Another question for artists

This is a public forum, where you can find out everything you wanted to know about making games. Please don't use this forum as a place to recruit new members.

Moderators: adeyke, VampD3, eriqchang, Angelus3K

duckwizard
Peasant Status

Another question for artists

#1 Post by duckwizard » Thu Mar 03, 2011 1:59 am

OK, the reason I asked the art questions earlier: I'm a programmer and by no means an artist. I'm always complaining to myself (not out loud or anything) that I would totally make a super sweet adventure game except that I don't have the resources to get the art done and without great art there isn't any point in starting a project.

Well, KQ3R really inspired me to try and make a really simple AGS game. And I decided "you know what? I always complain about my lack of artistic resources but I have never actually TRIED to do any game art." So I decided to give it a shot. I read some tutorials, examined some of my favorite adventure game art, and started painting in Photoshop. And to my surprise, my first attempt started turning out well. Like, shockingly well considering it was my first try. I made a tree. And it looks pretty OK. (hang on, I'm getting to my actual question)

I also laid down some grass. And I think it looks OK considering the stage it's in - just flat color with a little texture. And I want to go in and start adding highlights and shadows. But here's where I'm running into a wall: I just cannot seem to visualize the contour of the landscape I'm trying to achieve.

So here's my question: Do you guys decide what the contour is going to be first? Or do you just dive in and start making highlights? Other than shadows for objects, how do you decide where to place highlights and shadows?

Take for example this screen from KQ3R: