It is currently Sun Oct 22, 2017 11:41 am

All times are UTC




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 49 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue May 13, 2003 6:40 pm 
Offline
Royal Servant Status
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2002 5:07 pm
Posts: 63


Last edited by The LucasFan on Sat Nov 20, 2004 1:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: OHhhhh................................................
PostPosted: Tue May 13, 2003 8:15 pm 
Offline
King of Men
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 13, 2002 9:10 pm
Posts: 2373
Location: Balamb Garden
I'm checking it out now. I'll also drop by the chat if anyone wants to join me. <!--EZCODE EMOTICON START ;) --><img src=http://www.ezboard.com/intl/aenglish/images/emoticons/wink.gif ALT=";)"><!--EZCODE EMOTICON END--> <!--EZCODE EMOTICON START ;) --><img src=http://www.ezboard.com/intl/aenglish/images/emoticons/wink.gif ALT=";)"><!--EZCODE EMOTICON END--> <p>The Knight<br><!--EZCODE IMAGE START--><img src="http://www.shadowwebs.co.uk/images/draco-and-harrytheknight.jpg" style="border:0;"/><!--EZCODE IMAGE END--></p><i></i>


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: OHhhhh................................................
PostPosted: Wed May 14, 2003 6:47 pm 
Offline
Seto Kaiba Fangirl
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2003 11:07 am
Posts: 639
brinkster isn't that great..a few good sites that are on that server tend to be down a lot due to lack of bandwidth. Plus, look at their premiun x10 package...$100 a MONTH plus $60 for set up? Can we say RIP OFF?<br><br>For a free host, the best place I can think of is geocities, they only have that one little ad. Although bandwidth kinda sucks, but it re-sets every hour.<br><br>Or if they still offer free hosting, tbns.net. That where my first site was. The note saying I moved is still there, and my second site (with note pointing to domain) is also still there. It's 20 megs, uploaded through browser (html only, you cut and past it, unless the changed it), and last time I looked a few months ago, they were ad free. I don't know about bandwidth though. <p></p><i></i>


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: OHhhhh................................................
PostPosted: Wed May 14, 2003 6:56 pm 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2003 5:26 pm
Posts: 439
Gee TakariFreak, you seem to have an exceptional wide range of knowledge of these hosts, web design, layouts, images, general knowledge and HTML! <!--EZCODE EMOTICON START ;) --><img src=http://www.ezboard.com/intl/aenglish/images/emoticons/wink.gif ALT=";)"><!--EZCODE EMOTICON END--> <p><!--EZCODE IMAGE START--><img src="http://www.southwest.com.au/~jackie/my_signature.jpg" style="border:0;"/><!--EZCODE IMAGE END--></p><i></i>


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: OHhhhh................................................
PostPosted: Wed May 14, 2003 7:06 pm 
Offline
Seto Kaiba Fangirl
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 06, 2003 11:07 am
Posts: 639
Well thank you! It all takes time, research, and just general experience from messing around. I've been making sites for probably 3 1/2 years now. My first one wasn't too bad actually, but I still sucked compared to what I can do now. (part of it is that back then, there really weren't many general and collective domains, and nobody really knew advanced or even intermiediate HTML tricks, except for company websites and HUGE fansites).<br><br>A lot of sites out there have tips for people, and although it's controversial, "take" someone's source, play with it, and learn their html. It helps a lot. But don't EVER just copy and edit their layouts. It's one thing to use their source codes to learn their tricks, because (unless they wrote their own java or cgi script), HTML is free for everyone to use, but it's a total different (not to mention illegal) thing to strait copy it. <p></p><i></i>


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: OHhhhh................................................
PostPosted: Wed May 14, 2003 10:38 pm 
Offline
Archival Expert
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2001 8:21 am
Posts: 2432
TBNS.net has ads as far as I'm aware. Also, I think I recall their interface (no FTP), and I hated it. If a service doesn't offer FTP for uploading your files, it's never worth it. I had a one-page site there for a short time - guess what, it's still there!<br><br>Anyway, it may be of interest to read the second diary entry. Since it talks about the KQ2VGA cutscene!<br><br><!--EZCODE AUTOLINK START--><a href="http://www.tbns.net/relight/">www.tbns.net/relight/</a><!--EZCODE AUTOLINK END--> <p></p><i></i>


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: good hosting
PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2003 11:09 am 
Offline
Royal Servant Status
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2003 12:57 pm
Posts: 101
Location: Roswell, Georgia
I'm hosted through <!--EZCODE AUTOLINK START--><a href="httP://www.hostforweb.com.">www.hostforweb.com.</a><!--EZCODE AUTOLINK END--> Pretty good prices, and their service is unbeatable. <p></p><i></i>


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Tierra VS. Tierra
PostPosted: Sat May 17, 2003 3:15 am 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2003 3:01 am
Posts: 334
Location: South Africa
<!--EZCODE EMOTICON START :| --><img src=http://www.ezboard.com/intl/aenglish/images/emoticons/indifferent.gif ALT=":|"><!--EZCODE EMOTICON END--> <br><br>I jus't saw the updated version of the official website of Tierra and the fansite Tierra.<br><br>I like the official one better, so now im gonna take the fansite off my favoute list.<br><br><!--EZCODE EMOTICON START :b --><img src=http://www.ezboard.com/intl/aenglish/images/emoticons/tongue.gif ALT=":b"><!--EZCODE EMOTICON END--> Sorry fansite, you lose. <p></p><i></i>


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Tierra VS. Tierra
PostPosted: Sat May 17, 2003 6:29 pm 
Offline
The Enigma
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2003 1:00 am
Posts: 2601
Location: UK
NOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!! <!--EZCODE EMOTICON START :cry --><img src=http://users.domaindlx.com/broomie/cry.gif ALT=":cry"><!--EZCODE EMOTICON END--> <br><br>Do not fear, I'm working on it right now...<!--EZCODE EMOTICON START ;) --><img src=http://www.ezboard.com/intl/aenglish/images/emoticons/wink.gif ALT=";)"><!--EZCODE EMOTICON END--> <br><br>Maybe tomorrow it'll be more updated. <!--EZCODE EMOTICON START 8) --><img src=http://www.ezboard.com/intl/aenglish/images/emoticons/glasses.gif ALT="8)"><!--EZCODE EMOTICON END--> <p><!--EZCODE HR START--><hr /><!--EZCODE HR END--><br><!--EZCODE IMAGE START--><img src="http://users.domaindlx.com/broomie/broomiesiga.jpg" style="border:0;"/><!--EZCODE IMAGE END--><br><br>"Who am I? I'm Spiderman" Peter Parker</p><i></i>


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Tierra VS. Tierra
PostPosted: Sat May 17, 2003 6:51 pm 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2003 5:26 pm
Posts: 439
Cool. I'm still working on my site...some image gallery...hardly any images....<!--EZCODE EMOTICON START :\ --><img src=http://www.ezboard.com/intl/aenglish/images/emoticons/ohwell.gif ALT=":\"><!--EZCODE EMOTICON END--> <p><!--EZCODE IMAGE START--><img src="http://www.southwest.com.au/~jackie/my_signature.jpg" style="border:0;"/><!--EZCODE IMAGE END--></p><i></i>


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: ...
PostPosted: Sun May 18, 2003 3:37 am 
Offline
Knight Status

Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2002 12:35 am
Posts: 276
Geocities?<br><br>Ha. Ha. Hahahahahahahahahaha.<br><br>I recommend Tripod. Twenty megs, good bandwith, and one banner (which can be removed, albeit illegally) to contend with. A lot better than being flooded with six or seven pop-ups per page as I just was. :P <p></p><i></i>


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: ...
PostPosted: Sun May 18, 2003 5:06 am 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2003 5:26 pm
Posts: 439
According to my calculations...<br><br>When you initially visit the site, (the index page), 3 ads appear. 2 of them are from the hosting company and 1 of them is from your Sub-domain hosting company.<br><br>When you click a hyperlink anywhere else on your site, then 2 ads appear.<br><br>Maybe that might help you Broomie...<!--EZCODE EMOTICON START ;) --><img src=http://www.ezboard.com/intl/aenglish/images/emoticons/wink.gif ALT=";)"><!--EZCODE EMOTICON END--> <p><!--EZCODE IMAGE START--><img src="http://www.southwest.com.au/~jackie/my_signature.jpg" style="border:0;"/><!--EZCODE IMAGE END--></p><i></i>


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: ...
PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2003 1:11 am 
Offline
The Icelandic Guest
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2001 7:49 pm
Posts: 1697
Optic the image you always leave here doesn´t appear to me.<br>It always display an empty box with "x" in it.<!--EZCODE EMOTICON START 8) --><img src=http://www.ezboard.com/intl/aenglish/images/emoticons/glasses.gif ALT="8)"><!--EZCODE EMOTICON END--> <p></p><i></i>


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Tierra Game Central: Reloaded
PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2003 2:19 am 
Offline
The Enigma
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2003 1:00 am
Posts: 2601
Location: UK
I was so excited about this site I thought that I'd upload it onto the internet right now. And so I did. But unfortunately I haven't got the .com at the moment but it should be coming soon. About next week, my mum is paying for it, but for now, TGC will be hosted on a host everyone is quite familiar with, this used to be the host everyone used. And it's back...<br><!--EZCODE BOLD START--><strong>Netfirms!!!</strong><!--EZCODE BOLD END--> <!--EZCODE EMOTICON START :eek --><img src=http://www.ezboard.com/intl/aenglish/images/emoticons/eek.gif ALT=":eek"><!--EZCODE EMOTICON END--> <br><br><!--EZCODE LINK START--><a href="http://www.broomie.netfirms.com" target="top">Tierra Game Central</a><!--EZCODE LINK END--><br><br>New design and everything.... Relight, do you think you could add my site to the links section of Tierra's Official Site. I have put my own content in. But some others bit I have been helped on. <!--EZCODE EMOTICON START >D --><img src=http://www.ezboard.com/intl/aenglish/images/emoticons/grin.gif ALT=" >D"><!--EZCODE EMOTICON END--> <p><!--EZCODE HR START--><hr /><!--EZCODE HR END--><br><!--EZCODE IMAGE START--><img src="http://users.domaindlx.com/broomie/broomiesiga.jpg" style="border:0;"/><!--EZCODE IMAGE END--><br><br>"Who am I? I'm Spiderman" Peter Parker</p><i>Edited by: <A HREF=http://pub57.ezboard.com/broyalquestforums.showUserPublicProfile?gid=broomie>broomie</A>  <IMG HEIGHT=10 WIDTH=10 SRC="http://users.domaindlx.com/broomie/spidermasymbol.GIF" BORDER=0> at: 5/29/03 10:23:58 am<br></i>


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Tierra Game Central: Reloaded
PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2003 3:45 am 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2003 5:26 pm
Posts: 439
Fribbi - Yeah I know...but I'm too busy at the moment to correct it...I as trying to make room for my website...<!--EZCODE EMOTICON START :b --><img src=http://www.ezboard.com/intl/aenglish/images/emoticons/tongue.gif ALT=":b"><!--EZCODE EMOTICON END--> <br><br>Broomie - That host will NOT allow images to be loaded that are not imbedded in pages hosted on that server. In other words, we can't view it. <!--EZCODE EMOTICON START :p --><img src=http://www.ezboard.com/intl/aenglish/images/emoticons/tongue.gif ALT=":p"><!--EZCODE EMOTICON END--> <p><!--EZCODE IMAGE START--><img src="http://www.southwest.com.au/~jackie/my_signature.jpg" style="border:0;"/><!--EZCODE IMAGE END--></p><i></i>


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Tierra Game Central: Reloaded
PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2003 3:52 am 
Offline
Archival Expert
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2001 8:21 am
Posts: 2432
Just go <!--EZCODE LINK START--><a href="http://www.broomie.netfirms.com">here</a><!--EZCODE LINK END--><br><br>Broomie I will email you sometime soon about adding your site to Tierra's links area. <p></p><i></i>


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Tierra Game Central: Reloaded
PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2003 10:59 am 
Offline
Hero For Hire
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2002 5:58 am
Posts: 1081
Location: Texas
Yeah, he messed up linking it.<br><br>Oh, and Sonic, how do you take those banners off? I don't care about my mainpage one, but I'd rather not have my menu frame have it as it seems stupid to do so. Could you help me out? My e-mail is <!--EZCODE MAIL START--><a href="mailto:CRFox84@aol.com"> CRFox84@aol.com</a><!--EZCODE MAIL END-->. <p>-----------------------<br>Cris Skelton<br>Newsletter and Plot Writer<br>Kings Quest IX: Every Cloak Has a Silver Lining<br><br><!--EZCODE IMAGE START--><img src="http://www.sighost.us/members/thelongwayhome/super5b.JPG"/><!--EZCODE IMAGE END--><br><br>"Battler for Truth, Justice, and the American Way!"</p><i></i>


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: NEW TIERRA FANSITE: Tierra Game Central
PostPosted: Thu May 29, 2003 7:02 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 12:44 am
Posts: 28
<!--EZCODE QUOTE START--><blockquote><strong><em>Quote:</em></strong><hr><br>Perhaps I should use Opera instead of IE. Shame to switch browsers just to view one page. <br><hr></blockquote><!--EZCODE QUOTE END--><br><br>Then start using Opera for everything. I can give you dozens of reasons. <!--EZCODE EMOTICON START :) --><img src=http://www.ezboard.com/intl/aenglish/images/emoticons/smile.gif ALT=":)"><!--EZCODE EMOTICON END--> <p></p><i>Edited by: <A HREF=http://pub57.ezboard.com/broyalquestforums.showUserPublicProfile?gid=majitekunaito>majitekunaito</A> at: 5/29/03 2:04:41 pm<br></i>


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: NEW TIERRA FANSITE: Tierra Game Central
PostPosted: Fri May 30, 2003 4:12 am 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2003 5:26 pm
Posts: 439
IE is my preference. But, it doesn't have inbuilt Java support due to the contract being tore apart from the company...<!--EZCODE EMOTICON START :\ --><img src=http://www.ezboard.com/intl/aenglish/images/emoticons/ohwell.gif ALT=":\"><!--EZCODE EMOTICON END--> <p><!--EZCODE IMAGE START--><img src="http://www.southwest.com.au/~jackie/my_signature.jpg" style="border:0;"/><!--EZCODE IMAGE END--></p><i></i>


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: NEW TIERRA FANSITE: Tierra Game Central
PostPosted: Fri May 30, 2003 5:15 am 
Offline
Royal Servant Status

Joined: Tue Sep 17, 2002 12:21 pm
Posts: 74
Location: Hazelbrook, NSW, Australia
to get rid of the banner, try <!--EZCODE LINK START--><a href="http://proxomitron.org" target="top">Proxomitron</a><!--EZCODE LINK END-->.<br><br>it allows you to stop pop-ups, banners, pretty much annything you want that's in html, but it only works at the client end. BUT it works great (It grabs the incoming html files and filters out whatever you want) <p>--RodeoClown II<br>"When all else fails, try brute force. If brute force doesn't work, you obviously aren't using enough."</p><i></i>


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: NEW TIERRA FANSITE: Tierra Game Central
PostPosted: Sat May 31, 2003 9:08 pm 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2003 3:01 am
Posts: 334
Location: South Africa
This Proxomitron. If i download it and i go to any site with popups, will it stop the popups.<br><br>Does it work for any I.E version. I have I.E 5.0<br><br>What is the diffrence between these sites, they look the same with diffrent names. One has no popups and the other one does.<br><br>http://www.broomie.netfirms.com/<br><br>http://www.tierragamecentral.cjb.net/ <p></p><i></i>


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: NEW TIERRA FANSITE: Tierra Game Central
PostPosted: Sat May 31, 2003 11:36 pm 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2003 3:01 am
Posts: 334
Location: South Africa
Is there a way to download a small program that stops popups when you visit a site. <p></p><i></i>


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: NEW TIERRA FANSITE: Tierra Game Central
PostPosted: Sat May 31, 2003 11:44 pm 
Offline
Forum Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2001 8:28 pm
Posts: 11434
Location: The Netherlands
Go to <!--EZCODE LINK START--><a href="http://www.broomie.netfirms.com/">this</a><!--EZCODE LINK END--> one. No real need for a popup-killer.<br><br><!--EZCODE IMAGE START--><img src="http://httpd.chello.nl/c.vanempel/Nashcock.jpg"/><!--EZCODE IMAGE END--> <p></p><i></i>


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: NEW TIERRA FANSITE: Tierra Game Central
PostPosted: Sun Jun 01, 2003 1:18 am 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2003 12:44 am
Posts: 28
What was used to write that design? It's obviously a Microsoft Office program, but which one, and which version? <p></p><i></i>


Report this post
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 49 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group