It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 6:09 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Import / export?
PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2008 8:43 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2008 8:40 pm
Posts: 7
Sorry, I couldn't find the details I was looking for using the search (although I'm sure they're there somewhere).

I've never imported a QFG character before. I have QFG1 installed now via DOSBox - do I have to complete the game before I can export my character?

When I import, will it take all statistics along with the character? I recall hearing something about giving imported characters "25 points". Does that mean they will be imported with all their stats and still be given 25 points to spend?

Thanks much!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Import / export?
PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2008 8:46 pm 
Offline
Royal Vizier Status
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2004 6:20 am
Posts: 2047
Location: Somewhere in Ohio...
twitch wrote:
I've never imported a QFG character before. I have QFG1 installed now via DOSBox - do I have to complete the game before I can export my character?

Yes. Export options occur at the end of every game.

twitch wrote:
When I import, will it take all statistics along with the character? I recall hearing something about giving imported characters "25 points". Does that mean they will be imported with all their stats and still be given 25 points to spend?

All imported stats carry over (presuming they are not outside the normal allowable values). An new character gets an extra 50 points to distribute is the player wishes. Since imported characters are typically already better off, they get fewer points to add at the start.

_________________
There is balance in all things. Live in symmetry with the world around you. If you must blow things up and steal from those around you, THAT'S WHAT RPGS ARE FOR!

Official Member of the VGL Street Team
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Import / export?
PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2008 8:50 pm 
Offline
Royal Servant Status

Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2007 7:40 pm
Posts: 78
Location: MN
As manyy people have (probably) said before, imported chars get 25 points.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Import / export?
PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2008 8:57 pm 
Offline
Forum Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2001 8:28 pm
Posts: 11434
Location: The Netherlands
Quote:
(presuming they are not outside the normal allowable values)


Speaking from experience?

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Import / export?
PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2008 9:00 pm 
Offline
Royal Vizier Status
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2004 6:20 am
Posts: 2047
Location: Somewhere in Ohio...
Erpy wrote:
Quote:
(presuming they are not outside the normal allowable values)


Speaking from experience?

Personal experience, no. General well-known experience from people who hex-edit often, yes. Weren't there debates around here on the upper limit of the original QfG2's import values (QfG3's was well known to be 255)?

_________________
There is balance in all things. Live in symmetry with the world around you. If you must blow things up and steal from those around you, THAT'S WHAT RPGS ARE FOR!

Official Member of the VGL Street Team
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Import / export?
PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2008 9:36 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2008 8:40 pm
Posts: 7
Thanks everyone - one more question: does completing all 500 game points earn you anything?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Import / export?
PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2008 9:44 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2008 8:40 pm
Posts: 7
And one more question - I notice if I assign magic points to a fighter in QFG1 VGA that he is still unable to practice magic in-game. Is this supposed to be the case? If I were to assign thief points to a magic user, would he be unable to join the thieves guild?

If I were to assign magic points to him anyway, play the game as a pure fighter, and then export to the new Trial by Fire, would he be able to practice magic then?

Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Import / export?
PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2008 10:07 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2001 6:01 am
Posts: 1718
Location: Bühlerzell, Germany
Just having the magic skill should be enough to allow you to cast spells outside of combat. In combat, the shield interferes with casting. If you want to have a fighter with magic, you can either drop (or, in games with a storage chest, stash) your shield or just only use the spells outside of combat.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Import / export?
PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2008 10:10 pm 
Offline
Royal Servant Status
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2007 10:53 pm
Posts: 71
Location: Dallas
twitch wrote:
does completing all 500 game points earn you anything?


Warm tingly feeling??

twitch wrote:
I notice if I assign magic points to a fighter in QFG1 VGA that he is still unable to practice magic in-game. Is this supposed to be the case? If I were to assign thief points to a magic user, would he be unable to join the thieves guild?


Have you purchased magic from Zara? The Mage class is the only one that starts with spells (zap). He could still join the guild, you just have to either 'make sign' or click the hand on yourself in the alley at night in QFG1 (there is no guild in QFG2). Having hybrids in no way eliminates playing options, it give you more ways to complete the same tasks.

_________________
May I apply spices to your beard?
-- Merv


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Import / export?
PostPosted: Mon Aug 25, 2008 11:44 pm 
Offline
Royal Servant Status

Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2008 7:47 am
Posts: 70
the only problem with hybrids is that you don't get points for solving a problem with the method of a type that isn't your own...

for example - a thief doesn't get points for casting calm on the bear in the cave, but does for feeding him,


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Import / export?
PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 9:33 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 8:47 pm
Posts: 12
Location: Baarn, Holland
I couldn't export my character at the end of qfg1vga. Bummer, since it took AGES to get the Dazzle spell. If it doesn´t work, could someone please attach a wizard/export file (with dazzle!:D) for me? Thanks!

Edit: thanks for the fast reply! It seemed to crash at the Baron's hall, but I must have been too impatient. I just needed to wait some time longer for the end-screen. Sorry to have bothered, :\ (feeling a bit dumb)


Last edited by RoBBiE on Wed Aug 27, 2008 9:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Import / export?
PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 9:37 pm 
Offline
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 10, 2001 6:01 am
Posts: 1718
Location: Bühlerzell, Germany
What was the problem with the export?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group