It is currently Tue Oct 24, 2017 11:32 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: QFG 5 save games
PostPosted: Thu Aug 14, 2008 12:53 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2008 12:46 pm
Posts: 10
Does anyone have a QFG5 savegame after Minos dies? My game always bugs out and I can't continue after that point. Ideally a Paladin with an Erana romance :)

If you know how to solve the bug on Vista 64, that would be awesome too.

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QFG 5 save games
PostPosted: Thu Aug 14, 2008 1:19 pm 
Offline
Royal Servant Status
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2007 3:40 pm
Posts: 76
uninstall your quicktime player and reinstall the latest version quicktime player for vista. There isn't much gameplay left after minos dies for save games.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QFG 5 save games
PostPosted: Thu Aug 14, 2008 1:25 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2008 12:46 pm
Posts: 10
I already have the newest version of quicktime (7.5). I know theres not much gameplay, but I want to see the ending and stuff.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QFG 5 save games
PostPosted: Thu Aug 14, 2008 2:47 pm 
Offline
Royal Servant Status
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2007 3:40 pm
Posts: 76
See if there is the one you are looking for in these save games of mine. I have long uninstalled the game so can't check myself.

Code:
http://rapidshare.com/files/137292207/QFG5_Saved_Games.rar


I remember I had a game crash problem somewhere around that point and reinstalling quicktime solved it for me.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QFG 5 save games
PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2008 1:52 am 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2008 12:46 pm
Posts: 10
Thanks,there was a savegame after the Minos event in there. Unfortunately the game has the same bug after killing the dragon (which I assume is where another movie file plays) so I still can't see the ending. I did try uninstalling/reinstalling quicktime but it didn't help. Looks like I won't be finishing this game.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QFG 5 save games
PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2008 7:24 am 
Offline
Peasant Status
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 12, 2005 4:28 am
Posts: 26
You could always just play the movie directly. If it loads, then it's not quicktime. If it doesn't... :). One could even just try to convert that scene into a more recent version.

_________________
Why can't people just...hold on, I'll remember it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QFG 5 save games
PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2008 8:47 am 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2008 12:46 pm
Posts: 10
Yeah, I did that, but I still miss out on the various in game events (like becoming King, etc).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QFG 5 save games
PostPosted: Fri Aug 15, 2008 1:35 pm 
Offline
Royal Servant Status
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 10, 2007 3:40 pm
Posts: 76
Did you try the fanmade patches for various ingame crashes in QFG5. Just type "quest for glory 5 patches" or "quest for glory 5 patches vista" in google and look around.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QFG 5 save games
PostPosted: Sat Aug 16, 2008 11:56 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 1:26 am
Posts: 41
Ok... I got a fix for you...

...and it's a doozy.

Ok, bottum line is to fix this problem you need to run the the Win2K patch, and to do that you need to upgrade to version 1.2

This is tricky because the 1.2 patch .exe won't run in Vista. Here's how I got around it:

I installed Windows 3.1 in Dosbox primarily to be able to play the MPC version of Kings Quest VI, with the expanded opening, and the updated lip-sync portraits. Getting a legitimate copy of Windows 3.1 is easy, it costs next to nothing on eBay, of course it's none of my business if you where to say Google "Windows 3.1 torrent" not that I'd advocate such a thing.

Anyway, since you NEVER mount c:\ in Dosbox ESSPECIALLY if your installing another version of Windows, you'll have to move you c:\sierra directory into what ever you mount as c: in Dosbox, THEN you can run the 1.2 patch... then move directory back to where is was, then run the Win2k patch... the set the compatability mode to Windows XP SP2, Disable Visual Themes, Disable Desktop Composition.

Once you've done all that... it will run just fine, videos and all.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QFG 5 save games
PostPosted: Sun Aug 17, 2008 12:08 am 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 1:26 am
Posts: 41
And before anyone asks... if you need instructions on how to set up Windows 3.1 with SVGA graphics and Sound Support in Dosbox go here:

http://vogons.zetafleet.com/viewtopic.php?t=9405

...your welcome.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QFG 5 save games
PostPosted: Sun Aug 17, 2008 1:55 am 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2002 11:07 pm
Posts: 347
Running a real OS on top of an emulated one running in another real one? Who would have ever thought of that? Well apparently someone did :D

_________________
"Are you the Schattenjäger now, or are you not?"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QFG 5 save games
PostPosted: Sun Aug 17, 2008 2:31 am 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2008 12:46 pm
Posts: 10
Intersting, I'll give that a shot.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QFG 5 save games
PostPosted: Sun Aug 17, 2008 3:33 am 
Offline
The Master of All Things Musical
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 8:57 pm
Posts: 4025
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Interesting. I posted a thread about Win 3.1 running in DOSBox not long ago here: http://www.agdinteractive.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=19&t=12147

There are screenshots as well to prove that it's possible.

_________________
01010100 01101000 01100101 00100000 01100011 01100001 01101011 01100101 00100000 01101001 01110011 00100000 01100001 00100000 01101100 01101001 01100101 00101110


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QFG 5 save games
PostPosted: Sun Aug 17, 2008 12:43 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 1:26 am
Posts: 41
Schloss Ritter wrote:
Running a real OS on top of an emulated one running in another real one? Who would have ever thought of that? Well apparently someone did :D


Well it actually works because Windows 3.1 is NOT a real OS, it's DOS application that functions like an OS. So it makes sense if you think about it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QFG 5 save games
PostPosted: Sun Aug 17, 2008 5:20 pm 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2002 11:07 pm
Posts: 347
TheLonelyPaladin wrote:
Schloss Ritter wrote:
Running a real OS on top of an emulated one running in another real one? Who would have ever thought of that? Well apparently someone did :D


Well it actually works because Windows 3.1 is NOT a real OS, it's DOS application that functions like an OS. So it makes sense if you think about it.


Yeah, some time after posting, I thought to myself, "Actually Win3.x was technically more a GUI frontend for DOS than an actual full fledged operating system." But I was too sleepy to come back and elaborate on it. |I

_________________
"Are you the Schattenjäger now, or are you not?"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QFG 5 save games
PostPosted: Sun Aug 17, 2008 5:44 pm 
Offline
The Master of All Things Musical
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 8:57 pm
Posts: 4025
Location: Manitoba, Canada
So is Win9x/ME. Those actually run on top of DOS 7 and 8. Only NT-based Windows OS's are actually true OS's. That's why you need VDMSound for DOS applications in WinNT/2000/XP/etc.

_________________
01010100 01101000 01100101 00100000 01100011 01100001 01101011 01100101 00100000 01101001 01110011 00100000 01100001 00100000 01101100 01101001 01100101 00101110


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QFG 5 save games
PostPosted: Sun Aug 17, 2008 6:54 pm 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2002 11:07 pm
Posts: 347
True that.

_________________
"Are you the Schattenjäger now, or are you not?"


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: QFG 5 save games
PostPosted: Sun Aug 17, 2008 7:03 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2008 1:26 am
Posts: 41
Schloss Ritter wrote:
TheLonelyPaladin wrote:
Schloss Ritter wrote:
Running a real OS on top of an emulated one running in another real one? Who would have ever thought of that? Well apparently someone did :D


Well it actually works because Windows 3.1 is NOT a real OS, it's DOS application that functions like an OS. So it makes sense if you think about it.


Yeah, some time after posting, I thought to myself, "Actually Win3.x was technically more a GUI frontend for DOS than an actual full fledged operating system." But I was too sleepy to come back and elaborate on it. |I


Now this doesn't necessarily guarantee that running Windows 3.1 in Dosbox in Vista64 won't somehow lead to the Apocalypse... cause it might.

...I'm just sayin'


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group