It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 12:37 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 48 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Kings quest 2 what features will we get
PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2009 4:30 am 
Offline
Defense Minister Status
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 14, 2004 1:07 am
Posts: 614
Location: Fort McMurray, Alberta, Canada
in KQ1 we gor KQ2 VGA+ stile grahics what do we get in kq2?

_________________
Image
Latest News and media
http://www.crystal-utada.net


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Kings quest 2 what features will we get
PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2009 5:39 am 
Offline
The Master of All Things Musical
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 8:57 pm
Posts: 4025
Location: Manitoba, Canada
The new KQ1's graphics are 10 times better than KQ2+'s graphics. The new KQ2+ graphics I think we can assume are even better as well. As for other enhancements, probably the narrator voice, lip-synced dialogue portraits, diagonal walking animations and other such novelties.

_________________
01010100 01101000 01100101 00100000 01100011 01100001 01101011 01100101 00100000 01101001 01110011 00100000 01100001 00100000 01101100 01101001 01100101 00101110


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Kings quest 2 what features will we get
PostPosted: Wed Jan 21, 2009 7:45 am 
Offline
Forum Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2001 8:28 pm
Posts: 11434
Location: The Netherlands
Yep...the changes will be similar to KQ1VGA 4.0....a narrator, lipsyncing, replacing the collaged backgrounds with revamped versions and some special alpha-blended effects. There won't be a dead-end-free option, since KQ2+ is already lacking dead ends.

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Kings quest 2 what features will we get
PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2009 12:06 pm 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 5:55 am
Posts: 384
Location: deadfall beneath Ooga Booga
Erpy wrote:
There won't be a dead-end-free option, since KQ2+ is already lacking dead ends.

Image

Overusing the bridge?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Kings quest 2 what features will we get
PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2009 2:46 pm 
Offline
Royal Vizier Status
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2004 6:20 am
Posts: 2047
Location: Somewhere in Ohio...
The bridge isn't affected by number of crossings like in the original.

_________________
There is balance in all things. Live in symmetry with the world around you. If you must blow things up and steal from those around you, THAT'S WHAT RPGS ARE FOR!

Official Member of the VGL Street Team
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Kings quest 2 what features will we get
PostPosted: Sun Feb 08, 2009 4:09 am 
Offline
Defense Minister Status
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 14, 2004 1:07 am
Posts: 614
Location: Fort McMurray, Alberta, Canada
grows a beard well he waits

_________________
Image
Latest News and media
http://www.crystal-utada.net


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Kings quest 2 what features will we get
PostPosted: Sun Feb 08, 2009 4:31 am 
Offline
The Master of All Things Musical
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 8:57 pm
Posts: 4025
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Shave that beard and wait like a man!



.....wait...

_________________
01010100 01101000 01100101 00100000 01100011 01100001 01101011 01100101 00100000 01101001 01110011 00100000 01100001 00100000 01101100 01101001 01100101 00101110


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Kings quest 2 what features will we get
PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2009 5:39 pm 
Offline
Slacker of Shapeir
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2004 9:11 am
Posts: 2416
Location: Canada
oh is this the line? *begins to shave*

_________________
Calik Status: Hero of Speilburg Has become the Prince of Shapier and a Hero among Tarnans, after freeing the Mordavians from eternal fear he was zapped to the land of Silmaria where an import bug has him trapped between worlds.
4/5


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Kings quest 2 what features will we get
PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2009 5:44 pm 
Offline
Trusty Riding Saurus
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 10:02 pm
Posts: 1100
Another feature of the remake is that it won't work on windows 98, so update your machine.

*waits for AsianMusicGuy's remake of SQ3 in 3D meanwhile*

_________________
The moat monsters appreciate your good taste.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Kings quest 2 what features will we get
PostPosted: Tue Feb 10, 2009 5:46 pm 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 12:11 pm
Posts: 213
DrJones wrote:
Another feature of the remake is that it won't work on windows 98, so update your machine.

*waits for AsianMusicGuy's remake of SQ3 in 3D meanwhile*

install linux if you must! (run in wine)

_________________
Not-yet-official KQ1/KQ2+ WineHQ maintainer. (still needs approval)
Not-yet-official KQ3VGA maintainer (still needs approval)
OFFICIAL TSL WineHQ maintainer (approved and loved)
*Wants to port kq1-3 to linux*


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Kings quest 2 what features will we get
PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2009 5:19 am 
Offline
Slacker of Shapeir
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2004 9:11 am
Posts: 2416
Location: Canada
mmmm dual booting OSX and XP *drool*

_________________
Calik Status: Hero of Speilburg Has become the Prince of Shapier and a Hero among Tarnans, after freeing the Mordavians from eternal fear he was zapped to the land of Silmaria where an import bug has him trapped between worlds.
4/5


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Kings quest 2 what features will we get
PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2009 5:26 am 
Offline
The Master of All Things Musical
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2002 8:57 pm
Posts: 4025
Location: Manitoba, Canada
There's a version of Wine for Mac, isn't there?

_________________
01010100 01101000 01100101 00100000 01100011 01100001 01101011 01100101 00100000 01101001 01110011 00100000 01100001 00100000 01101100 01101001 01100101 00101110


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Kings quest 2 what features will we get
PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2009 7:35 am 
Offline
Slacker of Shapeir
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 10, 2004 9:11 am
Posts: 2416
Location: Canada
there is but you have to have things wrapped a certain way. I think Alliance tried doing it for QFG2 but it ended up being too much of a headache. Realistically the only way to game on mac is to dual boot.

_________________
Calik Status: Hero of Speilburg Has become the Prince of Shapier and a Hero among Tarnans, after freeing the Mordavians from eternal fear he was zapped to the land of Silmaria where an import bug has him trapped between worlds.
4/5


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Kings quest 2 what features will we get
PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2009 12:49 pm 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 12:11 pm
Posts: 213
erm... can't you use a vpc like VirtualBox?

_________________
Not-yet-official KQ1/KQ2+ WineHQ maintainer. (still needs approval)
Not-yet-official KQ3VGA maintainer (still needs approval)
OFFICIAL TSL WineHQ maintainer (approved and loved)
*Wants to port kq1-3 to linux*


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Kings quest 2 what features will we get
PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2009 2:13 pm 
Offline
The Enigma
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2003 1:00 am
Posts: 2601
Location: UK
There is that way, but dual booting is just better. I have an eeePC (also dual booted with OS X) which I play most of my oldies on anyway. The problem with emulation software like VMWare and Parallels is that XP doesn't always recognize certain drivers and devices. When I tried it, XP didn't even recognize my video card for Mac, instead it picked up something completely different which although played certain older games, couldn't even run The Sims. After dual booting and running XP natively, Windows recognized the appropriate video card and I was even able to play Bioshock. Albeit slightly laggy but I was able to do the first level!

I remember there being an AGS mac boot file but it was never finished and couldn't run any later AGS games. I wish somebody would pick up on that and finish it.

_________________
Sweeping Sir James
-----------------
http://www.infamous-adventures.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Kings quest 2 what features will we get
PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2009 5:29 pm 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 08, 2005 7:21 am
Posts: 282
Location: Mexico
MusicallyInspired wrote:
There's a version of Wine for Mac, isn't there?


Yep, it's called Darwine, but it doesn't work exactly the same as Wine does (i.e. some programs that run in Wine don't work in Darwine). I use it to run many Windows programs, but I haven't been able to run any AGS game yet.

Dual boot is the best option, but you need to have XP with SP2 (I am told you can not install a previous version and then patch it) so I'm out of luck since my Windows CD is quite old, not even sure if it includes SP1. Anybody knows if there's a way around this in order to install Windows on a Mac? :\

_________________
Signature? No thank you.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Kings quest 2 what features will we get
PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2009 8:47 pm 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 12:11 pm
Posts: 213
but how the hell do you dual boot mac and win on a windows pc?

_________________
Not-yet-official KQ1/KQ2+ WineHQ maintainer. (still needs approval)
Not-yet-official KQ3VGA maintainer (still needs approval)
OFFICIAL TSL WineHQ maintainer (approved and loved)
*Wants to port kq1-3 to linux*


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Windows XP SP3
PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2009 9:41 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2009 6:13 am
Posts: 6
If you have an old CD-ROM with Windows XP that has no service pack or Service Pack 1, then you can use nlite to burn a new CD-R that has service pack 3 built in.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Kings quest 2 what features will we get
PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2009 9:46 pm 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 12:11 pm
Posts: 213
that wasn't my question. lol, I'm actually doin that right now, wow!

_________________
Not-yet-official KQ1/KQ2+ WineHQ maintainer. (still needs approval)
Not-yet-official KQ3VGA maintainer (still needs approval)
OFFICIAL TSL WineHQ maintainer (approved and loved)
*Wants to port kq1-3 to linux*


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Kings quest 2 what features will we get
PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2009 10:03 pm 
Offline
Knight Status

Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2007 12:22 am
Posts: 218
Wait, you want OS X on a PC? As I understand it you can set partitions of the hard drive, so you can have one part dedicated to Windows and the other to OS X. How you set the partition, I'm not sure, but it involves reformatting your HD to do it I believe.

_________________
Currently Playing:
Oblivion(PS3)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Kings quest 2 what features will we get
PostPosted: Wed Feb 11, 2009 10:10 pm 
Offline
Trusty Riding Saurus
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2007 10:02 pm
Posts: 1100
You can have two hard disks on your computer, actually.

_________________
The moat monsters appreciate your good taste.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Kings quest 2 what features will we get
PostPosted: Thu Feb 12, 2009 8:55 pm 
Offline
The Enigma
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 02, 2003 1:00 am
Posts: 2601
Location: UK
It's basically a patched version of OSX that is set up to be installed on a PC. It's illegal-ish and you need an actual version of Mac OS X than you use a tool called iDeneb/Hackingtosh which you than burn onto a DVD. You partition your drive into two slots, one for Windows which you leave alone and the other one you format to unallocated space. Insert the disc in, boot from it and choose the unallocated space and voila! Mac on a PC. It's very handy if your hard drive is already partitioned, like C: and a D: drive but if not you will have to format the entire disk which for some isn't pleasant if it's stock full of data. Luckily mine was already partitioned so I was able to keep my Windows environment the same and just use the other drive which was pretty much a spare and boot Mac from that.

But I make it sound so easy, it really isn't. My friend had to help me do this and it requires a lot of post-tweaking to get everything working, like sound and wireless. The guide I used was specifically targeted for the Asus eeePC 1000H which after a bit of work, runs beautifully in it's native setup. Albeit slightly choppy at times but stable nonetheless.

_________________
Sweeping Sir James
-----------------
http://www.infamous-adventures.com


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Kings quest 2 what features will we get
PostPosted: Sat Feb 14, 2009 1:01 am 
Offline
Defense Minister Status
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 14, 2004 1:07 am
Posts: 614
Location: Fort McMurray, Alberta, Canada
On topic your taking your sweet old time guys we lookin at another 4-8 years?

_________________
Image
Latest News and media
http://www.crystal-utada.net


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Kings quest 2 what features will we get
PostPosted: Sat Feb 14, 2009 2:12 am 
Offline
Knight Status
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 12:11 pm
Posts: 213
AsianMusicGuy wrote:
On topic your taking your sweet old time guys we lookin at another 4-8 years?
Nah, I doubt it will be more than a few months, but don't quote me, I don't konw anything...

_________________
Not-yet-official KQ1/KQ2+ WineHQ maintainer. (still needs approval)
Not-yet-official KQ3VGA maintainer (still needs approval)
OFFICIAL TSL WineHQ maintainer (approved and loved)
*Wants to port kq1-3 to linux*


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Kings quest 2 what features will we get
PostPosted: Sat Feb 14, 2009 2:29 am 
Offline
Defense Minister Status
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 27, 2008 1:22 pm
Posts: 584
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
AsianMusicGuy wrote:
On topic your taking your sweet old time guys we lookin at another 4-8 years?


Posts like this don't make the game come out sooner, (and it wont exasperate anyone to the extent of dropping a date) BUT if you're looking for a way to pass the time, I suggest Mah Jong.
The trick is to take a shot every time you clear a round. After about six stages you'll find twenty minutes have passed since you started playing that pattern and my god you just can't find that other lotus tile!
Or sneak into your best friend's house everyday and saw about half an inch off the legs off their chair a day. While you're at it, leave random facts about the Canadian Government in calligraphy on a small card on their pillow before you leave.
If neither of those are your style, you could always just leave 'Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas' in your DVD player on loop for a week. See how long it takes you to start mouthing the words and narrating your own life.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 48 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group