It is currently Wed Oct 18, 2017 11:10 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Importing problems
PostPosted: Fri Jul 31, 2009 5:39 pm 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2008 1:00 pm
Posts: 12
Hi i would like to ask you if somebody know how to solve my problem. i started playing QFG1 as a thief, then imported him to QFG2VGA as a fighter who became a paladin. So far I could make a thief sign even when i was fighter. But now, when i import my paladin to QFG3, I stay a paladin, but now i don't know thief sign, nor do i have lock picking supplies. So how can i stay as my hybrid paladin with all my stats but to know thief sign that i learned in qfg1?

I tried to Import my Thief to QFG3 directly from QFG1 and when i select my save, it tells me that my hero was successfuly imported as fighter...how is this possible to be imported as fighter since i was thief? I know i can change it, but i dont get it, why it don't want to keep my tools and thief sign since i knew them in 1.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Importing problems
PostPosted: Fri Jul 31, 2009 7:40 pm 
Offline
Royal Vizier Status
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 18, 2004 6:20 am
Posts: 2047
Location: Somewhere in Ohio...
1. The specialities of certain classes are incredibly isolated in QfG3. In other words, your equipment will reflect your basic class only (so no more lockpicks - not that you'll need them) and non-Thieves with both Thief skills often can't use the Thief Sign in that game. I'd jump to QfG4 or QfG5 and see if you're still unable to use the sign (you should be able to).

2. Multiclass is notoriously difficult to import correctly. Case in point, any character that completes WIT tends to import as a Wizard (unless there's a later override like becoming a Paladin). That's why Sierra instituted the ability to change it at the start; the game often got it wrong during QC. You may have accidentally clicked "Fighter" after the import file was loaded, thus converting your character. Always make sure you click the class you want to have in QfG3 (QfG4 has an option to go with what the game detects your class as).

_________________
There is balance in all things. Live in symmetry with the world around you. If you must blow things up and steal from those around you, THAT'S WHAT RPGS ARE FOR!

Official Member of the VGL Street Team
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Importing problems
PostPosted: Thu Sep 03, 2009 9:18 am 
Offline
Peasant Status

Joined: Wed Jul 29, 2009 11:59 am
Posts: 12
Okay, this is more of an exporting problem, but it does affect importing - When I export from QFG3 everything is fine, but when I import that file to QFG4, my Open Spell skill goes wonky, reading out at 29864. And I did a test with with my QFG2VGA export and it came out just fine, so the problem is clearly in the QFG3 Export process. Can someone point me to a patch that will fix that problem, or am I doomed to have to use my QFG2VGA character for importing into 4?! Please, help me, you're my only hope!(Aside of Google, that is..) :o :cry :( 8o


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group