It is currently Mon Oct 23, 2017 3:27 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Windows Service Pack 3
PostPosted: Sun Aug 24, 2008 6:54 pm 
Offline
Royal Servant Status
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2006 1:14 am
Posts: 120
My computer just notified me that Windows Service Pack 3 is available. If I update could this impact the playability of the game? Maybe I should hold out?

_________________
Image
http://antwerp.ytmnd.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Windows Service Pack 3
PostPosted: Sun Aug 24, 2008 7:04 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2008 12:40 pm
Posts: 3
Location: Sydney
BrianR wrote:
My computer just notified me that Windows Service Pack 3 is available. If I update could this impact the playability of the game? Maybe I should hold out?

Just get it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Windows Service Pack 3
PostPosted: Sun Aug 24, 2008 7:36 pm 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 26, 2008 5:57 pm
Posts: 207
Location: Scotland, UK
SP3 will not affect the game.

Dave

_________________
www.soundcloud.com/onedollardave


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Windows Service Pack 3
PostPosted: Sun Aug 24, 2008 8:23 pm 
Offline
Royal Servant Status
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 28, 2006 1:14 am
Posts: 120
Ok I will. Has anyone else updated yet?

_________________
Image
http://antwerp.ytmnd.com/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Windows Service Pack 3
PostPosted: Sun Aug 24, 2008 8:52 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Sat Apr 03, 2004 12:22 am
Posts: 15
Location: Garrison, Ky Lewis Co. U.S.A.
I did, but not by choice. The darn thing just did it on it's own.

_________________
To climb the corporate ladder, without leaving your integrity behind, you must reach the pinnacle of your profession by kicking B***, not kissing it!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Windows Service Pack 3
PostPosted: Sun Aug 24, 2008 9:17 pm 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 26, 2008 5:57 pm
Posts: 207
Location: Scotland, UK
I have, by choice.

:)

Dave

_________________
www.soundcloud.com/onedollardave


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Windows Service Pack 3
PostPosted: Sun Aug 24, 2008 11:14 pm 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2004 5:36 am
Posts: 168
Location: USA
No problems here. I believe there were a few comps (prepackaged ones, nothing to do with anything you'd have constructed yourself) that had issues with it though, you might google around if you're worried about it. That's a Windows install issue though, SP3 shouldn't affect the game.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Windows Service Pack 3
PostPosted: Sun Aug 24, 2008 11:23 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2008 7:51 pm
Posts: 9
Don't know about it affecting the game, but it did make a few of my machines klunky for about a week. Random IE crashes, windows explorer freezes, etc. It cleared itself up after a week, so I'm guessing I auto-installed a hotfix for something. It's fine now.

If you're going to get SP3, make sure to get any other fixes immediately afterwards, in case those fix something SP3 broke. :rolleyes


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Windows Service Pack 3
PostPosted: Sun Aug 24, 2008 11:41 pm 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2002 7:06 am
Posts: 269
Location: USA
I got so sick of Windows XP downloading updates, restarting my computer in the middle of the night, and in-so-doing interrupting my downloads, that I finally turned off automatic update. Best thing I ever did; my OS now asks my permission to download updates before it does anything.

But, yeah, I downloaded and installed SP3, and haven't had any problems so far. Actually, I haven't noticed any difference whatsoever...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Windows Service Pack 3
PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2008 12:05 am 
Offline
Peasant Status
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2008 1:08 pm
Posts: 15
Location: NSW, Australia
I've installed this on over a hundred computers now, without any issues whatsoever.

I'd highly recommend you install this update (if you havent) to gain the latest bug fixes, security updates, and most of all, performance increases! (Most notably for dual-core users!)

_________________
Win2k Rules. Period.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Windows Service Pack 3
PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2008 4:18 am 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 11, 2007 11:14 pm
Posts: 250
you definitely should install this update. i've done it on at least 50 pcs and no problems with it!!

_________________
Visit the Hero's Tale Inn!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Windows Service Pack 3
PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2008 4:25 am 
Offline
Defense Minister Status

Joined: Sun Aug 15, 2004 3:55 am
Posts: 717
Location: South Australia
I've been using it for over a year now, including beta builds of it. It works fine with 100% of my other AGS games so I don't see why it won't work with QFG2VGA. Only problem I had was with my virus scanner. Visit yours website to make sure that it's compatible with the service pack.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Windows Service Pack 3
PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2008 4:37 am 
Offline
The Prince of Shapeir

Joined: Tue May 08, 2001 4:12 am
Posts: 8872
Location: Phobos
I would recommend installing it before playing the Quest for Glory II remake, particularly if you have a Dual Core system.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group