2004 6:20 am
Posts: 2047
Location: Somewhere in Ohio...
You did say you could still sneak, but to be sure, check your inventory. Are you overloaded?

_________________
There is balance in all things. Live in symmetry with the world around you. If you must blow things up and steal from those around you, THAT'S WHAT RPGS ARE FOR!

Official Member of the VGL Street Team
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QG2 issues.
PostPosted: Thu Sep 04, 2008 2:21 am 
Offline
Peasant Status
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 6:16 am
Posts: 7
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Nope. I'm underloaded! I need more stuff!

Okay, but I really doubt it's something in-game like that as it's all of the animation that's choppy & stutter-y.

_________________
Let me hear you make decisions without your televisions.

"There are no facts, only interpretations."
- Friedrich Nietzsche


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QG2 issues.
PostPosted: Thu Sep 04, 2008 2:22 pm 
Offline
The Prince of Shapeir

Joined: Tue May 08, 2001 4:12 am
Posts: 8872
Location: Phobos
Are you playing with a graphics filter enabled in the winsetup.exe program? If so, try disabling that.

It may also have something to do with the sound driver, which you could also experiment with changing.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QG2 issues.
PostPosted: Thu Sep 04, 2008 5:34 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 6:16 am
Posts: 7
Location: Los Angeles, CA
No graphics filter, and I'm using DirectSound (Hardware mixer) because that was the only one that would work at the time without sounding choppy, mysteriously.

_________________
Let me hear you make decisions without your televisions.

"There are no facts, only interpretations."
- Friedrich Nietzsche


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QG2 issues.
PostPosted: Fri Sep 05, 2008 3:24 am 
Offline
Peasant Status
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 6:16 am
Posts: 7
Location: Los Angeles, CA
I tried multiple different settings (and combinations of settings) & still can't get it to work properly. I've attached a screenshot of how I have it set.

Help?


Attachments:
qg2.JPG
qg2.JPG [ 89.86 KiB | Viewed 1255 times ]

_________________
Let me hear you make decisions without your televisions.

"There are no facts, only interpretations."
- Friedrich Nietzsche
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QG2 issues.
PostPosted: Sat Sep 06, 2008 7:30 am 
Offline
Peasant Status
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 6:16 am
Posts: 7
Location: Los Angeles, CA
I think I solved the problem.

I rebooted. :o


Thanks for the suggestions!

_________________
Let me hear you make decisions without your televisions.

"There are no facts, only interpretations."
- Friedrich Nietzsche


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group