Help with my game

This is a public forum, where you can find out everything you wanted to know about making games. Please don't use this forum as a place to recruit new members.

Moderators: adeyke, VampD3, eriqchang, Angelus3K

CaptainM
Peasant Status

Help with my game

#1 Post by CaptainM » Sat Jul 05, 2008 8:30 pm

Hey everyone. I'm trying to make a sierra style game. I have only two screens of background art done so far, but I'd just like some input to make them better. I'm really new at this, so here is number 1:

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

pass
Royal Servant Status

#2 Post by pass » Sun Jul 06, 2008 8:44 pm

First off, let me tell you it looks very good. Now, I'm no artist myself, but:

The room looks a little too "square". You might wanna cut some corners in the hedges on the side, or add some big bushes that stick out into the main area.
The color of the right tree looks a little too light.
Otherwise.... There's something else bothering my eye, but I can't quite put my finger on it...

It's good overall, though. Keep up the good work!

xKiv
Peasant Status

#3 Post by xKiv » Sun Jul 06, 2008 10:32 pm

The perspective seems to be a little too off:
The ground and water-in-well look like we are up in the air and looking a bit downward, but the vertical surfaces look like we are down and looking horizontally.

CaptainM
Peasant Status

#4 Post by CaptainM » Sun Jul 06, 2008 11:36 pm

Ok thanks for the input!

@ xKiv: How would you reccomend fixing the perspective problem? I think I'd rather keep the well and fix everything else. I think it looks the best out of anything. Like it could almost be in a real sierra game.

But thanks a lot for the input! I'll see what I can do.

xKiv
Peasant Status

#5 Post by xKiv » Mon Jul 07, 2008 11:27 am

I don't really know. Try finding some place that looks somewhat like this - watch it, get photos, ...
Look for tutorials on perspective (or isometric graphics?).
Take art classes/degree =)