It is currently Mon Dec 11, 2017 10:51 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Do You Think Kqvga2 Should Have Voice Actors
PostPosted: Mon Oct 29, 2001 4:36 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Tue Oct 23, 2001 2:49 pm
Posts: 26
<FONT FACE="Verdana,Arial" SIZE=2>Do You Think Kings Quest 2 Vga Should Have Voice Actors</FONT><br><br><FONT FACE="Verdana,Arial" SIZE=2><B>Results (total votes = 116):</B></FONT><table bgcolor=#FFFFFF border=0 cellpadding=3 cellspacing=0 width="75%"><tbody><tr><td bgcolor="#000000" colspan=3 height=1></tr><TR BGCOLOR=#3299CC><TD NOWRAP><FONT FACE="Verdana,Arial" SIZE=2>Yes</FONT> </td><td height><FONT FACE="Verdana,Arial" SIZE=2>89 / 76.7%</FONT> </td><td><img src=http://www.ezboard.com/images/bar.gif width=230 height=10 hspace=3> </td></tr><tr><td bgcolor="#000000" colspan=3 height=1></tr><TR BGCOLOR=#3299CC><TD NOWRAP><FONT FACE="Verdana,Arial" SIZE=2>Maybe</FONT> </td><td height><FONT FACE="Verdana,Arial" SIZE=2>13 / 11.2%</FONT> </td><td><img src=http://www.ezboard.com/images/bar.gif width=33 height=10 hspace=3> </td></tr><tr><td bgcolor="#000000" colspan=3 height=1></tr><TR BGCOLOR=#3299CC><TD NOWRAP><FONT FACE="Verdana,Arial" SIZE=2>No</FONT> </td><td height><FONT FACE="Verdana,Arial" SIZE=2>14 / 12.1%</FONT> </td><td><img src=http://www.ezboard.com/images/bar.gif width=36 height=10 hspace=3> </td></tr><tr><td bgcolor="#000000" colspan=3 height=1></tr></tbody></table> <p></p><i></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Hmmm....
PostPosted: Mon Oct 29, 2001 6:12 pm 
Offline
Forum Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2001 8:28 pm
Posts: 11434
Location: The Netherlands
Since only Cadbury and the AGD's know of the plot, I really don't have a good vision on how many lines will be included. The choice to exclude a narrator for all the normal messages in the game was the only option left to prevent a voice add-on from taking on monstrous size. (and a monstrous amount of time to record as well)<br><br>My first reaction could be "yes", but if the plot has too many dialogues and the resulting file would be bigger than, say, 40 MB, then I say "no". <p></p><i></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Hmmm....
PostPosted: Mon Oct 29, 2001 7:04 pm 
Offline
Royal Scribe

Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 3:20 pm
Posts: 1269
40MB?<br><br>Try 400MB. (Though the AGCs may have a better idea.) <p></p><i></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Hmmm....
PostPosted: Mon Oct 29, 2001 9:42 pm 
Offline
Forum Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2001 8:28 pm
Posts: 11434
Location: The Netherlands
I assume that's another way to say: "lots of dialogue"? <p></p><i></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Hmmm....
PostPosted: Tue Oct 30, 2001 3:07 pm 
Offline
Royal Scribe

Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 3:20 pm
Posts: 1269
You could say that. It is the result of my belief that, without at least semi-developed characters, you don't have a story (that is worth telling).<br><br>Then again, 'Myst' sold well... <p></p><i></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Hmmm....
PostPosted: Tue Oct 30, 2001 3:34 pm 
Offline
Forum Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2001 8:28 pm
Posts: 11434
Location: The Netherlands
I share that belief. It seems the only time people use the term "1-dimensional" is when describing the NPC's of a game without a big plot. <p></p><i></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Yes, but...
PostPosted: Wed Oct 31, 2001 9:52 am 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2001 8:17 am
Posts: 5
That may be true, but dialogue is not the only way to develop a character. A character's actions are at least as telling as what he/she says, and a character who is only developed through dialogue can be just as boring.<br><br>That said, I have to admit the dialogue-heavy Gabriel Knight game (the first) had the most well-developed characters of any game I've played. So dialogue is important, but "more dialogue = better developed characters" is not necessarily true. <p></p><i></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: No.
PostPosted: Wed Oct 31, 2001 10:55 am 
Online
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2001 6:01 am
Posts: 1718
Location: Bühlerzell, Germany
While it would be nice to just have a full recording of professional quality voices magically appear without taking up any disk space, this isn't going to happen. The amount of work, the time it takes to finish and the size of the download would be too big. I'd rather have the time spent on making a new game <!--EZCODE EMOTICON START :) --><img src=http://www.ezboard.com/intl/aenglish/images/emoticons/smile.gif ALT=":)"><!--EZCODE EMOTICON END--> . <p></p><i></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: YES!
PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2002 6:41 am 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2002 5:09 am
Posts: 16
You can't go and make the first one have it and then make the second not it's like taking away from what you do. I'm willing to download 40mbs or more for vox. If you don't want vox don't download it. Why give us soemthing in the first one and snatch it right back. It's like being a Indian Giver. <p>--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------REMAKE THE LAURA BOW COLLECTION PLEASE!</p><i></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: YES!
PostPosted: Tue Apr 09, 2002 4:26 am 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Mon Mar 18, 2002 11:28 am
Posts: 4
I kind of agree with you, It would be great if they could have voices, but hey, I'm thanking tierra for just making KQ1VGA, that there even making KQ2VGa, with a great musical score is as fantastic and unbelieve as say....... Nixon going to china.<br><br><br><br><br><br>" There's an Old Vulcan Proverb : Only Nixon could go to China"-Spock StarTrek VI <p></p><i></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Do You Think Kqvga2 Should Have Voice Actors
PostPosted: Sat Jun 01, 2002 3:00 am 
I'm guessing the three people that voted "no" are Cadbury and the AGDs. <p></p><i></i>


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Do You Think Kqvga2 Should Have Voice Actors
PostPosted: Sat Jun 01, 2002 3:29 am 
Offline
Archival Expert
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2001 8:21 am
Posts: 2432
I just voted no as well. I don't see it as a contradiction that KQ1VGA had voices and KQ2 won't. When I play KQ1VGA I play w/o the voices anyway. Voices are cool, but it takes a lot of technical and practical skill to make voices actually work good in a game, regardless of whether they're cool or not - and nevermind just the time that it requires. Sidenote: I think Lucasarts succeeded a lot more at good voice games, whereas Sierra was only average (in comparison - Sierra's were mostly good for Sierra-type games)<br><br>By the way AGS is implementing MP3 support for the voice files now, and that should have some impact on file sizes. <p></p><i></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Do You Think Kqvga2 Should Have Voice Actors
PostPosted: Sun Jun 02, 2002 7:54 am 
Offline
Knight Status

Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2002 12:35 am
Posts: 276
<!--EZCODE QUOTE START--><blockquote><b><i>Quote:</i></b><hr> I just voted no as well. I don't see it as a contradiction that KQ1VGA had voices and KQ2 won't. When I play KQ1VGA I play w/o the voices anyway. Voices are cool, but it takes a lot of technical and practical skill to make voices actually work good in a game, regardless of whether they're cool or not...<hr></blockquote><!--EZCODE QUOTE END--><br><br>You don't think the voices in KQ1VGA were good? That's interesting. Well, to each his own, I suppose. <!--EZCODE EMOTICON START :) --><img src=http://www.ezboard.com/intl/aenglish/images/emoticons/smile.gif ALT=":)"><!--EZCODE EMOTICON END--> <p></p><i>Edited by: <A HREF=http://pub57.ezboard.com/utheinfamousmechasonic.showPublicProfile?language=EN>The Infamous Mecha Sonic</A>  <IMG HEIGHT=10 WIDTH=10 SRC="http://skybusiness.com/hhquek1/littlemechasonic.gif" BORDER=0> at: 6/2/02 2:55:33 am<br></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Voice Acting
PostPosted: Fri Jul 26, 2002 12:01 am 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2001 6:59 am
Posts: 12
Perhaps there could be voice acting limited to the cutscenes (intro, ending, important happenings, etc.). It may just be the actress talking, but I'd love to have the chance to voice for Tierra again. But even more so if they decided to have voices for QFG2 <!--EZCODE EMOTICON START ;) --><img src=http://www.ezboard.com/intl/aenglish/images/emoticons/wink.gif ALT=";)"><!--EZCODE EMOTICON END--> . <p></p><i></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Voice Acting
PostPosted: Sat Nov 23, 2002 8:52 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Sat Nov 23, 2002 8:35 pm
Posts: 5
Voices would be cool.<br><br>I don't think big files (100Mb +) are problem for the players.<br><br>Every 6 months more and more people have some form of broadband internet and downloading big files isn't a problem.<br><br>Even if you don't have that almost everybody (at least the target audience for this game) has the means of downloading it soemwhere else (work, friend, family) and burn a simple CD to take home.<br><br>The real problem I guess is: Can Tierra affort the cost of putting so much megs online for free download ? I really hope they get all help needed from us in this department<br><br> <p></p><i>Edited by: <A HREF=http://pub57.ezboard.com/broyalquestforums.showUserPublicProfile?gid=qwertius>Qwertius</A> at: 11/23/02 2:53:02 pm<br></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Voice Acting
PostPosted: Sat Nov 23, 2002 9:27 pm 
Offline
Forum Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2001 8:28 pm
Posts: 11434
Location: The Netherlands
Storing the whole thing isn't really THAT much of a problem since we can use Ogg Vorbis for sound now. The real problem is that it'd probably take another year or so to record and script everything in and we wouldn't be able to do anything else in the meantime.<br><br><!--EZCODE IMAGE START--><img src="http://httpd.chello.nl/c.vanempel/Nashshp.jpg"/><!--EZCODE IMAGE END--> <p></p><i></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Voice Acting
PostPosted: Thu Nov 28, 2002 8:26 pm 
Offline
The Master of All Things Musical
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 8:57 pm
Posts: 4025
Location: Manitoba, Canada
thats why i posted in another topic that it would be kool to have a separate team (or sub-company. it could be called something like Waveform - Part of the Tierra Family <!--EZCODE EMOTICON START :) --><img src=http://www.ezboard.com/intl/aenglish/images/emoticons/smile.gif ALT=":)"><!--EZCODE EMOTICON END--> or Tierra-Waveform) that takes care of voicepacks for Tierra's games. they could rescript it all and record the voices and everything. only thing is, would they be willing to spend a year just doing a voicepack for a game?<br><br>its an imporobable idea i know but its still a kool 'what if' to throw out. <p>"Requires MCGA, CGA, VGA, PGA, or TA-RA-RA-BOOMGA!!" -Gary Owens, SQ4</p><i></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Voice Acting
PostPosted: Fri Dec 06, 2002 2:56 am 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2002 7:06 am
Posts: 269
Location: USA
<!--EZCODE QUOTE START--><blockquote><strong><em>Quote:</em></strong><hr>"I don't think big files (100Mb +) are problem for the players."<hr></blockquote><!--EZCODE QUOTE END--><br><br>Speak for yourself. 100 megs would take me roughly twenty hours to download, probably a couple hours more what with the slow connection I've been getting lately. <p>~El Ravager~</p><i></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Voice Acting
PostPosted: Tue Dec 10, 2002 2:00 pm 
Offline
Hero For Hire
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2002 5:58 am
Posts: 1081
Location: Texas
I posted a topic like that one a loooooong time ago myself, MusicallyInspired. I think that's what Tierra should do. I'd love to offer up my talents as a voice actor to something like this. Acting is what I do, and to be a part of something like this would be truly amazing. I say do it.<br><br>If I remember correctly, AGD2 claimed nobody could ever decipher his scripting, but I refuse to be deterred! <p>-----------------------<br>Kurt Rayner<br><br>Under the stars I'm alone among strangers confused, connected, diffused, and maligned. Maybe the future will smile on me, or maybe the future is here tonight...cuz it's a beautiful night...</p><i></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Do You Think Kqvga2 Should Have Voice Actors
PostPosted: Fri Dec 20, 2002 12:36 am 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Thu Dec 19, 2002 11:38 pm
Posts: 5
Voice acting takes away from games just as often as it adds to them. More than half of the time, voice acting is either poorly recorded, poorly performed, or both. I'd much rather have a great soundtrack, let the writers include as much dialogue as they choose, and leave the rest to my imagination. <br><br>Including voice in an adventure game is a logistical nightmare. I think that KQIIVGA is fine just the way it is. <p>http://www.mp3.com/P_o_T</p><i></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Kids might enjoy the game better with voices
PostPosted: Tue Dec 31, 2002 6:53 pm 
I loved KQ2VGA, and I don't mind the fact that there are no voices in the game, but two days ago I realised that I really missed them. My cousins visited my family that day, and I got one of them (7 years old) to play KQ2VGA, thinking that he'll enjoy it like the previous KQs (with speech). When the game started, I had to read every line to him, because he never reads anything! I think he became bored after that, because he never returned to play that game after eating ice cream. The other cousin (aged 9) would rather play Escape from Monkey Island than KQ2VGA. I can't help thinking that it's because of the lack of voices. <br><br>I understand that creating a voice pack is tedious, so I won't push for it. <p></p><i></i>


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Maybe...
PostPosted: Wed Jan 01, 2003 10:36 am 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2002 9:30 am
Posts: 0
It could be worked on in spare time.<br><br>I DON'T CARE ANYMORE! I WANT A VOICE PACK! <!--EZCODE EMOTICON START :p --><img src=http://www.ezboard.com/intl/aenglish/images/emoticons/tongue.gif ALT=":p"><!--EZCODE EMOTICON END--> <p></p><i></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Definitly
PostPosted: Fri Mar 14, 2003 5:13 am 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Fri Mar 14, 2003 4:42 am
Posts: 14
I think it should have voice acting because that would make the game a whole lot better.<br><br>The only problem is that it would take a heck of a long time to download it.<br><br>hat <p></p><i></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Definitly
PostPosted: Tue Mar 16, 2004 10:44 pm 
Offline
Knight Status

Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2003 3:30 am
Posts: 416
I agree, it would take too long to download. KQ2VGA shouldn't have a voice pack. At all. <p></p><i></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Too late....................................................
PostPosted: Wed Mar 17, 2004 1:50 am 
Offline
King of Men
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 13, 2002 9:10 pm
Posts: 2373
Location: Balamb Garden
<!--EZCODE QUOTE START--><blockquote><strong><em>Quote:</em></strong><hr>I agree, it would take too long to download. KQ2VGA shouldn't have a voice pack. At all.<hr></blockquote><!--EZCODE QUOTE END--><br><br>* The Knight notices date posted *<br>You do realize there is already a voice pack out for KQ2:RTS, right? <p>The Knight<br><!--EZCODE IMAGE START--><img src="http://www.eternal-anubis.com/Images/Aragornsig.jpg" style="border:0;"/><!--EZCODE IMAGE END--><br><br>"I see in your eyes, the same fear that would take the heart of me.<br>A day may come when the courage of men fails.<br>When we forsake our friends and break all bonds of fellowship but it is not this day.<br>This day we fight!"</p><i></i>


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group