It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 1:28 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Saved character has the wrong class
PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2008 2:12 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2008 1:44 pm
Posts: 4
I played through QFG2 as a fighter imported from QFG1. I'm a "powergamer" which means I like to max my stats - for QFG that involves creating heroes with every skill. I create hybrids - I find this to be the most fun since I can solve puzzles in different ways. For example, when I finished QFG2, I broke down the palace door (using the fighter solution). I levitated down to Khaveen. Then I kicked Khaveen's ass (by the way, Khaveen is impossible to beat when the skill slider bar is maxed, even with straight 200's in every stat - he parried 100% of my attacks). I used magic to open Ad Avis' trapped door, and then I finished the game using the mage sequence (trigger on the statute, fetch on the candle, reversal on myself, and forcebolt on the lantern). I had reversal, which meant I had completed W.I.T. earlier in the game.

I exported my fighter (the QFG2 credits screen clearly displayed Fighter), but when I imported in QFG3, QFG3 recognized the character as a Wizard.

I have included a zip that includes both the sav files I used - glory1.sav from QFG1 VGA, and the resulting glory2.sav that was exported from QFG2.


Attachments:
savs.zip [356 Bytes]
Downloaded 74 times
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Saved character has the wrong class
PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2008 2:30 pm 
Offline
Forum Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2001 8:28 pm
Posts: 11434
Location: The Netherlands
Khaveen isn't impossible to defeat on max difficulty. I beat him on hard all the time. You do need good stats and playing skill though.

As for the export...correct. It's not specifically QFG2VGA. Creating a character with all spells in the original EGA and exporting him also causes QFG3 to think you're a wizard. We assume QFG3 uses a few shaky criteria to determine player's class. Anyway, at the start, you can manually pick a class, so there's no permanent issue there.

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group